WHAT ARE YOU DOING TODAY?

in #amazing5 years ago

Thankfully, I made it back home in time for the births!!!

A while back, we caught a Black Rat Snake near our poultry (if I remember correctly) and decided to relocate it. We put it in a bucket, and then, before we left with the snake for its new home, it laid eggs in the bucket. We decided to put them in a nice place where the eggs could incubate and keep an eye on them. Sure enough.... they incubated!!!!! Six out of twelve are already hatched!

BABY BLACK RAT SNAKES HATCHING!!!

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Woah super cool! Beautiful markings on these snakes. That is crazy the snake laid eggs in the bucket.

I have never seen where they hatch before. Wow. Another relocation waiting...

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my they look so cute!!! Amazing they aren't born all black. I notice I see those pattern on the full grown adults. Mainly a lot of red coloring in the scales in certain patterns.

Way cool!

I thought I had run over one of these guys with our riding mower a few months back, but luckily he was just scared, not harmed.

He seemed relatively unconcerned when I picked him up to examine him, and I got a few good photos that let me identify him correctly, before letting him loose in our wood pile. Beautiful little guy.

One of my favorite memories from Florida was when I was digging mulch out of a warm bag in the sun and noticed an egg.

I picked it up carefully to move it, and as I was walking to relocate it, it hatched in my hand . . . a tiny, perfect little blue-tailed skink. Also a beautiful little guy. One of my favorite lizards.

I felt quite honored that it hatched in my hand. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Well hey now you have more egg eating snakes around!!! LOL

OMG
I don't like snakes

Love this! Beautiful photos. I Love Rat snakes they have the cutest faces ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Once those get a little bigger you won't have to worry about rats at all. You might have to work harder to keep the bunnies safe though. ;)

the kids are learning the miracles of life the best way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74