Local Nature Rich and Raw, PART 1

in #travel8 years ago

“In all things of nature, there is something of the marvelous”
-Aristotle

One of the ways that I keep myself sane given the ridiculous amount of hours that I work is to take excursions out into nature. It could be a full day but most often it’s a mini- excursion of an afternoon or even a few hours.

On the Columbia River:

Fortunately living in Portland, I have great options close by. My favorite places tend to be along the Columbia River Gorge, at the coast or in a pinch when I only have 2 hours, I can go to Mt. Tabor, an extinct volcano with views and amazing wise old trees, or to Forest Park’s 26 miles of trails and tree canopy.

A favorite is the Swale Valley on the Washington side of the Gorge. We always have an amazing experiences here - it’s a little further away at about 2 hours but it’s worth it. You walk beside a creek most of the trail with wide open grassy fields on either side and the very vocal raptors and songbirds all around. I like that this hike isn’t too difficult and we typically walk 5 miles before realizing it’s getting late:

There is a consistent gallery of art along the trail made by hikers from the old railroad remnants that litter the area:

We always emerge renewed from this very cool place. Not only does this time cleanse my overly full mind, it lifts my spirits and I tend to return to life with new ideas and inspiration.

Many of my friends have intense jobs with difficult work dynamics, or struggle with low morale due to a lack of appreciation by superiors, or are under challenged. For me, I have this job of my own making that has almost none of the problems typically found in so many workplaces and by many measures is a dreamy job. But what is tough for me - aside from rarely having a day off - is that in order to design, to create, to solve the endless and unpredictable problems that surface daily when working with ceramics, to reach for mastery, I have to have enormous inner clarity at all times in order to be effective in my work. I simply can’t ever phone it in or have an “off” day. Like all others who work for themselves, I don’t get paid for showing up, I get paid for results so I have to be at 100% or at worst 85% at all times. For me this is a tall order and requires a lot of self-care. Plus, the financial stresses of making a living as a creative are nothing to scoff at and sometimes threaten to throw me off the deep end of sanity.

The coast provides a consistently marvelous and thorough reset and I have so many favorite spots, this photo is from Short Sands Beach:

Oswald State Park:

Daily but short practices of yoga and mediation are vital for my well-being but aren’t enough for me, I need the power of nature. Nature has a way of “putting things right” in me. I don’t know if the natural world has this same effect on everyone but it certainly works wonders for me.

The Tom McCall Preserve on the Oregon side of the Columbia Gorge is another of my favorite hikes because of its capacity to quickly change my state of mind. It’s more of a walk than a hike but is majestic in all seasons. As you walk in the grassy paths, you are overlooking a cliff swooping down into the mighty Columbia River with the hawks, turkey vultures and eagles as constant overhead companions as they fish and hunt.

On a particularly warm day in January 2016:

And after a snowstorm in March 2016:

No matter what the feeling, the stress or worry, nature has a way of rebalancing it all. It redistributes the frazzled energy within my system so that the right amount is in each of my body, mind, emotions, and spirit.

Mt. Tabor:

Moving moment at Mt Tabor - I came up to this open area and everyone was silent in collective awe watching the sun set over the city. The sunset was beautiful, but the people were too:

Even in the heart of winter, Wachlella Falls near the Bonneville Dam is rich in lush inspiration:

Afterwards, we feel bathed in wellness - local nature raw and rich works its magic every time!

All images are the property of Ruth Frances Greenberg and may not be used without permission.

Sort:  

Good photos. It is visible optics class and the camera too.

thanks @folend....... all taken with an iphone. I have a really great digital camera but the iphone is just so easy so I wind up using it almost all the time.

@natureofbeing, you make me long for the Pacific Northwest, particularly your neck of the woods. Is Mt. Tabor where the rose gardens are?
Your pics are gorgeous. I love that you captured everyone at sunset. Funny thing about sunsets. They seem to bring out the best in people.

thank you @fairytalelife! Yes the ending of the day is a special window - the golden hour. The rose garden is on the west side in Washington Park and Mt. Tabor is on the east side with several reservoirs. It's a very groomed place yet has a magical kind of healing power. When I moved here 25 years I went through a really tough year and went to Mt Tabor almost everyday - it had this magnetic pull fo rme - and I am convinced that those trees healed me.

Those are some beautiful pictures. You are obviously quite talented with a camera. The pictures remind me of how much I miss living near mountains. I'm soooo not a beach girl, but I love living around and being near mountains. One day, I'll get a summer house among them.

thanks @stephmckenzie, I used to be a beach girl but after 25 years living at the foot of Mt Hood I've fallen deeply in love with this area. I still love the beach and the coast but need mountain time equally. I hope you get your cravings for time in the mountains as you need! I can imagine that as a writer you need this natural reprieve.

Great post and excellent photos. I completely identify with you regarding having a seemingly dreamy job that requires a lot from you. I find that mini-excursions work wonders for me too. I would never trade making a living from my own endeavours but it can be very challenging and stressful at times. But the flexibility to be able to just get up and go for a long walk in nature is wonderful!

Thanks so much @bridgetbunchy! It seems like we are both creating lives by our wits..... and I too can't imagine working for someone else or giving up on my talents but sometimes wonder if it's an insane way to live. Keep up your good spirits and good work!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Nice, I am a learning photographer after 12 years. I shoot a jpeg and a raw image. It has paid to have the raw images. Thanks for sharing.

I loved the shot in the park in the golden light. Some of the fondest memories I have in life our during that time and I must admit it's due largely to that time of day. Really beautiful post.

awesome! i d love to visit your places someday :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95