You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Basic Income Giveaway (Words)

in #alldutchenglish6 years ago

I hope I'm still on time! I had meant to post this a couple of days earlier, but couldn't because of the HF20 RC issues.

I'm not sure about a "favorite" word, but I agree with @zen-art that "thingy" is fun! Here in Brazil, we have something similar, "coiso," which is not a word ("coisa" is the word for "thing," but "coiso" isn't a word). It's even crazier when a person informally transforms "coisa" ("thing") into a verb, "coisar" ("to thing"). "Você tem que coisar aquele coiso!" Would translate to something like, "You have to thing that thingy!" And somehow the other person understands exactly what needs to be done :D .

I don't like swear words, mainly the stronger ones like... you know, the "F" word and the "SH" word. I get that it's normal to feel the urge to curse when something bad happens. But I especially dislike when people decide to throw these words left and right in normal conversation and use them to replace anything. Something like, "Let's finish this sh***..." I'd prefer if they would use "thingy" instead! :P

Sort:  

No problem, all of us got taken down by HF20! Hopefully, it does leave the way for a stronger Steem backbone which will place the way for a more widespread adoption...

Ha ha, I live the thingy analogue! Coisa... I have to remember it for when I meet with my Brazilian friends.

Agreed with the overuse of swear words... It is like a teenager trying to shock with profanity or by being 'bad'. It's not bad arse, it's just annoying and reduces the effect for when it really means something!

The winners and the new Steem Basic Income giveaway (What did you do...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdidyoudowhen-hyo2wxu0ii

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64103.87
ETH 2762.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65