It's Amazing in the Philippines: Art Time with Olaivart! Update! She has steemit already!

in #amazingph7 years ago (edited)

U5drJZUYUCE7XLdJMqx5XHkJAsyq6ck_1680x8400.jpg
Olaivar, 2014

Hey guys! I am back again from my interviews with some of the coolest people I personally know! The previous interviews I had were with local artists, and this time it would also be with an artist who is residing overseas! Visual artists have a huge space on my heart. Do not fret! I did not travel that far to come up this post. I just used the power of my mighty hands to reach unto her.

I chose her by the way because she, in contrast with Emmanuel Mulawan, she is so into detailed that it makes her artwork and sketches very soulful. I did not mean that Emman is not great though, of course they are both great' it is just that they have different art styles.

When it comes to art, it feels like it is speaking to my inner being every time I look at it. She even arranged flowers before and I was so impressed on those. Later on, you would understand why as I show to you some of her sketches.

Allyssa, Allyssa

She is definitely one of the coolest person I know because aside from the fact that she is an artist, she can also sing so well. You can check out some of her videos on her facebook acount. The first time we met was during the first group art exhibit I joined. We were friends already over facebook for a long time but it was just then that I met her. I could say she is small and cute just like me. Make way! Make way for my good friend Allyssa!


Allyssa Princess Olaivar
24 years old
https://steemit.com/@ablckbrd

Born and raised in Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Currently working in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Q: At what age did your love of art started?
A: My Mama said I started drawing at 2 years old, but for me it all started in 2001. It was summer time, and Mama asked someone to teach me basic stuff. I was into landscape painting at that time, but my teacher also taught me how to draw faces. I remember drawing Britney Spears, but it ended up looking like the youngest singer of the band Aegis. It is definitely still fresh in my memory. And although the mentorship wasn’t exactly the kind that left a lasting impression on me, that face drawing certainly did.

Q: What is your most faorite art medium?
A: I love using charcoal and chalk when drawing portraits, but the dream medium is definitely oil color.

Q: Who inspired you most in making your artworks?
A: I am just doing myself a favor, really. Doing what I love is solely for my self. I am just inspired with the thought of self-improvement and actually seeing that in fruition.

Q: I could somehow relate on what you said. Now, how does art affect your life?
A: Cliché but it has always been an escape for me. My mind is my greatest enemy, but I can totally silence it when I’m drawing/painting.

Q: Who is your favorite artist and explain it to me why?
A: [I admire] Vermeer for his detailed interiors and beautiful execution of light and shadow (1, 2, 3, and I personally love his painting Girl With A Pearl Earring); Bouguereau’s ideal figures and skin tones (1, 2, 3); Rembrandt’s soulful and intriguing self-portraits (1, 2, 3); and a whole lot more.

Q: How often do you sketch? [How often do you] make portraits and make other artworks?
A: It has always been hard for me to be consistent. I can draw everyday for 3 months, and stop completely for the incoming months which is disheartening. But I am working on it, and I might just draw something today after I finish answering your questions, @gailbelga!

Q: In your own opinion, what would the world be without art?
A:The first thing that came to mind was the famous line ― The earth without art is just ‘eh’. And I couldn't agree more. For me it’s like eating my kare-kare without bagoong (shrimp paste). I can still eat it, yes, but it’s just plain boring, bland, and awful.
Oh girl, I can really feel you so much.

Q:Do you wish to mentor a child prodigy inclined to arts someday?
A: Why not? The goal is to someday teach what I passionately love to people who share the same dream.

Q: Do you see having kids that love art just like you do?
A: Kids that love art, yes, but definitely not my own. (Note: Huwag magsalita ng tapos. I know. Hehe!)

Q: At what time of the day do you enjoy making art works?
A: Natural light is the most ideal in my work, and so I have come to love the stillness of early mornings accompanied by my first coffee. I love 05:30 mornings!

Q: How do you feel about having a solo art exhibit someday?
A: Nerve-wracking. I am an anxious person, so thinking about a solo art exhibit is already making my heart race stupidly. Although I still have mountains to overcome, including being the center of attention and speaking with a lot of people, it would still be a very exciting and humbling experience.

Q: Do you wish to help the community with the skills that you have? And in what way?
One of the ultimate goals is to teach and to make this kind of art more accessible to people. And of course, someday, if heaven permits, I’d like to sell paintings and donate to charities close to my heart.

Now here are some of her works!


I know this is done using acrylic. I saw it on our exhibit and I could tell you, she is very detailed on it.


I tried zooming in this photo and I could clearly see how great her hands were. Just look how detailed this sketch of a sculpture is! She is not just good with the form, but also on her execution on details.


Just by using soft pastel, she created this eye which is very soulful. I swear, it is hard to work with soft pastels. Aside from the fact that they are brittle, it is pretty messy to use one unless you are very efficient with your strokes.


C'est magnifique! She is just so magnificent when it comes to rendering.


She is also diligent in studying how to draw human anatomy. Below are some of her works. I chose not to edit these because it would be fascinating for you all to see the details and not just highlight on something I want you to focus on.


Working and sketching torso is also challenging as you need to be careful with the proportion of body parts. Here, we can see that her attempts are not futile.


After Vanderpoel's


" my month ender is a portrait... "


" i don't know what to feel about this one... I finished way faster than I thought. "


"09:47 AM
08/08/17
Can't seem to finish this one because I got so frustrated too soon.
06:39 AM
I already messed up the proporation, but still in not changing it... "


First Barge Copy for the month of August
I think I learned how to patiently shade now.
I still have to practice more on my proportion.


Allyssa dear, thank you for answering all of the questions I sent you. I am really inspired of your works. It is just so sad that I did not have the chance to meet you again in person the last time you came back home. I just hope someday, I could see you working on an art project. I also hope that I will be as diligent as you are when it comes to sketching human anatomy.

I am looking forward on collaborative works with you in the future.


Do you like this post? Do you want her to be part of Steemit and share to us her talent? Then make this trending so that she would be delighted. Upvote and resteem!

Disclaimer: All the photos of her sketches were taken by my good friend Allyssa since it is impossible for me to have her sketchbook. MidEast is quite far from the Philippines you know. You could actually check out her facebook account if you wish to see more of her wonderful sketch works!

Sort:  

Lodiii @ablckbrd!!! You never fail to impress and inspire me with your unique artworks, not to mention that good writing skills you posses!

This is great talent. I can only envy her, she is an amazing visual artist.

I can feel you =)

Thanks a lot! And thanks to @gailbelga as well for liking what I do. <3

Thank you. My friend would definitely appreciate it.

thanks a lot~ <3

Amazing feature @gailbelga. She should be in Steemit too you know? ;) Why don't you invite her.

We will build the #artguildph with all your talents.

I tried talking to her about it but she told me she was having hard time catching up on everything. But hey I would still keep asking her. Her sketching skills are really awesome and to-die-for.

Make kulit - it's for her own good. Especially if she wants to earn from her art. This is a good place to do that too.

Hi gail can you edit this post and fix the url of the first photo so that its thumbnail will show up. Make sure it ends in .jpg/.jpeg/.png links. Thanks!

Will do dev.

Hello! Been lurking around this month, and finally made my first account yesterday. Im still so lost though, hehe. Thanks you!

You'll get a hang of it.

She is really talented. Galing. :)

Superb. I told her nga. Ayaw pa rin niyang maniwala.

thanks a lot! <3

Wow! She really is very good! Thanks for sharing all of her sketches!

Indeed she is. I will tell this to her.

Thanks a lot! I will post more, and hopefully tutorials on my steemit. :)

Awesome! Resteemed and followed :) I hope to see more of your friends works :) Thank you for sharing ^^

Thank you dear for helping me out making an unknown person known. I appreciate it. <3

ill be posting more on my steemit, just made an account. thank youuuu!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gailbelga to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Great article I’m glad you’re interviewing artists! We all need to support our local artists more! Thanks for your comment on my blog.

Thank you for appreciating this effor. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73