Air-clinic/dangers of self medication/writing contest

in #airclinic7 years ago (edited)

IMG-20180121-WA0002.jpg
(Image source)(https://www.google.com.ng/search?biw=1366&bih=613&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=WJJlWuLPAqzbgAag8bioBA&q=self+medication&oq=self+medication&gs_l=psy-ab.1.0.0l10.1144933.1153700.0.1156576.19.19.0.0.0.0.790.3480.5-2j3.5.0....0...1c.1.64.psy-ab..14.5.3476...0i67k1.0.kJyge0jwht8#imgrc=8LyUz9jSLU-Q7M:)

Christy is in a state of despair
"How can I be this stupid. How do I get this guilt off my mind. I am a murderer "

So earlier this week. Ruth,Christy friend and roommate in the university of Benin was seriously sick.

Christy finally managed to get her to a lab for a test.
She was diagnosed with high fever and given some drugs to take.

Christy on the way to the chemist to find the prescribed drugs.

Road side Seller
Buy your medicine here. All kinds of ailments this drink will cure you sharp sharp.

Christy
Oga abeg you get medicine for high fever??

Road side Seller
Gbam I get.
Brings one from underneath his bag
"This one go flush the fever from the person body. Na just 500"

Christy paid and bought the drink to ruth.

Christy
Ruth come and take your meds .

Ruth(in a shaking and weak voice)
Where did you get this thing, it's smelling
I know this is not what we were told to buy at the lab. I am not taking this thing o.

Christy
The prescribed drugs were too expensive
So I bought the native one don't worry people take it all the time nothing will happen to you.

Ruth
I said NO

Christy
You know that this is examination period there is no money anywhere. Don't make me angry.
Both of us are broke. Just take this thing and get it over with. Stop forming.

An hour later Ruth is convulsing and vomiting blood.
With the help of the neighbours around
She was rushed to the health center.

Ruth was dead before they got there.

Tests results proved that she was poisoned.

Christy
I have killed my best friend. Why did I succumb to self medication, what do I tell people, I lost my friend because of my callousness.
Ruth am sorry.

Word count- 314

If you are not a member of Air clinic on discord
click https://discord.gg/rqded5m to join .

Sort:  

Is this an entry for a contest?

very good story. and I like the picture too. I am resteeming it for you. Also, you can make your posts cleaner by embedding the url into the words. You can learn how in the markdown section (scroll down to "links") click here. its easy and will make your post look even better than it already is. ;)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thanks for the information
Will love to join

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Thanks for the post, ur post is similar to our country ,Myanmar. Health seeking behavior of people from in our country is very dangerous. When they become sick firstly they go to roadside seller, not improve than they go to pharmacist even not having prescription. If not improve than they go to doctor.

That's true
Self medication is really bad

Self medication is really bad. People often result to it because of money challenge, recommendations and the likes. Nice entry.

Thanks for reading

proud of you dear...can see you doing great

Thank you dear

proud of you dear...can see you doing great

This post has been resteemed as part of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. If you need a hand with anything then you can find us at #newbieresteemday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.21
ETH 2472.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67