Join me as I journey by yacht from Southern Chile to Cuba! - Part 1

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)



Hi everyone!
So, my dad and I introduced ourselves yesterday. Thank you for the warm welcome!
Today... It's just me.
This morning I felt inspired to tell you a little bit about my sailing trip from the gates of Patagonia to Cuba. My dad mentioned this trip yesterday.
I sailed with my uncle, his wife, and 2 babies.
The "Lark" was built by my grandfather about 25 years ago in New Zealand, for us grand-kids.



Adventure, here we come!


My uncle and I finally set sail on January 7th, 2016. Waving goodbye to our family on the docks in Pto Montt, while heading towards Antofagasta, Chile. It took us 12 days.
It's one of the roughest passages in all of South America. The Humboldt Current flows from Antarctica north along the coast of Chile, Peru, and as far as Ecuador. The prevailing wind comes from the North. This makes for the perfect recipe for rough seas, wind against current. No wonder I was very sea sick the first half of the trip.



Having the wind fill our sails felt great!



I questioned why I wanted to go on this long voyage anyway. “Why?”
Of course, that was my brain trying to trick me. Now, looking back, I realize my uncle was right when he said “Right now you feel like you'd give anything to get off this boat, to make it all go away. Later you will only remember the good.”



We cruised along at 5-7 knots.




The cockpit is small but cozy. If I wasn't asleep in my bunk, I was out here.



A lot of what I had to learn felt very familiar, having heard it my whole life.
Every night I'd have to keep watch for ships, any changes in the wind or weather, make sure we kept on course, adjust the sails if necessary, plot our position on the chart, and more.
Most of the time my watch would be 4 hrs long, sick or not.
When we arrived... it was great to stand on firm ground again!



The sunsets were beautiful... and as we traveled north, they got even better.

I hope you enjoyed this! If you have any questions, I'll be happy to answer them.

Till next time...



Previous post:
"Hi Steemians, thanks to the encouragement of our good friend @gringalicious, my daughter and I have decided to join Steemit working together as a father daughter team."

Sort:  

Wow, this is so amazing!

🌷Thank you @askaran! I'm so glad you liked it! There's more to come...

Girl you can fly a plane and sail a boat. In my book that makes you a WONDERWOMAN.

🌷Well, thank you @carebbear... I am a person enjoying life! I feel privileged to have grown up in such an adventures family!

You have lived a lot of people's dreams (mine included). I hope to someday travel like that.

Are you back in Chile now?

🌷Thanks @matthewdavid! If you have a dream, go for it! Yes, it's good to be back. :)

Beautiful travel post! Your story is amazing. I don't know if I'd have the courage to do what you did. Fantastic photography!! Keep these coming!!

🌷Thank you so much @gringalicious! That means a lot to me :)

While traveling from southern Chile to Cuba
Is so adventures and awesome
I like to travel with boat in sea
Thanks for sharing your experience while
Traveling from southern chile to Cuba.

Great post! I find myself questioning the "why" in the midst of a lot of difficult adventures as well. You're uncles response about only remembering the good is a great point. You just have to put your head down during the hard times and concentrate on the immediate steps in front of you, and not let the daunting task of the whole voyage overwhelm you. Have fun and enjoy your surroundings!

🌷Yep, exactly! If you start something, you should stick with it!
(Unless there's a really important reason why you should stop.)
I'm glad you liked it! Thanks @tateshep :)

Can't wait to see more! Wow. Heading to Cuba in a couple of days myself. Best of luck and safe sailing!

🌷Thanks @oddventures! Wow, that's awesome! You're gonna have a great time!
Here's my next post --> Part 2:
https://steemit.com/adventure/@nomads/join-me-as-i-journey-by-yacht-from-southern-chile-to-cuba-part-2-antofagasta
Enjoy! :)

this is my dream for some time to own and live on a sailboat. BEAUTIFUL photo's, thanks for the inspiration.

🌷 I'm so glad you liked it! Thank you @aaronmda! Wow, what a dream to work towards. Keep at it, and one day you'll get there!! My grandfather used to say "You can do anything you want to, you just need to want it enough."

What a wonderful travel. I love this post. can't wait your next post. ^__^

🌷Thank you renajuliana89! More is coming real soon!

This post has received a 2.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @noboxes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55