THE STATE OF THE PAPA: WHAT CAN I DO? - I Need Your Help!

in #advice7 years ago

The purpose of this post is two-fold, to both share some of my issues with you and to seek some advice.


First off, I have never personally had any sort of traditional internet. I’ve got about 3 GB of data to use on my phone and 4 GB to use on a tablet, but the rest of internet access is basically free wifi at restaurants, which is not always convenient. The nearest town being about half an hour away doesn’t help…

It is now the 10th of the month, and I am about out of data…

When my limited internet access is coupled with my large number of followers, things get a little trickier. Over 1100 steemians are currently following the @papa-pepper account, and I try to follow back 100%. Once you add in some others that I am also following, this put me at over 1200 users that I personally follow.

If you have noticed, I also try to respond to all the replies that I get, so this can be a time-consuming task as well. Please note that I am not complaining in any way here, I’m just sharing my situation so that I can get some feedback.

When all these factors are combined, this means that the chances that I will see your post are getting slimmer. Thankfully, my 1 cent upvote may not always be missed… but I still miss you!

Basically, it has gotten to the point that I need to get some sort of unlimited plan for data. Ideally, I would also need whatever device I have that data on to be able to tether with my lap-top.

Obviously, making my posts and responding to replies will always take a good amount of time, which is completely fine by me. However, to spend more time interacting with all of you will require more data.

WHAT ARE YOUR SUGGESTIONS?

What are some of my best options for getting unlimited internet access in the area just south of Branson, MO? Who has a good plan for a great price? Is it best to get a new phone plan and just tether that, or should I look into mifi or something?

Also, I realized how bad my “checking out the posts of others” problem was when it took me two weeks to see this video from @dailybitcoinnews.

Upvote his post linked here if you like this video


It’s far too easy for me to miss things in my general feed, and there is no “favorite users” option yet to keep a closer eye on those steemians that I enjoy most. It is not uncommon for me to come to my feed and find hundreds of new posts. This is why I miss so many posts that mention me or are related to projects that I have been working on.

Therefore, I am giving all users to paste links in replies to my posts if they are somehow related to something that I’ve been up to or posts that mention me. I don’t want to miss these types of posts and want to support what you are up to anyways, but the fact is that I do miss them as it is right now.

Thanks for your time and help!


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

You seem to be such a steem-busy person :) You should come to France and you will then not get such trouble at all. For instance, I pay 20 EUR for 50GB data per month + free phone calls in many many countries...

[OK, my reply was only written with the intention of making you jealous ^^]

France it is then!

I was thinking the same thing :o

Free wifi from McDonalds and hotels comes in handy too.

I don't know how you find the time, I really don't. I don't think you sleep, you've given up sleeping, that's it isn't it?!

Great post @papa-pepper
This is giving you an opportunity to knock on door to see if you can find some high speed internet which can solve one of your problem and secondly you can make that person educate to join steemit and you can start your tutorials how to get new accounts. One more way to educate and promote our platform.

Excellent idea - I should mention why I need more data to the person I get it from!

Great thinking!

Wow, how do you do it? Do you sleep?

A little, but I've been staying up later reading a novel called "WILL" lately...

Awesome! I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Cheers!

I've been enjoying it so far!

I have a potential solution IF some conditions apply to you:

  1. If you have T-Mobile coverage where you live, and not just AT&T roaming partner coverage.
  2. If you have (or are willing to buy) a device compatible with T-Mobile's network
  3. If you are not under a contract now
  4. If you do not use your phone to make many voice calls

Then there is a $30/month prepaid plan with unlimited text and data + 100 minutes available on the T-mobile website if you dig to find it: https://prepaid-phones.t-mobile.com/other-prepaid-plans

I have this phone, and except for its internal storage for apps, I'm happy with it. I added a memory card and moved by apps to it along with my media files and it's sufficient. https://prepaid-phones.t-mobile.com/prepaid-phone/samsung-galaxy-on5-prepaid

But this plan requires some effort to set up and may not be a god fit for you.

If I can tether with a T Mobile device I might have my winner!!! Thanks so much!

Prepaid service may block tethering by default. I should try to test that tomorrow and let you know whether it's an option.

@papa-pepper wow - really ? just with that low net ?
that's dedication.
you missed my posts hmp!
hahaha kidding
unfortunately, can't give you an advice - know nothing bawt d US net stuff
but I take my hat off you for being so despite your net situation

Thanks you so much!

When I lived out in the middle of nowhere, I had satellite internet.
It was data limited service, but it was always on.

Some of the best data plans I have seen is the AT&T prepaid plans. Basically, it was $50 for all you could use.

Does one of your neighbors have internet and wifi? If you can see them, you can make a directional wifi antenna.

The real solution is coming. Follow the direction my current posts are going in... it will probably be about post 100. Sorry everyone, I have no self-esteem and I want to write in areas that make the discussion of flat earth seem trivial.

I think a prepaid plan may be the way to go!

Alas, I have no advice but I wish to convey my awe and admiration that you are able to be such a prolific Steemian with your data limitations. I would have never guessed! Great job, Papa!

I wish to convey my awe and admiration that you are able to be such a prolific Steemian with your data limitations.

I agree 100%

Now looking at all images used in his posts as well and how much megabytes that must've cost. :D

I wish the whole world had unlimited internet.

Thanks for the compliment.. I just checked steemwhale.com, I now have the 19th highest rep in all of steemit... prolific indeed!

Maybe try a hotspot? I plan on using my Karma Go when I'm cruising around in my camper. Maybe you could set up a blog where you raise the $$ to buy one, and try it out? It's a pay as you go device and it works like a charm. https://yourkarma.com/how-it-works

Thanks for the advice... also, I had "BIGFOOT STEEMIT" in my head all day... your version!

Here's the mp3 version if anyone wants to download it. It's 4.90mb :)

http://dreamlab.media/music/Bigfoot%20Steemit.mp3

It wouldn't of happened if you didn't have your contests, man. Steem on!

Hey Papa,

After doing a quick search, it looks like Suddenlink provides a high bandwidth internet. No idea on their pricing scheme. But it looks like they might be in your area.

http://www.suddenlink.com/

Great advice! Also do you by chance have a steemit chat? you don't really post that much

Hey man! I'm rob on steemit.chat. Been busy working / moving.

ahhh ok, but I only see a robbiesteel and robert, either of those you? Totally understandable!

Thanks @robrigo, I will look into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64