It's A Good Thing I Like Lemonade!

in #adversity6 years ago (edited)

My first post and it's going to be a personal one!

What do you do when life throws you lemons? The obvious answer is...make lemonade, right? Sometimes, it's not that easy is it? Sometimes when life throws you lemons, they are thrown so hard they hurt!

For me, 2017 threw a lot of lemons. A lot! I made it through, but I still have some bruises.

You see, my husband and I have been trying for almost two years now to have our second child. We succeeded in April of 2017 only to find out very early on that it was an ectopic pregnancy. Luckily, it was caught early and I was able to survive and keep my tube. However, the process of it all was simply one of the hardest things I've ever experienced. Except I didn't mourn immediately. I had the surgery, my scars healed and off I went with my life. About 2 months later, I was at the point where I didn't even want to get out of bed. To say I was heartbroken is an understatement. I realized that if I didn't take the time to get myself together, I was headed down a dark spiral I had no intention of entering again. I knew I had no choice but to fix it. And soon.

So, I embraced the pain. I cried and I cried. Just when I thought I couldn't cry anymore...I cried again. The pain was real and it was raw and ignoring it was getting me absolutely nowhere. I did something that I so rarely do - I looked my pain right in the face and didn't stop until it was gone.

I took "me" time. I allowed myself the time to simply be sad. What I went through sucked. No, it wasn't the worst situation someone can deal with. After all, I'm alive. I have a beautiful family. A loving husband and a solid job. But what I went through was awful. And pretending it wasn't and not taking the time to accept it, would have been unfair. I was mourning a loss and when someone goes through that, they need time.

But not too much time...

00000110.png

So I got back up. I'll admit, I wasn't sure if I was ready to get back up. But there came a point when I realized that my life was more than just my problems. It was simply something that happened to me and it was time now to move forward.

It wasn't easy but I had to figure out what I was grateful for right now and focus on that.

I drank the lemonade. I drank more lemonade then I ever want to drink again. Although I suspect that I'll be served another round at some point in my life...I'll be sure to bring a bigger glass with me next time!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this homie. I appreciate you and the journey you are on. If you need anything, drop me a line. Rants too are always welcome :)

Thanks Jon. Your chats during all of this was truly appreciated.

Great to see you back Jangle. Sorry to hear about your rough road you have been on. Welcome to steem I think you will have some fun here.

Thank you, Eric. I really do appreciate your comment. I am glad to be back.

Wow Jangle. That was some tough writing there.

I can't even begin to tell you how good it is to have you back. I mean really.

Thanks for sharing your life with us.

Thanks Tom. I'm glad to be back :)

Wow Janelle, You really opened up in a deeply personal way. You will help more people than you know wo may also have experienced a loss and didn't take the time to mourn. Thank you so much for being so honest and open. Sometimes taking the time to put it into words helps and I hope you don't have to drink Lemonade again for a very long time.

Thank you, Carla. That means a lot to me.

Nice to see an open heart Janelle. That which doesn't kill us only makes us stronger, that true or no? Laterz

Thanks Marcus. I think it's true to an extent - it makes us stronger if we choose to allow it to. :)

Congratulations @jangle, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @jangle! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45