Travel Journal : The Casbah Of Algiers.

in #adventure6 years ago

Woke up today to a sunny and beautiful day, so me and @benanis planned to go to the Casbah also known as the real Algiers.

Historical Context

The Casbah (Kasbah) means : Fortress. It's a mid-sized city built in Algiers, Algeria ( a city inside a city, inception.) during the 17th century. It was declared as World Cultural Heritage in 1992 by the UNESCO as "There are the remains of the citadel, old mosques and Ottoman-style palaces as well as the remains of a traditional urban structure associated with a deep-rooted sense of community."

Adventure Time

So I have been living here 24 years but never really had the time to explore it, but I decided to change that, since it's a historical place and one that marked Algeria forever because it's where the war between France and Algeria started.

There are many ways to enter the Casbah but we took the hardest road and kept climbing.

We started down from this beautiful mosque ( The Ketchaoua mosque )

PSX_20181024_180708.jpg

The details on it are amazing, from the drawings to the doors.

PSX_20181024_180817.jpg

PSX_20181024_181020.jpg

This mosque was built in 1436 and then was renovated during the reing of El Dey Hussein in 1794.

After a short stop to take some photos of the mosque, the stair climbing Adventure began! Wohooo!

PSX_20181024_181318.jpg

Again

PSX_20181024_181122.jpg

And again

PSX_20181024_181727.jpg

But while walking around between these traditional old houses we discovered some really cool paintings...

PSX_20181024_181406.jpg

And this algerian style of creating a 3D painting this was actually made in the 17th century and thinking that 3D didn't exist at the time the artist made this had me blown away by his creativity!

PSX_20181024_181446.jpg

PSX_20181024_181615.jpg

PSX_20181024_181640.jpg

We also found some expressive street art like this cool one!

PSX_20181024_182232.jpg

And this one

PSX_20181024_182355.jpg

After climbing so high, we got tired and had to make a stop to get some water and enjoy the fresh air, that's where we discovered this beautiful amazing view on the Mediterranean Sea!

PSX_20181024_182657.jpg

We also found this natural source of water that @benanis enjoyed showering in! Haha joking we just washed our faces and refilled our water bottles.

PSX_20181024_182740.jpg

PSX_20181024_182818.jpg

At the mean time a small friend came to say hi to us!

PSX_20181024_182920.jpg

So after that small pitch stop we kept going and we arrived to an amazing palace called, The Place Of Khedouj El Amya when translated means The Palace Of The Blind Khedouj (Khedouj is a name of an Arabic woman)

PSX_20181024_183114.jpg

So we started wandering inside and discovering everything there was to discover from these ancient jars that were used to conserve and transport water back in the days...

PSX_20181024_183224.jpg

To the ancient powder guns and melee weapons the algerian warriors used in wars.

PSX_20181024_183435.jpg

PSX_20181024_183500.jpg

PSX_20181024_183412.jpg

Discovering this palace was so dreamy we went floor by floor, room by room savouring every taste and every vibe it had to offer! I loved everything in it, like the details in there, they were just crazy and advanced for the 17th century architects.

PSX_20181024_183324.jpg

The details on the door!

PSX_20181024_183344.jpg

Or the design of this small court

PSX_20181024_183620.jpg

PSX_20181024_183755.jpg

Which had its roof designed later by the French colony making it modern-ish.

PSX_20181024_183916.jpg

And also this room where an old war hero was born and raised.

PSX_20181024_183950.jpg

PSX_20181024_184025.jpg

Here's a little peak of what they used to wear back then:

Men

PSX_20181024_184112.jpg

Women

PSX_20181024_184052.jpg

And this is what a traditional algerian living room used to look like

PSX_20181024_184141.jpg

PSX_20181024_184206.jpg

The next photos I took show how they used to live and dress themselves.

NB: the photographers were not mentioned in the photos.

PSX_20181024_184243.jpg

PSX_20181024_184316.jpg

PSX_20181024_184338.jpg

PSX_20181024_184404.jpg

That is it for me, I hope you enjoyed exploring a small part of The Casbah with me, I'll be visiting the other sides very soon, it's a big place and impossible to visit in one day so stick around for the next chapters!

Here are some extra photos I took ;)

PSX_20181024_184618.jpg

PSX_20181024_181202.jpg

PSX_20181024_184533.jpg

@benanis discovering the secret door to becoming a whale lol.

Thank you for reading 🌺

coollogo_com-873847.png

Sort:  

i hope you didn't pee on everything. beni looks like the jolly green giant trying to get into the doors. i think your legs will be so tired tomorrow which is good because then you will have to squat to pee

There will be no peing today I'm too tired haha

Posted using Partiko Android

1436 !! that's 528 years of being built! Fantastic. The 3D designs of that old artist are incredible, a true pioneer for his time. The view towards the Mediterranean sea is really beautiful. It is interesting to know that the Algerians used different types of weapons, including a kind of rifle. Magnificent experience, thanks for sharing it with us.

Thank you for reading, I appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a beautiful post @raoufwilly, thanks for sharing! And congratulations on the well deserved Curie!! :-)

Thank you buddy, I'm glad you liked it!

Posted using Partiko Android

You had me at "adventure."

Wow, that's awesome that you got to see so much of a city that you knew, but still had more to offer. It does seem like you had to do a lot of walking and climbing. I'll bet your legs were tired after that. At least you didn't have to go to the gym the next day. Ha ha.

There is so much to see there! And such gorgeous views of the Mediterranean too. That's quite the day. I enjoyed getting to tag along.

Yes a lot of walking! I was exhausted I could barely took the subway back home haha but it was worth it lol. Thank you so much for your feedback!

Posted using Partiko Android

When I saw the mosque I had to laugh. You made me think of my first (ever) visit of a mosque in Morocco. I went on a business trip right after my school. I was young and lived in Czech Republic where there were not that many Muslims and at that time there was no mosque. So I thought I could just enter it like a catholic church. Oh, how wrong I was. I just put my shoe on the carpet and somebody came to me, gesticulating wildly and I understood I had nothing to do there :) I was so scared! Now it makes me smile but at that time it was not funny at all.

I love the decorations and art that you showed. That 3D painting is amazing! The palace looks very nice and there are so many things to see. I enjoyed the collection of the photos and those decorated rooms.

Very nice post! Thank you for sharing!

Haha yes no shoes in mosques, rule number 1 lol, I'm happy you liked my post, thank you for your feedback!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi raoufwilly,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Saturday/Early Sunday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

Hello, there's no problem at all, it would be an honor for me to be featured in a @curir post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi raoufwilly,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you ❤️

Hey! Thanks to @torico's resteem I came in contact with your beautiful post. So rich in cultural insight. I mean, I know so much about Algeria in one posts than I have in a while. LOL. It's actually a great idea to go out there and familiarize with your environment, and share those experiences with the rest of the world. Do it more often.

I particularly loved the embossed 3D arts on the wall, and getting to know they go back to many many centuries.

Cheers from Nigeria,
Akpan

Hey, thank you so much for stepping by, I am definitely going to do this more often!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is always great to get the adventures shoes on to explore the unknown places. Like you did @raouffwilly i was in doubt when started the adventures with mosque as casaba means fortress i was expecting a fortress adventure. But its good to get blessing in mosque with so beautifully crafted monuments and minarets to proceed with the fortress adventures.
Climbing those long stairs through the narrow lane have its unique experience. It shows it was built way long ago. Like 1436 was too old for an architecture. I was very curioys about the name fortress...something with the blind....i love to know about the blind queen i believe. Like everywhere this fortress too turned into a museaum to display all the old tradition and artefacts. Those old photographs wete amazing some of them showing the yrsteryear beauty. Great to watch.
It was a wonderful trip altogether...and thanks for sharing the old lost city of algeries....a good share and explore...steem on 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yes there was just so much to write about I didn't want it to be too long, so people enjoy it and get all the essential information they needed. Thank you for reading!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is an interesting dive into the ancient culture and life of Algeria. Very beautiful architecture. I like these narrow little streets that loop between old buildings, this old ornament that is present everywhere in the interior decoration. This fortress looks unique. You had a big and interesting walk. @raoufwilly, Thank you for sharing with us :)

Thank you for reading, I'm happy you liked my post! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60