Winning... but not in the way you think.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

14462853_10104357861352807_1798489460487456452_n1a087.jpg

Recently I entered myself in a vocal competition in my home town. I used to be really against American Idol, America's Got Talent, The Voice or any talent show. While entertaining, it can be so subjective. And for God's sake I'm an arrrrrrttist.

But here I am. I haven't been singing as much as I want to lately... so I had to do something.

The process was simple. Submit a video to be considered for the live semi final round. Passed. Next, 30 contestants from ages 8 and up compete. Judges score based on vocal technique and performance. Then, the top 10 move on to the finals. Not only did I move on... I got 1st in my category (Adults 18 and up).

Finals came.
I sang.
I won.

I'm sorry, just in case you missed that...

I won.

14449855_10104354015609707_3838219460057676607_nd029c.jpg

14492612_10104353186461327_5661287060321952525_n-162277.jpg

I have to tell you... this is not a story about winning. It's a story about believing in yourself and being scared and doing something about it. I have sat for so long with my day dreams and fears and finally came the point where I couldn't sit anymore. Thank God.

One of my friends gave me some wonderful advice. Do something. Anything. It doesn't matter if it's for your career, for money, not for money, for someone else or for yourself. Do SOMETHING to shake up the energy of your life. Make something, volunteer, get a job you don't particularly like, join a club. It doesn't matter! There doesn't have to be any meaning behind it. It doesn't have to be this grand things you do to move your career forward, to gain more income, to find your purpose or meaning in life. For some reason it was so hard for me to do this. Well, I'm a perfectionist. That's why it was hard. I had to have the best and most perfect answer that efficiently met all my needs. No no Hartleigh. Don't do that. There isn't one.

From this little competition in my home town I have gained so much momentum. I feel good. Great actually. Yes, I won so that's helpful. I succeeded in what I aimed to do. But, more than that, now I want to move forward with my ideas. I don't feel the fear I used to. Good things are coming to me in all different areas of my life. Please, do not mistake me. I don't mean I am making a ton of money now and all my problems are solved. I mean I FEEL GOOD. And feeling good brings good things to you. It's a snowball effect.

After all this buzzing activity I gained some clarity. Which is the other beautiful benefit do just doing something is you gain perspective. So, here is mine.

This is what is actually incredibly important to me. The arts brings all kinds of people together. It opens you up and allows for connection between each other. Art is truth and vulnerability in its most beautiful state. When we experience the arts we experience and recognize ourselves in another person. In the end, it's a path to love and a deeper understanding of the humanity in all of us. And that's why we should support the arts whenever we can.

Here is my performance singing "Who's Loving You" by the Jackson 5. Enjoy. Comment. Don't Comment. More than anything, go do something.

Sort:  

Shakin' up life ain't too bad! Congrats!

Love this! Well done and congratulations - great message to share from this experience :)

Your story hit all the spots I was looking for!! And wow, what a singer you are! Upvoted and resteemed - well done for being a winner in @positivity 's challenge 2 :)

thank you so much @positivity!! Appreciate you!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

hi @hartleigh, just stopping back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday. You can read my comments here.

hey thank you so much. I appreciate your comments and sharing my story!

Keep following your Dreams!!!

thanks so much!

That's great! Feels good doesn't it. You should post your performance on the new Open Mic Night in Steemit. Maybe you'll win here too.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/openmic-night-record-your-musical-performance-using-just-a-phone-and-win-steem-dollars

ooo! I will! great idea! thank you @luzcypher!

Congratulations. That must be a wonderful feeling. The most important thing beyond appreciation of others and the support and belief we receive from them, is the self appreciation and self belief we must stabilize our passions and dreams upon. Nobody can validate our artwork truly for the pricelessness it embodies but we can share our gifts and talents and impact the world, ours and the people directly and indirectly within our range of change. Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75