Find your Master YODA - Mentors are important

in #business8 years ago

If someone would have told me at the beginning of my career to find a mentor for my role, I would have told them they’re thinking wrong and I’d walk away with my own ignorant thoughts. The further I got in my career I learned it would have probably been a good idea to have someone guiding me through what would turn out to be some difficult things to deal with some time. I look back and understand that it’s typical for someone that early in a career to think they have all the answers. Although, that is something that a mentor would be able to straighten up for them. Having a mentor early in one’s career can really help them gain perspective on what to expect going forward and how to approach situations they’ll see in their day to day.

Once I learned that, aside from direct managers, co-workers, and friends, a person needs a professional relationship, I found a mentor. A mentor can help navigate your career with you. They have been there, hopefully at the time that they were there, they had a mentor as well. They have made the same mistakes you are going to make soon in your career. A mentor will be able to tell you the decisions they made and help you come up with the correct decisions you should make. Mentors are easy to find. My first one at the bigger company I was at was in a business development role and we actually were matched by the young professional's program in that company. I was looking for my entrance into sales positions at my company and thought he was the person to talk to. He had plenty of sales experience and sounded encouraged to help me find my niche. Unfortunately for that company, they never even entertained the idea of hiring me for a sales role. If the company for which you work has one of those mentor-matching programs, it would be a good idea to look there for your mentor first.

Once you’ve found your mentor it’s important that you’ve established not only a professional relationship but balance it with either informal settings or a friendly session outside of the offices. It still bothers me to this day that I was only ever allowed to meet my mentor in his office. Had he wanted to go out for drinks after work one or two days of the month, I’m fairly certain I would have stayed at that company. It’s important to have a mentor that not only sees the professional relationship but can open up to you on a personal level. If the two of you are more comfortable with each other, you can share things that tick you off about work without fear of reprisal. Typically meeting either weekly or bi-weekly is key for mentors to establish a bond and understand the goals of each other better. The mentor should be able to guide the mentee and offer different points of view from someone that has experienced what the mentee is about to experience.

Sort:  

Tell me more about you, and we can see

My name is Tao Of Satoshi. I come to STEEM by way of BTC and DASH. I am the Dash Dalmatian on Twitter (https://twitter.com/taoofsatoshi), and I am looking to establish a presence here. I've started a blog TAO'S STEEM ON DASH, and I am getting more interested daily in STEEM as well.

I love Dash @taoofsatoshi . Fantastic platform. You are already on the right path Jedi Knight. Keep believing.

Thats encouraging news for this young Padawan. ;-)

about which topics are you planing to write

My main topics are going to be Dash and Bitcoin. However, I am also considering posting about things in other areas such as sports, photography, life and travel. I like the format here that everything can be mixed together, unlike Reddit which separates the categories.

👍nice post @dragonho , keep up ur work

How about me @dragonho. I also wanted to learn so I can also earn. Im from philippines and english is not my native language.

you are from Philippines, so how could your people benefit from crypto. Whey are you here what do you want to achieve ?

I also ask myself the same question when I started steemit but after a few learning curve I was able to convert SBD for philippine peso, it was a test of 1sbd. What I want to achieve? I want to learn more, I wanna be like lots of people here in steemit who are earning well.

Are you sure Yoda you are not?

Mentor is indeed a big help however things may turn around as well into something bad. Maybe choosing the right person and setting the right perspective is better rather than a mentor. Just a thought.

In the same boat I am, All collaborate, we should!

This advice is golden, If i didn't have a mentor in my job profession I would be useless at it now.
The best type of knowledge comes from experience, and that is where your mentor can teach you the best things.

Oh yes experience and patience

One person's experience can indeed benefit you. But you can run through several different experiences in the particular field of interest, by reading books and pieces in which those people describe their experience.
Is this not more time-efficient than being hand-held by an old sage?

No, because the mentor can also network you with the right people as part of the relationship. it's more 3-dimensional than a book, which is a passive way to learn.

I agree on that, a mentor will introduce you to his peers but only if he feels it is worth that he introduces you to them.

True words. Hard work does it as well...

Could not agree more!

Experience goes both ways. Some of the best things are discovered by taking the leap and rolling the dice. Those who do not play lose by default, those who play by old rules and roles risk losing sight of the prize they are after. Do you believe that you NEED a mentor to succeed, when you have this much energy inside you?

When multiple ways lead to Rome, why not make your own way and your own rules?

I have found that getting a mentor is a process that usually happens naturally. It's good that there are more formal approaches to this however. Most firms assign someone to show a new employee 'the ropes', but often that trainer does not become the real mentor. Most people are willing to share the skinny with a newbie - usually what the boss's pet peeves are, what is most important to do right on the first day, who to watch out for, general SOP, etc. I found that oftentimes, a quick friendship forms around this relationship in a very natural way. Sometimes, however, a more self-serving employee can take advantage, or even abuse a new-hire by gaining his or her trust, then providing false information or instructions for a variety of skulduggery.

yes it depends on the size of the company and the policy - but it is something one can ask when looking for a new position if something like mentorship programmes exists etc. appreciate your comment.

I am looking for a mentor since I signed up a couple of weeks back, maybe this is my lucky comment!

tell me more about you, what you want to achieve , you talk about a mentor for steemit >?

I am from Romania, Eastern Europe. Finished faculty (management degree), and now I am a Vice President in an international NGO. Found out about Steemit a couple of weeks back. I want to start a tech magazine on Steemit. The first edition will go out Sunday, but I need someone to guide me in this journey. Someone who can tell me more about content, added value and articles on Steemit and how can I bring the most value to this platform through my magazine. In the future, I want to feature as more steemit writers as I can. This is just the short description. If you are interested, we can chat more.

Regards,

I fully agree with mentors importance. We need them anytime, anywhere. Unfortunately, very often people just do not want to share information, and sometimes they simply can not because of their inability. It is not enough to be a professional in a certain field. It is necessary to have teacher skill, have additional time and patience for explaining simple and sometimes even ridiculous things (for the mentor, of course). So my mentors are Google and, of course, Steemit for a while. Wisdom can not be learned, ones have to be found it and acquire it personally.

yes Google is like a big mentor you can ask a lot of things but it is still good to discuss things in person :)

I have too much respect the time of others, so do not want to distract them for nothing). But strongly agree about personal communications. Modern Internet looks like big junkyard - find valuable and not get dirty here has become an art)))

Mentorship is important for many reasons, but the main is that in the beginning nobody knows all of the rules of the game. Only by modeling the skills, qualities and leadership traits of the leader is someone able to reach the mentor in terms of skill and overall competence.

Once competency is attained by following your leader, then and only then should you start creating your own style. This is the path to mastery.

mastery has as well a lot to do with observation and analysing what is going on and not only sitting around and playing pokemon go or netflixing the whole evening.

I would live to hear more about your views

Personally I do not see it so important to have a steemit mentor, but while that might be good and no doubt useful; realistically it will not happen for 99.9% of Steemians.
It is fine to dream some Dolphin or whale might see great potential in you, but it is far more likely if you have enough skills to stand out to these steemians then you are probably already on the way to greatness yourself...
Sure they might help and speed up the learning and rewards curves for you; but why would they? Why indeed; maybe it is some sort of court ordered community service mandate.
Yes; your Honor i completed my 100 community service, i helped someone on Steemit as their mentor ??? Some how I doubt the Judge would tend to agree...
To my mind people are better to form loose alliances within networks to share tactics. No I do not mean voting conglomerates such as if i vote on your post you should vote on mine; etc.
I mean sharing knowledge on what niche things people can collude together in. I am not talking about rigging the system, I am saying i feel i have found a nice time of day for my posts, when it might be more helpful to vote and when to comment etc.
I cannot always be online so others can maybe benefit from my micro insights. To me the more steemit grows and weeds out multiple accounts and bots the more my time herein will reward my efforts; plus I should have more fun as well...
By working together we can make steemit into more than it is today and thus we all both succeed and profit; especially in the long run.
So start sharing your knowledge and experiences in helpful meaningful ways ...
More power to you !!!
/hugz

hi i will be featuring this post today

@dragonslayer109 thanks appreciate it

Awesome the person who liked my post and commented has the best post of the day, sweet. Solid read I truly enjoyed it, people really don't understand how unbelievably valuable a mentor is until you find one.

If you find a good mentor. One who promotes your growth without worry of feeling inferior. At some point, you will reach equilibrium with your mentor.
Mentors

and your mentor becomes your sparring partner :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75