Yes, I am a Christian, and I Drink

in #alcohol6 years ago

People are often curious to know how I can profess to be a Christian and partake of the bottle.

“Isn’t that forbidden in your circles?” they ask.

After I chuckle for a second, I share my story of starting to drink after I attended a Bible College.

Yes, you read that right, I did not drink before I went on to become a “professional Christian.”

The irony is not lost on me and the story encourages mutual laughter as we engage in the conversation.

If my friends have some knowledge of the Scriptures, I ask them a simple question, “what verse prohibits a believer to drink?”

They may be quick to give an answer such as Ephesians 5:18:

“And do not get drunk with wine, for that is dissipation, but be filled with the Spirit,”

After they finish sharing this command with me, I ask again, “what verse prohibits a believer from drinking?”

Depending on the background of the individual I am with, the conversation goes into a fruitful discussion or an agree to disagree scenario.

Some folks are raised from day one that a Christian is not supposed to drink and that is that. I can sympathize with those sentiments as I heard a similar narrative in my hometown.

Folks in my area were very conservative with an Amish, Mennonite, or Baptist influence in their lives.

Drinking and smoking were viewed as practices you just didn’t do. They were sinful and only lead to harmful activities.

Even today, many in my family choose not to drink and sometimes question why I do so.

As my grandfather wisely stated to those people that question me, there is no verse that says you shall not drink.

I am grateful that I have wise men like my grandfather who weigh decisions like this with me.

All Things in Moderation

Now, to clarify, I am not the party type. Most nights I am content to enjoy a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon at home with my wife. I will go out to drink socially from time to time but the cost of such things weighs on my investment first priorities.

Even when I do engage in some wine, vodka or a tasty beer, the consumption is never to the point that I am drunk.

The Scriptures are quite clear that being drunk is not helpful and can be harmful to people. I was drunk once in my life and it is an experience I never want to have again.

I am also not one to drink hard liquors or beer very often. My first choice is always wine as I see more health benefits from drinking fermented grapes than grains.

In this case, the Bible does have something to say and even gives support for drinking a glass of wine:

“No longer drink water exclusively, but use a little wine for the sake of your stomach and your frequent ailments.”
‭‭1 Timothy‬ ‭5:23‬ ‭

People are amused and even surprised when they read a verse like this for it is usually glossed over by those that have made up their mind.

It is that point especially that I seek to leave with people I speak with. Adding rules to principles is never a good thing and does not influence critical thinking and logical conclusions.

So often I hear people calling Christians stuck up and snobby individuals - that greatly saddens me.

Believers ought to be categorized as those that love others no matter their beliefs and protect the ones that cannot protect themselves.

When it comes to drinking, I don’t tell people they have to start drinking or that they should abstain, because everyone is different. Thinking that we can label or box people up in ways that fit our milieu is a dangerous place to be.

There are great liberties to the Christian life that are not often talked about. Enjoying a drink with friends or family is one of them. However, as with most things in life, moderation is the key.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Well said. I enjoy a glass of wine at home from time to time. I'm so glad God gives us freedom to enjoy such things. Moderation in all things is key. It is human nature that likes to make rules and checklists.

I'm so glad God gives us freedom to enjoy such things.

Amen to that. Enjoying the fruits of the garden.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.32$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

The saying as I remember it was:
"I don't smoke, and I don't chew, and I don't go with the girls that do."
Nothing bout drinking LOL

Lol, you are quite right! :D

Loading...

it's funny, Deb and I were discussing this just this afternoon and I was telling her about the two cans of beer sitting in the fridge since my son visited from B.C. in the fall. It must have impressed her because she had wine with supper tonight ( I had my usual glass of milk)

We are under grace, not the Law, and the funny thing about it is when you're free your desires change. I am frightened by principled people, almost as much as unprincipled people. I'm sure if you invited Billy Graham to dinner when he was alive and served him wine, he'd have a drink.

the funny thing about it is when you're free your desires change.

Interesting point. I’ve watched many a friend choose healthier life paths after understanding grace.

Moderation, schmoderation. !!

Lol! If I didn’t know that was Jessica Chastain I might mistake it for you. ;)

I don't know who sh is, but John said you might think it was me. Maybe 10 years or so ago....but lol, I thot it was pretty funny.

There is definitely nothing wrong with a person of faith enjoying an occasional drink just like the rest of us! Moderation is definitely the key!

Always enjoy your posts, thanks for sharing!

Christians can drink but should not get drunk, they should be moderate in drinking @lydon.sipe

I agree, @preshey. Welcome to Steemit by the way!

as far as i know every christian i knew they drink hahah so what's the problem everyone has the choice :)

Some have different views on it, and you’re right, there is a choice. :)

Anything which makes the person unable to think sanely is forbidden in our religion. Excess of wine can also lead to such condition where person can not think and thus fall in its ecstasy.
Being a Muslim, i never had wine. But of course a lot of Muslims also drink and enjoy being part of that community.

We have similar thinking in that regard then. Thank you for sharing that.

@lydon.sipe Jesus drank. Jesus fished. Jesus got mad. Jesus was still a great good man. Moderation like you say is key.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45