EDUCATING CHILDREN, Learning Through Play in Aerial Circus

in #aerialists6 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender (38).jpg

I LOVE TEACHING CHILDREN AERIAL CIRCUS!

Play is one of the main ways that children learn. It helps build self worth by giving a child a sense of his or her own abilities. They develop the ability to concentrate by becoming very absorbed in what they're doing. Play is what pulls together the logical and creative parts of the brain. When I teach Aerial Circus, I always teach through play.

FullSizeRender (39).jpg

Children are now spending less time playing physically and less time creating imaginary games. They are becoming socially isolated because of their leisure time on screens. I believe they are losing the ability to empathise, to communicate and read emotional language and signals. I think dramatic play is essential to a childs social and emotional developement. Children make sense of the world in which they live by acting it out. Physical play is obviously important. Jumping, dancing, climbing, rolling, pull ups, all foster muscle developement and fine tune motor skills. In Aerial Circus I help my students discover all of this. Plus they are playing outside, in nature.

FullSizeRender (49).jpg

I NEVER KNEW I WOULD BE A TEACHER

I thought I was going to be an actress and tour the world changing peoples lives with theatre and dance. I never knew that what would give me the most satisfaction was to, in some way, recreate for others for what I had learnt, myself, as a child. To pass on my knowledge to the next generation. To become a teacher.

As a child I took classes in Gymnastics, Theatre and Dance. They all taught me a lot in different ways and without a doubt informed the way I teach today.

The Gymnastics class was very traditional and taught me how to rock into splits and bend my back to breaking point. I enjoyed it, though , because I learnt a lot of self motivation. I enjoyed repeating an athletic task over and over until I mastered it. I found it very satisfactory. Gymnastics is about patience, dedication, perseverence and planning. It helps people work for objectives that can sometimes take years to achieve. In a world of quick fixes this is very important. I still use methods I learnt back then to acieve strength and flexibility on Aerial equipment. It didn't involve much playing, though and the rigidity of it as a sport was not appealing to me. I needed to play more.

My theatre classes were amazing and brought me out of my introverted shell. I was lucky enough to have teachers who were all interested in devised and physicalised theatre. I learnt many games and simple ways of physically devising and forming stories that I can transfer to any performance based art form. You might not realise you need theatre skills to create circus, but for me it is integral. Circus is performance. It is a SHOW. Even if you're more interested in circus skills than in circus/theatre hybrids, you still need to know how to engage your audience. Theatre is fundamentally about play. It is where I learnt the most about myself.

I learnt an enormous amount from my dance classes. I had the good fortune of going to a school where all the teachers had trained at a school in London, LABAN, where they taught a methodology based on Rudolph Laban. From the age of eight I learnt dance that drew from the relationship of anatomy, kinesiology and physcology. It was about body, effort, shape and space. I was taught authentic, natural movement at a time when my contemporaries in other schools were being taught how to stretch muscles and tendons to their absolute limit. I was taught how to create and devise and improvise and I never once practised doing the splits there!

I went on to study elsewhere as an adult, but what I learnt as a child stuck with me. Authentic, natural movement and choreography from my playful dance classes. Emotion, story and character from Theatre classes and hard work, repetition and the thrill of tricks from Gymnastics. All of these skills I use in teaching Aerial.

FullSizeRender (48).jpg

FullSizeRender (43).jpg

FullSizeRender (40).jpg

FullSizeRender (41).jpg

SO MY METHODS IN TEACHING COME DIRECTLY FROM MY LOVE OF PLAYING.

I encourage my students to explore the equipment and their bodies. We start off warming up on the trampolene and move on to dance based, rotational exercises. Then we play some games on the equipment before the hard work of climbing and strength conditioning begins. We do as much time inventing moves and devising one off performances as we do learning technical moves. My younger students, under seven often spend the entire session rolling around in the fabric of the silks. They learn to enjoy the feel of the equipment and the strength needed to move on it. They learn to stretch their limbs and point and flex. They learn to listen to the music playing and the rhythm needed to move. They play.

AND THEY LEARN SO MUCH.

I finish every session smiling, having watched their achievements taking place. They make me laugh so much. They teach me how to enjoy that simple state of play and creativity.

FullSizeRender (46).jpg

thankyou for reading. All images are my own.

Sort:  

This is great, I love how you really bring across the importance of play in learning. I know my two girls love what you do, I think I might have recognized an ear in there and a pair of legs xx great work @shivvi so glad my girls get to play and learn with you x

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Circus arts are frequently painful and if kids don't enjoy the process, they will never learn to love it

Ohhh is a beautiful experience.
Happy children, happy adults.
Thanks for sharing @shivvi.

This is so great - kids forget how to play and have fun and be healthy - keep up the great work and the sooner that parents realize there are much more to life than only knowledge from books, the better. Resteeming

Thanks so much. I think a lot of parents do realise this. Seeing your children being creative is such a big pleasure.

I am very intrigued by the aerial arts...it looks so beautiful and whimsical! The impact this must have on the imaginations of children...it really blows me away. And you are doing this outdoors! <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #10

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-10

Oh thankyou very much. That means a lot to me. Made my day!

so so incredibly awesome, what a cool path life has taken you to lead you to teach kids how to be air ninjas! I know when I was a kid I would have LOVED to learn something like that- I used to beg my parents to send me away to the circus lol

I love your story and what you’re doing on the platform! If you get more time to be around regularly I’d LOVE to invite you to join The New Alchemists: a group for multidisciplinary artists on steemit (with a focus on performance). It’s new and in it’s “baby phase” but I’d love to have you in from the ground up if you’re interested as another performance artist. You can find out more in our Discord room if you’re interested @TheNewAlchemists: https://discord.gg/N6YNtZN

Congratulations @shivvi! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shivvi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87