ARE THE WATER MOCCASINS OUT YET?

in #adventure6 years ago

Last night, we took a late night adventure to check.


With things warming up, we were not sure if the Water Moccasins had made it out yet. It wasn't the warmest night, but we figured that it would be worth the peek. It's been a while since we saw a venomous snake in the wild, so we went looking! Here are some of the creatures that we encountered during our journey.

WHO'S OUT AT THE LAKE LATE AT NIGHT?

The first creature that we noticed last night in the water was some rather large tadpoles. Most likely, in my opinion, these may be from last year. Either way, I'm pretty sure that they are Bullfrog tadpoles.

Here is a photo from last night of Red Pepper with an actual Bullfrog. As you can tell, they frogs get rather large, and have even been witnessed eating snakes, birds, and baby turtles.

Based on the size of the tadpoles, I'm guessing that these will be turning into Bullfrogs one day. Well, if they don't get eaten first. Herons, large fish, snakes and turtles all will make these their dinner if they get the opportunity.

We also saw a few crayfish. We really like to check them out, since they are pretty much miniature freshwater lobsters. Also, they are part of the "clean up crew" and eat dead things in the water, like this one is doing.

If you can see the fish in this photo, you should know that there are a lot more where it came from. Plenty of suckers were in the stream leading to the creek.

Here is another photo where you can see many more of them. I may have to try to get some of those to eat soon, but so far I haven't tried. One of my aunts like to pickle them, and I've been waiting to try that. Anyway, as interesting and exciting as those creatures may have been, they were not exactly what we were looking for.

FINALLY, SOME SNAKES!

Since we were not seeing any snakes at all in the water, I began to look under some rocks. Sure enough, I had soon found a snake. This one happened to be a Northern Water Snake though.

While they are cool, and they certainly are snakes, they are definitely not Water Moccasins and they are also not venomous. While they may not have venom, they do like to bite, but I handled them in such a way that they did not even bite me.

I say "they" because I soon found another one, but this one was the same species. Personally, I like seeing these snakes around and find them very beautiful to behold. This is a common species that we also enjoyed back up in Wisconsin.

Again, we had found more snakes this year, but so far no venomous ones and we did not see any Water Moccasins. Soon I hope that they will be out, and I even plan on trying to go swimming with some one night. However, to try such a thing, I'll have to find them first.

So, what's your favorite species of snake? Are the venomous snakes out by you yet? Personally, I think that they are out already, I probably just didn't find any yet.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-some-other-snakes

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Nope, nuthin venomous around here. Well, cept for the odd black widow spider now and then. But those are few and far between up here with our awful winters. We do have skinks though! Not that they have any venom, but they do bite (softly) if ya try to mess with em much. We also have a few frogs up here in MN that take almost 3 years to mature from their tadpole stage.

Depending on what part of Minnesota you are in, there may be the Timber Rattlesnake or the Massasauga, both of which have rattles. We supposedly had them in Wisconsin, but I never managed to meet any no matter how hard I tried. Of course, they were both protected species, so I couldn't have picked them up, but still, a photo would have been nice.

I like the ring necked snakes.
But, i wish we had more squirrel eating critters around here.
I haven't seen either of the big rattlesnakes that live here lately.

I've never met a BIG rattlesnake in the wild yet.... just lots of the Pygmy Rattlesnakes. Perhaps this year. PS, I love them Ringneck Snakes too!

@papa-pepper is now the new NET GEO expert. Though the animals seem non poisonous but it takes the courage to hold these animals in hand that too late night.
That is the reason I chose the word expert in my first line. How can a man be so multitalented. Hope someday I may too do some adventures with animals like them.

NICE WORK AND I HOPE YOU HAVE A GREAT ADVENTURE TIME ON THAT...............

Hopefully next time it will be even more fun!

YEAH I HOPE SO ,...

This comment has received a 0.17 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @rayhankabirs.

@papa-pepper, actually I don't really like snakes , big ones I mean. But I think I can still go with Non-venomous snakes . I know they have teeth, just like the venomous variety. So even in the case of a bite from a non-venomous snake you should still take special care and watch for infections, as with any small injury and bite.

My advice : It’s best to leave all snakes alone, just like any other wildlife. I know they have their place in nature and would certainly prefer to leave us alone as well. Snakes are dangerous ☠️☠️☠️

Wow,very nice your post,the amazing,i like,good job my friend,@papa-pepper

I love snakes of all kinds I would have to say my favorite is the Rattle Snake! I have only ever seen 2 of them and was only able to catch one of them.

The king snake is my 2nd favorite but it also is my favorite non venomous snake as it is a lot of fun to play with, they also eat other snakes including the venomous ones. :D

What is your favorite snake?

wow really amazing post. great work. thanks for @papa-pepper

Woww, it looks so great. But that weird look that big head is, like a fish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56