A steemian's food experience. Part 1: I love Matcha

in #food8 years ago

Hello Steemians,
today I am not going to talk about my food journeys, since I want to write something to refresh myself and my blog. Although it is still about food, but I want to introduce one of my favorite drinks and desserts here on Steemit. It is Matcha, a typical Japanese tea. And now, let’s find out how amazing Matcha is, I guess you will fall in love with it after this post ;)

enter image description here

enter image description here

Maybe some of you have never heard about matcha; so what exactly is matcha? Matcha is powder made from buds and leaves of young green tea plants. A few weeks prior to the harvest, farmers shade the tea plants to allow an increase in chlorophyll to form. The tea is then harvested, steamed, air dried, and finely milled into the final creamy powder with a gorgeous green. Are you curious about how matcha tastes?

enter image description here
“Hmmm...It’s green; so it tastes like vegetables. OMG!!! I’m scared of vegetables”

NO!!! Don’t let its green color terrify you. I swear it’s so so delicious. It tastes similar to typical green tea but with a delicately sweet flavor and velvety texture.

enter image description here

And now I’ll take you guys to an exquisite spot – Kyo Roll En, where we can find super yummy matcha desserts. It’s my favorite dessert cafe whenever I’m in Bangkok.

enter image description here
Kyo Roll En @ Siam Square One delightfully decorated in Japenese style

The yummy desserts here are mainly made of matcha but we also find non-matcha based desserts such as fruits, black seasame, charcoal, chocolate. When you see the menu, I swear that you want to order all because every single item is so so appealing to be missed.

enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here
Rolls and Soft Cream are their signature dishes

Well, The first time I came here, I wanted a dish covering almost the outstanding desserts here and I saw Tsujri Roll Set in the menu then I told myself that “I want you”. You know, I always feel excited whenever trying something new and delicious. For me, Good Food Good Life ^^. I was totally suprised when the desserts were served cuz it’s too gorgeous to be true; it goes beyond my expectation!!!.

enter image description here
Tsujiri Roll Set (around $5): Choco-Matcha Roll, Charcoal-Matcha mixed soft cream, Matcha Nama Chocolate, Fresh Fruit Platter and Matcha Sauce

STRONGLY RECOMMEND!!! I swear this is one of the best Japanese roll that I’ve ever tasted. It’s hard to describe in words, it’s so so soft, spongy, fluffy yet moist as if it was melting in your mouth. Because I’m a huge fan of both chocolate and matcha, the combination between lovely chocolate sponge cake and matcha cream nestled between layers resulting bittersweet flavor is totally perfect to me. There’s also a thin layer of red beans scattered within. I love to pour matcha sauce over the roll <3. You can also pour it over the soft cream.

enter image description here
Choco-Matcha Roll
Next up is the charcoal - matcha soft cream; it really knocks me down with both icy and smooth texture, strong and rich flavors of green tea and charcoal. OMG, I want soft cream right now, I miss them all 

enter image description here
Charcoal - Matcha mixed soft cream
Do you see the small green cube on the platter? It’s decadent and yummy matcha nama chocolate, you can feel the velvety texture with only one little bite, it’s sweet enough and rich of matcha flavor.

enter image description here
Matcha Nama Chocolate (truffle)
The second time I came back to Kyo Roll En, I decided to choose Deluxe Matcha Parfait. The staff told me that it is a MUST-TRY dish and I totally agree with him. The parfait is served in a tall class with multi layers of pana cotta, azuki red bean paste, shaved-ice, shiratama, ice-cream. It is smooth and rich, not too sweet with distinct matcha bitterness and well balanced by milk pana cotta and red bean paste. It has a brilliant setup of toppings with matcha nama chocolate, matcha jelly, whipped cream, cookie and a small chocolate square with the cafe’s symbol on it.

enter image description here
Deluxe Matcha Parfait (around $6.5)
Do you know the best way to enjoy it? – Use a long spoon and scoop from bottom to top to feel the perfect taste. AWESOMEEEEE! I used to try many versions of matcha parfait but this is the best of the best. It is ranked #1 in my favorite matcha dessert list. It is perfect from top to bottom as its name implies (parfait in French means perfect).

enter image description here
Toppings: matcha jelly, matcha nama chocolate, whipped cream, coookie, chocolate

Maybe after this post, you start being interested in matcha like me. I recommend that you should by Teavana matcha, it’s my no.1 favorite. You can get in on the website of Teavana, the price is $44.95/80gr; it’s kinda expensive but totally worth it.
Below is my homemade matcha latte with only 3 ingredients: Tevana matcha powder, non-sugar fresh milk, honey. The color is so beautiful, isn’t it?

enter image description here

Besides, matcha has a lot of benefits. You can refer to following link:
http://www.naturallivingideas.com/10-amazing-benefits-of-matcha-green-tea/
I hope that someday I can make this latte for all Steemians to enjoy the gorgeous taste of matcha^^

See you soon and thank you for reading <3

(Credits: some images are from google)
PS: Follow @knozaki2015's excellent initiative, I will from now on donate 8% of my earned SBD to Project Curie and Steemsquad.

Sort:  

I love green tea dessert. They look so good.

Yep and they taste great too ^^

Really love the visuals here, and definitely found it interesting.

Had no idea there were so many benefits of Matcha.

I am inspired to order some matcha :)
I love green tea and have had matcha in some of my foods and juices but i have never had the tea. RIghty off to google to get some :D

That is some great looking food. It looks so... clean! :)

I have noticed that just about all your posts pertain to food... I wrote my first post today about food... https://steemit.com/food/@jrcornel/how-to-make-the-perfect-parmesan-chicken-an-original-recipe

It is my favorite dish to eat... what do you think?

The Japanese know a few things about tea. I've never seen such a sight in my life!!!

The Japanese can sure make things food look delicious! Thanks for sharing

My wife and daughter love matcha. I order them a bag of it off ebay about every six weeks.

Matcha is good for our health as well, its lovely you buy it for your wife and daughter ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43