WHAT YOU PROBABLY DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT LIZARDS

in #amazing6 years ago

Trust me, if it wasn't for the life that I live, I wouldn't know about this either.


All around the world, lizards can be found in many locations. Most people are at least familiar with them, but coming into close contact with them can allow for some uncommon knowledge, so I'll go ahead and share something that you might not know about wild lizards.

TICKS? ON A LIZARD?

This is one of those ones that we learned out in the wild. I'm sure that there must be some sort of class in a classroom somewhere that covers this, but I never took it. Also, since we don't have television, we must have missed that nature documentary.

Like many of the cool little creatures we encounter, @papa-pepper and the @little-peppers have been known to catch a lizard here and there. Often, we like to release them in the garden as part of our organic pest control posse. Sometimes, we notice that they've got pests of their own.

While mites or certain internal parasites may seem more probable, even these little skinks can get ticks. Most of the time people seem to generally associate ticks with mammals, but, if you happen to look in the armpit of a wild lizard, you just might see that these reptiles can get ticks too!

I can remember our surprise the first time we saw this. So, have any of you ever seen this in real life? If not, did you find out about it another way?

Just like we usually do with other ticks, we like to remove them from the animal prior to release. Sure, they've got their tiny role to play in the grand scheme of things, but we'd rather not have any unwanted piggy-backers on us, so we like to treat the lizards the same as we would ourselves.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-bitey-little-skink-with-ticks-on-it

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Ohh!!! Skin bugs sucking the BLOOD! I thought these bugs suck the blood of a dog only or a cat? This is new to me! We call that in PHILIPPINES "GARAPATA"! Take care! It can enter to your ears! Danger bugs! Kill it!! Smash it!

Those bugs can kill animals! Believe me...

Yeah honestly they do.... They can remain in that lizard for years provided they keep getting blood.
Wicked ectoparasites parasites that are not worth keeping alive.i have read a lot about the menace they cause on animals

Yes, correct! I hate this blood-sucking bugs! Danger, also in our kids!

Nice photos @papa.pepper

He bit your hand, is it not poisonous on the bite? in our area is also very often found reptile it is usually in coconut trees or other places.

No, as far as I know, there are only two species of venomous lizards, the Gila Monster and the Mexican Beaded Lizard.

@papa-pepper I never thought that thicks could be on lizard, because I use to see thinks I'm dogs and cattle. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Yeah, I figured that it would be news to some people. Thanks!

Lizards are cool. I like them but I sure as hell don't like ticks. :D

Geee wiz! You keep this up and Steemit might be a brilliant alternative for school my sir..

LOL! Life is a learning experience!

IMG20180202092545.jpg

I just dare to take pictures alone papa-pepper, may not I know why dad is very brave to hold animals of any kind, papa can say very brave.

This one is crazy big ... nice

very interesting post

Jeeeese... This is actually the first time I am reading this.
Waooooo I have never heard about tick being of a lizard. This little creatures are just hungry for blood. I knew them to be more associated with dogs, cattle etc but never on lizards.
I guess I have learnt one today, thanks for the evidence based picture, my course mates are gonna live this. I guess I have something to write about in my seminar, will use this as a topic to discuss.
The tick just went to a strategic position weekend they will get enough blood, such a creature with wisdom waoo.
This is really worth seeing.
Thanks so much @papa-pepper.
This made my morning here

Wow... I I have never noticed the ticks on lizards and don't remember hearing such in biology class.

Thanks for adding to my knowledge @papa-pepper

I never heard of such either, just found them in the wild. Now you know!

@papa-pepper amazingly very brave may always succeed in gardening

I was a surprised as you are...... What surprised me most was the strategic position the tick occupied, it just position itself behind the the forelimb of the lizard where the skin is tender enough so thy it will get sufficient blood meal.
I think they deserve some credit here.. Lol

excellent post ..loving to your blog.thanks for sharing..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84