Rachelle Close Up Portraits and Silver Toning ExperimentssteemCreated with Sketch.

Introduction

I have been experimenting with producing a more film-like silver toning for my black and white photos.  Here are some close-up shots that have been edited in a manner to do this (settings at the end).  I have included a screenshot of the toning settings from Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 below the photos in case you want to have a go yourself (let me know if you do).

I have included the colour versions after the black and white.  

Personally I think photos 1 and 2 look best in black and white and the rest (3, 4 & 5) are better in colour.  I think this is due to the different lighting in the shots - more moody lighting with more prominent shadows tends to favour monochrome.

As always let me know what you think.  


The Photos


Black and White

1


2


3


4


5


Colour

1


2


3


4


5



Silver Tone in Silver Efex Pro 2

I basically used the split tone preset number 2 and reduced the strength.  Note the mild vignette was not used on all the photos.


If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog (I don't just discuss photography) -  @thecryptofiend 

I have also created a new channel in the chat dedicated to photography of people/portraits called "Photography-portraits-people".  Please check it out and post your photos there.


Technical Information:

  • Nikon D800 Camera.
  • Sigma 85mm/1.8 lens, natural window light with a front reflector.
  • Adobe Lightroom CC and Photoshop CC for processing.
  • The model is Rachelle Summers.

Some of my Previous Posts and Tutorials:

Sort:  

Nice work. Up voted and up voting my new blogs will be appreciated. Already following.

https://steemit.com/jokes/@hanamana/joke-of-the-night-we-need-laugh-at-nights-too

Thank you:) I will take a look but please be careful posting unrelated links in other people's posts you could end up getting flagged.

Ok, sorry about that. I know now, so I will be careful about posting unrelated links. Good day.
So, if the link is related subject, then okay to post the link in other peoples comment area?

I am really partial to the silver tone. There's something more romantic about it. :)

Thanks yes I love it. It has a bit of a purple hint to it.

Just beautiful work, as always! My favorite is #2 in Black and White, her expression is quite sultry and that comes across more clearly without the distraction of color. All the black and whites are beautiful, in fact.
I do like the color too, however. She has such soulful eyes, they look mesmerizing in color. Love!

Thank you as always for your kind and thoughtful words:)

Your shots are always so brilliantly focused, love them!

Very nice work. I particularly like the silver ones. I've got the Nik collection, but I haven't used it very much since I just prefer Photoshop and have been using it for years. Maybe I'll give it another try.

Thanks. You can combine the two. For these ones I was doing retouching in Photoshop for skin so I just stayed in Photoshop and used the plugin there. You should definitely try it. With Photoshop it gives you much more scope with layers for combining different tone curves too which I think is used in a lot of professional magazine shoots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44