A Little Advice From a Little Fish to a Little Fish Part 4

in #advice6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!! It's been about 6 months since I started blogging and I've learned a lot!! Truth be told I'm still learning, but aren't we all? I'm grateful for the 620 followers I've gained over time. 🤗 I'm grateful that I'm currently awaiting the payout of my most successful post to date!! 😃 I'm grateful for #thealliance giving me the chance to be part of their family!! 🙏 Yet, in spite of my successes thus far, I'm still a little fish. Therefore, in this article not only will I recap some of what I've shared in previous articles, and add some more pointers, but most importantly, I want to ask you, the reader: What advice would you give a new Steemian? What advice would you give me? Someone who is still a bottom feeder after 6 months of blogging. Don't pull any punches and be honest!!

DQmdEjVfkRa1P5X2yiGHk4HhM8saikVfCXAZGFWXCubhmwt_640x480.jpeg

These are the suggestions I made so far, with a few new ones mixed in!

On following: Don't follow everyone who follows you, and don't just follow a bunch of random people in the hopes of getting followers in return. Your newsfeed will be crap! Go through the list of people you're following periodically and clean it up. (Note to self.)

On resteem services: I use them sometimes. The ones I've found the most success with are @minnowpond and @steemvote. By success, I don't mean you'll get your money back in upvotes, but using these services can help your account in the way of more followers and more interaction.

On Steemit ettiquette: Steemit ettiquette is beautiful, and it may be a bit of a dance to learn it. I'm still working on it.😂 Three things that are big no-nos: begging for upvotes, begging for followers, and leaving short meaningless comments like, "nice post!"

Don't be too negative. Steemit community has a rare glow that doesn't come with other social media sites. When commenting, users are for the most part supportive, positive, and uplifting. Only rarely do you see negativity or insults. Our reputation scales and risk of flagging or downvoting keep us in check. Looking at our overall culture here, it's as if most of us follow the adage "if you can't say something nice don't say anything at all."

Take care of your followers, and the people you are following. This is a tough one as you experience growth, because you can't be everywhere at once (I shy away from autovoting, but I understand why people do it). One great tool I found to help is Ginabot!! You can enter in your favorite authors and be notified when they post!! Learn more about her here!! https://steemit.com/ginabot/@snowpea/ginabot-is-on-fire

On editing: You could lose upvotes simply because you didn't edit your post. Use spellcheck, check autocorrect to make sure it's not messing you up (as it does with me, always getting it's and its confused). If you want to improve, you could always submit your post to Isle of Write or The Writer's Block on discord. Your writing will need to be in the form of a Google doc. Make sure you read their directions. Here are the links! Isle of Write https://discord.gg/DFp4bEV and The Writer's Block https://discord.gg/VAKhTwV I for one am too impatient to wait for feedback, but this may help you, especially if you struggle with English. :)

Something else on my mind:
There are some great causes to support here!!

Consider supporting @familyprotection, they are helping families and working hard, getting the word out about CPS's reckless abuse of power, as well as giving voice to their many victims. If you have your own story to tell, make sure you use the familyprotection tag, so they can find you.

Consider supporting @youarehope. They are on the field, working hard and helping people in need. For instance they are currently supporting an effort in Nigeria, providing malaria meds, mosquito nets, sandbags, ect. Here's an article on their current fundraiser: https://steemit.com/thealliance/@thealliance/you-are-h-o-p-e-valentine-s-fundraiser-3

So, what advice would you give a new Steemian? I'm looking forward to your comments!!
DQmXJCprKrptVnrEb6uxfG5mZDdip9Qv5bUoD4jKwSqyn3p_640x480.jpeg

Love, snowpea ❤

Sort:  

Advice: Write about things you like or are passionate about or you won't last long. This is true for all forms of content creation, writing, music, photography, video or what have you.

You're so right!! Thank you for your addition! :)

Yep you have share some sage advice.

This line of yours,

''Don't be too negative.''

Is something I really need to take notice of. Specifically I need to stop calling out some of the bullshit that goes on here. I get flagged for it way too often. I am expecting at least one more flag for the day and it pisses me off but i don't seem to be able to let it go when someone is deliberately misleading people.

Now you got me curious as to what the controversy is all about. 😂

Thanks for the nice write up @snowpea. I've been here 3 months so far and it's been quite an experience. I've been used to blogging, so it's not been a problem in that regard, but it takes a while to get the hang of things here and follow the right people. I also want to make meaningful connections. Hopefully I can follow in your path :) Keep up the good work

Thank you for your response!! I does take a while to get the hang of it all, but I just looked at your blog, and I think you're off to a great start!! STEEM ON @oen!! :)

Thanks so much :) I will try my best

Yeah I too agree.
earlier when I was new, I followed everyone who followed me, later my newsfeed was so disgusting , full of useless posts.
i then started unfollowing the authors who dont post quality articles

Good tips
good luck

That really is great advice! I think you've learned alot in your six months here and you also have alot to teach others :)

Thanks! :)

a useful science ... and one of them I ... who is not very expert in comment with English .... which makes me have to translate it first ... thanks for the instructions ... !!!

I hope this helps! Thank for commenting!! :)

thanks also for the response .... 😊😊

Thank you for sharing this with us, I enjoyed reading it 💚

Thank you!! I really appreciate it! :)

That is a great post and good advices. And of course my favorite part @youarehope does so much for others and changes peoples lives that are in need 😊 and I'm glad to have you here in our family sweetie. Great job.

Thank you!! :)

This is filled with great advice!!! the begging one most off all..and dropping links into my comments really gets my goat!!

and always remember that slow and steady wins the race hugs

That is really annoying! Only valid if it has something directly to do with the post. 😊Thank you for your comment!! ❤

You've compiled some great advice! I like how you referenced places to go for proofreading.

So, I just checked out your page and noticed you're feom Wisconisn! We are hoping to move close to Lake Superior this spring...if it's not too much, may I ask which part you're from?

Oooh, you're in for some cold winters!!! I'm from central Wisconsin.

Haha yup! We want to try something we've never done before...well, we've lived in Wisconsin but it was in south. We're excited! Do you know anything about that area?

When I visited, it was a very serene place to be. If you don't mind the chill of winter, you'lllove it!

Serene sounds nice! Cold doesn't really bother us...heat on the other hand...haha

Are you still planning on living a homesteading inspired life up there?

Yes, we want to continue being/learning ways to be self-sustaining and staying debt-free. We're not sure on the details, but we're excited to learn what it will take!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51