How to make the perfect Parmesan Chicken! (an original recipe)

in #food8 years ago

Let me share with you one of my favorite dishes. The recipe was handed down to me from my mother. To be honest with you she is not the most amazing cook but there are several dishes that she does very well, and this is one of them!

As mentioned in previous posts, I am The Fommy. The Fommy does a lot of things that moms might normally do because of his circumstances, and one of those things is cook! Without further ado, lets talk about my favorite dish.

Parmesan Chicken

My Parmesan Chicken is not fried, which a lot of others are, that makes it slightly more healthy without losing any of its flavor. 

A couple of tips before you begin: 

Buy boneless Chicken Thighs, not chicken breasts: This is very important because if you use chicken breasts it will turn out too dry. Don't ask me why, but I have tried both ways and the thighs turn out much juicer! Make sure to get boneless and if you can, use the thigh cutlets, they turn out even better!

Things you will need:

1. Boneless Chicken Thighs

2. Breadcrumbs

3. Parmesan Cheese

4. Stick of butter

5. Tin foil or cooking spray

Now to the good stuff...

How to make Parmesan Chicken:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees: The lower cooking temperature helps the chicken retain its moisture. It also helps the outside from getting burned.

2. Defrost Chicken Thighs: It is important that you don't start cooking the chicken until it is completely defrosted. If it is frozen it won't cook thoroughly or taste good.

3. Melt the stick of butter: Put the unwrapped stick of butter in the microwave and cook on high 1-2 minutes. The goal is to get the entire stick melted. Let cool for a couple minutes after it is melted.

4. Mix Breadcrumbs and Parmesan Cheese in a large mixing bowl: The mixture should be 2/3rds breadcrumbs and 1/3rd cheese.

5. Soak a Chicken Thigh in the melted butter: Place 1 Chicken Thigh in the butter and let it soak for several seconds.

6. Place the butter soaked Chicken Thigh in the bowl of bread crumbs and cheese: Roll the chicken around making sure every inch is covered with the bread crumbs and cheese. The butter will make everything stick to the chicken. This is where we get the flavor without having to fry the chicken.

7. Place the Chicken Thigh on a piece of tinfoil placed over a baking sheet: If you don't have tinfoil, spray the baking sheet with cooking spray. The goal is to make sure the chicken doesn't stick to the pan.

8. Repeat steps 5-7 until the desired number of pieces are ready to cook: Usually 2-3 pieces are sufficient per person you want to serve.

9. Once the desired number of pieces are set on the baking sheet, place in oven and set cook time for 1 hour: The long cook time helps the meat retain it's moisture and it keeps the outside from burning. 

10. Remove from heat after 1 hour and enjoy!

I like to add zucchini or broccoli as well as cheesy potatoes when I make this dish but really it can go with just about anything. 

I hope you enjoyed my recipe and I hope you will try it for yourself. It really is very easy to make and it tastes like a professional chef made it! Oh wait... he did :)

This has been an original recipe by @jrcornel

Image Sources:

1. http://rampantcuisine.com/cuisine/chicken-parmesan/

2. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/55860/baked-garlic-parmesan-chicken/

Follow: @jrcornel

Sort:  

Looks Yum

Thanks! Yea it really is my favorite dish to make and eat!

I love this but I tend to put so much butter on it almost becomes like chicken Kiev!

Haha I could see that! Who doesn't love them some butter?! :)

Ohhhh yeah this was good. I love how we mixed the cheese and bread crumbs together... This was good. I baked for less time at a higher temp and all worked out . Thank u!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61236.82
ETH 2672.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61