You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Anyone out there?...)

in #aliens5 years ago

Agreed, both Drake and Fermi have some pretty hefty inbuilt assumptions about the settings of the variables that they use... however, there still is the idea that there is a close to infinite amount of stars, which does mean that a small chance short approach certainty over time. However, that doesn't take into account other problems of communication... perhaps, light speed really is the limit...

LOL... I think you slightly changed the wording of my second question! I figure that they can't be any harm in trying to contact aliens... after all, we have been passively sending out signals anyway... so it isn't really as if we were hiding anyway!

That scifi story... I had a quick look at the wiki page... it's hilarious! Ah, I remember loving all these short stories from the Golden Age! I really should rediscover more of them again...

Extra SBI share for you, thanks for the thoughtful reply!

Sort:  

thanks!

I've got a copy of the story in digital somewhere, let me know if yuo want and I'll dig it out

I must have read the question the way I wanted to answer it lol.

sending out passive signals is different than active communication. that could the trigger for any of the negative consequences. And I admit the beenies of contact could be tremendous, but the risk factor is just too great for me to want and roll the dice ;>

it was a great contest!

That would be cool if you can find it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71