My 2nd entry for Amazing Nature Contest by @adalger

in #amazingnature5 years ago

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

I was amazed by the great response that my first contribution to the Amazing Nature Contest hosted by @adalger received and I am excited to come up with my second entry today.

But before I get to the actual entry for this round, let me say a big thank you to everyone who supported my previous entry that eventually made it to the second spot. What a nice surprise it was for me. Thank you guys!

Apparently, you like insect close-ups so it was my pleasure to dig out another one for you today :)


IMG_20190505_074343.jpg


In spite of some intensive googling, unfortunately, I failed to find out the full name of this beautiful creature so the only thing I can tell you is that it is a species of the rhinoceros beetle (Dynastinae).

There are actually more than 300 species of the rhinoceros beetle with some of them reaching over 15 cm (6 in) in length, making this group of bugs one of the world´s largest insects.

The one featured above must be one of the biggest species for sure. As far as I remember, its body was almost the size of my palm. Definitely the largest bug I have ever seen in the wild.

I took the photo in the beautiful Colombian town of Salento that is located high up in the Andes. There were many of these giant bugs scattered all over the town. Visitors stared at them in awe but the locals paid little to no attention to these creatures so I suppose they are very common in this part of Colombia.

You might also know that some rhinoceros beetles are believed to be able to lift up to 850 times their own weight. I am not sure if the guys that we saw in Salento were capable of this incredible feat but even if they were not, they looked super cool and I couldn´t stop watching them in astonishment :)

I hope that you liked the photo and that you learned something new today. Thank you for hosting this great challenge @adalger!


This post was created by me for the Steem blockchain exclusively.




uvodka.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #ecology, #crypto, #traveling, #photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming! :)

Sort:  

that's a cool looking beetle ;)

It is! And disturbingly large too :D

Congratulations @phortun! Your post brought a smile to the TravelFeed team so we have sent you a smiley. Keep up the good job. 🙂

Feedback

Based on your post, we have the following feedback for you:

  • We noticed that you did not publish your post through TravelFeed.io or edited your post on other Steem frontends. For better-looking blogs, we recommend you use our EasyEditor. As a bonus, when you post through our platform, you receive double upvotes from us, you are eligible for the top pick of the day (resteem + featured on the TravelFeed.io front page) and you can earn extra rewards from being featured in our daily curation posts. You can simply login with your existing Steem account using Steemconnect or Steem Keychain. See you next time on TravelFeed.io!
  • You have reached our minimum 250 words requirement but we encourage you to tell us more about your travel experience.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@elsaenroute (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?

Thanks for your feedback and the smiley guys :) I love your new curation style :D

Tohohle nosorožíka bych se snad i leknul, ho někde vidět. :-)) Ale pozoruhodný brouk. :-) Pěkné foto.
!trdo
!COFFEEA
!BEER

Congratulations @garygeo1, you successfuly trended the post shared by @phortun!
@phortun will receive 0.02168775 TRDO & @garygeo1 will get 0.01445850 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Díky :) Byl nádherný ale až děsivě velký :D

To tedy jo. Tam musíte mít hodně milovníků hmyzu. :-))

Je nádherný!!😍😍

Naše krásná vzpomínka na Salento ;)

coffeea Lucky you @phortun here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness


Hey @phortun, here is a little bit of BEER from @garygeo1 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Spectacular !

Rhinoceros beetles are really amazing beetles. If I remember it right they are able to lift weights that are 1000 times their own .. I unfortunately never encountered on in my life but it must be an amazing sight to find a bug as huge as a palm, hehe

Well, I heard it is "only" 850 times but I am sure other sources claim even higher numbers. But even if it was just 100 times or 50 times their own weight, it is still astonishing :)

Hehe, maybe I confuse it with ants .. are they able for lofting 1000 time their weight ? .. anyway, if I only could lift half of my weight as easy as they could I would be suuuuper happy, hehe

To je krasavec ;-)

!trdovoter
!BEER

Congratulations @jjprac, you successfuly trended the post shared by @phortun!
@phortun will receive 0.78525450 TRDO & @jjprac will get 0.52350300 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Jsem rád, že se ti líbí :) Pro hodně lidí je hmyz odpudivý až nechutný, nehledě na druh. Podle mě jsou ale třeba zrovna tihle nosorožíci fakt krásní :)

Brouci se mi většinou líbí ;)

Congratulations @jjprac, 2.51% upvote has been shared with your successful call on the post that shared by @phortun!


Support @trendotoken projects by delegating : 100SP , 200SP , 500SP , 1000SP , 2000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63