Newbie Questions (Part 1) + I need your advice...about Steemit

in #advice6 years ago (edited)

Hey, I'm back :) I was going to post this last night but I figured I'd see if responses differ if I post early evening. So I've been stalking the community a bit and reading everything about everything. Still, I have some questions that I need a broader opinion on. So here goes...

🔶 1 🔶
What are the easiest and fastest ways to buy and sell Steem/SBD/SP? As I posted in my introduction, my actual experience with alt-coins (while lucky) is limited. I originally started with desktop wallets. Later, I moved my BTC to Coinbase. Then I forgot about it until years later. That's about it. A lot has changed as I mentioned. I still have some LTC and USD in my Coinbase wallet. So am I correct in thinking to turn it into BTC then buy Steem on the Marketplace? Are there other ways you do this faster (Coinbase is talking about 2 weeks to make all the buys.) I'm gathering by now (2018) there are other options available.

🔶 2 🔶
What tools and websites do you use most in conjunction with Steemit? I've been using the Busy.org [afflink] beta for markup and for the interface. It seems to do the trick. But where do you store your graphics? Are there other tools you use to make awesome posts? I'm honestly a bit jealous of how really incredible some of your posts are with cool signatures and layouts. How can I be down? ;)

🔶 3 🔶
What groups and methods are best to meet other Steemians? Do you use discord? Any groups on FB or other social networks? Do you use the chat site? Are there special ways of optimizing posts or the profile to be found by similar folks? How do you find others overall? How do you help others find you? Has anyone successfully created or attended a public meetup? How do you build your following on Steemit?

🔶 4 🔶
How do you personally promote your Steemit posts? I was thinking of joining the MINNOW SUPPORT GROUP but I noticed that it requires a steem transfer. I don't have any yet ☹️ so I can't join. Does anyone repost on the Reddit or on their social networks? What about the ChatBB forums? How do you get the word out about your posts?

🔶 5 🔶
What are the best ways to earn- especially as a minnow? Per #4^, I would like to join some of these groups and stuff but they have various requirements: most requiring Steem to verify or something. Are there other ways to EARN Steem besides posting content? How long does it take for content to pay out that you've posted?

🔶 6 🔶
Do you use anything in particular to save posts? Browser bookmarks won't work for me since I use different devices. I've been using 'resteems' to keep track of some posts I want to reference back to as there is no 'save' feature. I was told this is a bad idea.

That's all for now. I greatly appreciate anyone willing to answer any of my questions. xoxo

Other Post
Sort:  

I like the cut of your jib young lady. I'm only posting this to let you know I've up voted and followed though. I know and care little about the intricacies of Steemit. I just come on here to ramble on about shit I find amusing rather than to make money. Good luck to you though :)

Thank you so much for visiting @spunkpuppet - I followed you as well. I hear you are a snuggler of cabbages. I look forward to your blogs :)

Ill add you to the Steemit groups I am in on FB.

meh...only one has approved my join request thus far. added you there.

Thank you. I asked to join a few but no responses yet.

Feel sort of like a cat chewing on a grasshopper here...I think I like SteemIt but I can't quite figure out how to chew the fucker up and swallow it down.

I think the easiest way for you to get some steem would be to move your ltc from your coinbase wallet to your wallet here...click on your steem wallet, click buy steem, generate address, use generated address to move over ltc from coinbase to SteemIt by way of Blocktrades.

i like simple. my layouts are simple...basic html tagging, css tagging or markdown...nothing fancy for me, just clean :0

for images, i've been using pixabay and freeimages. Check this out:
https://steemit.com/steem-help/@mindover/don-t-plagiarize-images-here-are-13-free-and-legal-ways-to-find-high-quality-photos-you-can-use-on-steemit

I learned a little about Curie and dug into some of the curators that had voted for my posts in the past...jury is out on whether or not it will produce future results.

back to chewing on some grasshoppers, hope this was helpful

Thank you @danielshortell - very helpful, especially for the image links. I wasn't sure if I want to use my own photos every single time I post, so that's a big tip. Much appreciated. Trying to look to see what Curie is.

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BRIX BOSTON from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58