July ProgBlog #3: distractions aplenty

in #aer5 years ago

Sprat is up for a couple of weeks, so I've been a bit distracted.

On Friday when I was supposed to have been writing this, we played Minecraft for most of the day. I used to play survival mode with the kids, but these days I just mindlessly build things in random locations (usually with plenty of supplies inside) for Sprat and the kids to find (they're all in survival mode), and laugh at the hilarious sound effects that happen when they encounter the hostile mobs.

And at Sprat who while trying to go to some mine @pixietrix had found, pretty much ended up everywhere including where I was building (I thought I'd flown far enough that it would take them a while to find me) but where she wanted to be. Apparently she's amazing at finding everything except what she's looking for.

Afterwards I worked on the shadow layer, and even later in an attempt to avoid going to bed so late I did more boring data entry stuff. The good thing about doing this notes cleanup thing is that whenever I go through my notes I often find parts to flesh out and sometimes accidentally learn more things about various characters. During Friday's cleanup some (spoilery that I'm not going to tell you about) things were explained so I now understand more stuff that was going on in the current arc.

I don't remember what I did yesterday (aside from planning to clean the computer room and not doing it) but must have done more work than I thought as after going to a university open day with the family, doing some much needed filing and finally putting away the Pokemon cards that J had bought me before I asked him to buy me Splinterlands cards instead as I haven't had time to play Pokemon for a while but have been playing Splinterlands daily (less time and effort required unless I'm getting routinely annihilated which happens frequently but I can do other things while the game plays through after I've set up) and failing to clean the rest of the computer room again, I managed to finish the shadow layer.

We're all done with this one now.

Finally!

And here's a shot of the underside which probably won't get seen a lot (or may do as I'm not sure of all of my shots yet):

Phoenix, scars, and normal map+detail painting to go. I'd love to say hopefully those things will collectively take as long as the dragon tattoo, but we'll just have to see given my detail obsession.

This post also appears on my blog.

First creativecoin post I don't know if it belongs please don't kill me too much

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | steemartists

sig

-={ commission info | ko-fi | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

That's a really nice and colourful dragon, fyn <3 I really like how the shadows and lighting are caught by the curves of the limbs and then also against the particular coloured section of the dragon :D So cool ! That golden part is specially awesome * ___ *

I can't remember what I did either over the weekend. Mostly arting, and sleeping, and then I did get some vitamin D on Sunday afternoon as I brought the doggos to the park :D :D :D Other than that, it's all a blur to me too XD

The yellow, orange, blue and purple came up so nicely under the uniform lighting (which is really bright by default) XD Thanks ^_^

I'm so glad it's done aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Sprat and I are still somewhat divided on the shadow layer, it's staying coz I think it needs to be there and she still prefers the version without XD

What you do remember of your weeked sounds like a nice way to spend a weekend :D

And clearly we need to do less and sleep more if we can't remember what we've done XD

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47