Truth or Dare Challenge by @blog-fictions - Some truths from Fiftysixnorth

in #alicedaretruth6 years ago (edited)


FullSizeRender_crop copy.jpg

I was nominated by fellow alliance member and witness extraordinaire @c0ff33a to take part in a truth or dare challenge created by @blog-fictions who started it in this original post dare or truth challenge.

I have chosen truth, so here are my answers:

When was the last time you cried and why?

That’s easy. Several years ago my Uncle passed away from skin cancer. He was well loved by all. An amazing and funny man. I cried for days. I had never cried at the passing of a relative before.. but his hit me like a freight train.

If you could hire someone to do one thing for you what would it be?

This is a really tough question, I had so many things I could have someone do for me! Where do I start, why do I choose?! I need a new boiler installed, I need to replace the shower in the bathroom and the kitchen tap, I need to repaint the whole house and do a proper clear out .. but all that stuff is boring .. tell you what, if I could hire someone to do one thing for me it would be to go to work for me! Then I could stay home all day everyday and work on steemit!

What is the one thing you are most afraid of and why?

Failure. I am scared of failure, not trying something and doing it wrong or setting up a business and not having it succeed or anything like that, but more, being seen as a failure in life by my family, or letting down the ones I love. Oh and spiders.. they’re creepy as hell and whenever I see them I think of the scene in arachnaphobia where the old guy puts on his bedroom slippers and a spider bites his toe killing him. Brrrrr!

Power to fly or Power to be invisible? Why?

I’d rather have the power to fly .. I could throw away my bus pass and never use public transport again. The transit system in my town is second to none, but it’s still a who’s who of nut-jobs and psychos. One time someone took a shit on one of the seats and although the driver wiped it up with a newspaper (poor guy!) there was still streaks of shit on the seat, which someone then sat on! I ALWAYS look at the seat before I sit now! Another time some weird tried to sell me a playstation 1 (when the playstation 3 was already out) and got mad when I said I wasn’t interested.. like stabbing mad. Luckily my stop had come up. So yeah, flying would be pretty sweet by comparison, even in bad weather.

And before you ask, I’d never ride a bike here.. UK drivers just don’t know how to behave around cyclists and treat them with contempt.. no thanks. I value my safety.

If you only had a minute to get out of your house what would you grab and why?

​Luckily there is a lot I could grab in a minute. I would grab my passport, wallet, phone, laptop and my camera. These are my most important material possessions. My life is on that laptop and losing that would be a nightmare.

If you are stuck on an island with someone from steemit who would that person be and why?

That’s a tough question, I guess it would depend on the Island. Is it a civilised and populated island with modern conveniences, or is this a wild island where everyday is a fight for survival? I’m not sure who among my friends on steemit has the necessary survival skills, but I think I’d probably want to have @bescouted with me. He’s a highly capable dude who probably wouldn’t shy away from taking on a gator in hand-to-hand combat to secure a meal.

The most smartest person on steemit according to you is?

​My inner grammar nazi is positively screaming at this sentence. I try to keep him well hidden as my grammar isn’t perfect either (and I don’t want to be a hypocrite).. but sometimes its difficult. The sentence should be “The smartest person on steemit according to you is?”. Yes, I'm a pedantic jerk sometimes. It comes from working in a University where every written thing is scrutinised and word choice in a sentence is debated endlessly … So who is the smartest? I don’t know, but I think @eveuncovered is up there.. I derive endless enjoyment from reading her replies to comments on her posts, she has a rapier wit and she doesn’t hesitate to unleash it. Her wit is sharp.. how sharp you ask? Allow me to quote red dwarf "it's sharper than a page of Oscar Wilde witticisms that have been rolled up into a point, sprinkled with lemon juice and jabbed into someone's eye.”

The most funniest person on steemit according to you is?

​The funniest person on steemit for me has got to be @meesterboom. He posts a lot of short stories of what happens in his day to day life, and its written so well and in a typically Scottish humour. I find his blogs hilarious and entertaining. The man is a legend. Never actually chatted to him or anything, but I love his writings.

Reveal the one thing that you always wanted to say to someone from steemit.

​If I had something to say to someone I would have already.. well, that’s not true, I have a lot of political opinions, and I have at times been tempted to share them or to respond to someone’s post when I disagreed with their position but that is not why I joined steemit. I don’t want to discuss those kinds of things here. Its that kind of thing that ruined facebook for me. So I steer clear of that. Its all politics now on facebook, I came to steemit to share my photography and to make friends.

Your crush on steemit would be?

I don’t have a steemit crush. There are many steemians I admire for their content, drive and success on the platform as well as their wonderful personalities, but I don’t have a steemit crush.

What is the first thing that comes to your mind about me?

I am going to assume the ‘me’ in this question is the person that nominated me for this challenge, and that is @c0ff33a, and the first thing naturally that comes to mind about him is coffee roasting and posting comments with a picture of himself 😃 its a good strategy, it makes his comments stand out and you remember him.

So those are my answers to the truth challenge.. thanks for your patience in reading this far.. as a reward I will share with you the greatest scene in British television history.. enjoy:

I nominate @hangin and @artemisnorth to try this challenge!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

I like these challenges because I feel like we can all get to know each other better.

I enjoyed reading your post as I find your answers personal and interesting, which I like.

Also, I just checked out @meesterboom and one of his latest post cracked me up, I don't know how I haven't found out about him earlier. Need to check out more!

You guys have to thank me as well haha :)

Lol that's right! You started it all. Thank you! :0D

Haha..and I need to check your posts now..i need some humour in life :)

Lol, will they amuse me! Hehe :0D

Don't know about that...but they might amuse me :)

Thanks! I'm glad I was able to introduce you to @meesterboom's literary and comedic genius :) He has a way with words!

OMGI feel like an asshole that I didn't see this before, you are so sweet, thank you! 😊 ☺️ You called me both smart, and scary, what more can a girl want!?

lol! don't worry, I didn't think you would see it with all your travelling this past week :)

Thanks for sharing this with us @fiftysixnorth. Good stuff.

Btw @fiftysixnorth, just letting you know because of your Content Excellence you've secured a spot on
randrew manuel curation trail.gif
Your Consistency in providing high quality Material is so much appreciated by the Steemit Community that we feel it should be rewarded Consistently :)

Thanks @robertandrew I really appreciate that :)

Thank you very much for the mention! A fellow UK'r! Dare I say, what with the name and all a Scottish?

Lol, of course. I actually looked at the location on your blog. The burgh! I am glad there is at least one other Scot on here, the others that were on fell away mostly lately.

My pleasure! Your are quite right, I am based in Edinburgh. Not a native scot but I settled here almost 20 years ago.
I met a few Edinburgh steemians on here a while back but not surprised they fell away, lots of people have left the platform or gave up when the price of steem dropped. It's unfortunate, it would have been nice if there was a larger steemit community in Scotland.

It would definitely be a nice thing. They are always having meetups down south that I get quite jealous of!

Is there a "team scotland" group or anything like that.. I know there's a 'teamGB' but its just not the same ;)

Lol, I don't think so. There has never been enough of them!

That's too bad, hopefully we'll see more in the future.

Next bull run for sure, it was mental the last time!

that it was, can't wait for it!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hello, how interesting,
I am also afraid of spiders, it is superior to me.
I'm happy to meet you a little better.
I do not ride a bicycle, here it respects me a lot, but I feel an attraction for cars when I'm on it.
Happy day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78