Day 39: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: swimming with the dolphins

in #freewrite6 years ago

Giphy.com

Disclaimer: I use the prompt to try and think up and tell a short story at one sitting, but I don't try to stick with the 5 minute timer

My name is Marvin Yellowfin and I live in a Lagoon off an Island in the South Pacific. I attend Findora Middle School and we have fun all day playing hide and seek among the coral and learning how to synchronize with precision. I have lots of friends who are incredibly creative and talented. My girlfriend Tina Tanglenet is awesome, she can be swimming at top speed and suddenly stop on a sand dollar and swim backwards just as fast. There is one boy named Charles Blohard that we call Chunk because he is as wide as he is long. He is the slowest fish in the school so we put him up front in the lead so that he doesn't get lost.

We occasionally see larger fish swimming through our Lagoon and when we do we all try to imitate them, it is so much fun to gather together in a real tight formation and make a shape so that we look just like a large fish ourselves swimming right along with those big boys. Sometimes we fool them so well that they swim over to play with us, they even swim right through the middle of us and we just laugh and laugh when they do. It must have been a shocking surprise to them when they saw us all split apart at the last second and they realized that the big fish that they had seen was really just a bunch of school kids.

Today is a special day because my favorite big fish has been seen in the Lagoon, word was passed down to us by a couple of loons that two beautiful and super fast dolphins were nearby. The entire school had hurriedly gathered together and formed ourselves into a dolphin look alike and we swam around the big rock with eager anticipation. I was swimming right beside Tina and she was flirting with me, rubbing my side lightly with her pectoral fins, it was driving me crazy. But then I heard the distinct clicking sounds that only dolphins make, and I searched all around for those sleek, swift, magnificent dolphins. Oh how I would love to be able to go out into the open water and swim fast as the gulf stream like a dolphin, it was my life's ambition! Suddenly they appeared swimming right toward us at incredible speed, the illusion had worked Yippee, they thought that we were also a Dolphin like them! It was then that Tina slammed on the breaks and began to swim backwards along with half of our class, the rest of the class continued to follow Chunk but I attempted to turn around and catch back up with Tina.

There was a sudden burst of speed and I was lifted up and then taken down and away, I and the Dolphins went together right out toward the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Now I have received my great wish, my life's ambition. Me, Marvin Yellowfin, will forever be swimming with the dolphins!

Graphic by: Giphy

Prompt: swimming with the dolphins
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Thank you @mariannewest

Sort:  

Really like this story @deaconlee have you ever considered writing children's/young adults literature? This story is really clearly written but with real depth to it and a great twist at the end! Fantastic 🐋 🐋

Thank you so much! Yes, I have considered that, especially since I'm still a kid at heart. Growing up I always loved children's books and mysteries that were written for youth. I think writing those stories would be right up my ally. 🙂

This was fabulous! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way you incorporated new words into it "stopped on a sand dollar" especially made me start grinning and I had a huge smile on my face for the rest of the story. Such a happy making post!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

@minnowpondred has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post has received a 5.04 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @deaconlee. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97