Inday Clara travels Solo #22: Why I had to see the Kuang Si Waterfalls!

in #adventure6 years ago

DSCF4233.JPG

Scrambled eggs and a toast of bread, I hurriedly finished the meal prepared by the friendly cook at the hostel I was staying. My backpack was filled with the necessary things needed for a short trip to one of the top destinations in Luang Prabang. Swimwear, towel, money and my camera, it was all that was needed. It was now past eight in the morning.

DSCF3689.JPG

The streets were calm. No cars or noisy jeepneys hustling along the roads. A different environment I wasn’t used to. I walked confidently towards the market hoping I could find fellow travelers who were going to the same destination as I was. Tuk-tuks were parked at an intersection. Drivers were offering a ride for a price that was too much. No fellow travelers passing that way. I now prayed for a miracle.

Out of the corner of my eye, I found a group of friends already climbing on to one of the tuk-tuks. As the vehicle started moving, I ran towards it and managed to ask these bunch of jolly people if they were also headed to the waterfalls. Luckily, they said yes. The driver allowed me to go with them for a much cheaper price. This was a far better option than going on my own. A lot of my pocket money was spared.

DSCF4012.JPG

Introductions were made. Stories were shared. Apparently, they were university students from the USA who were on a short trip while their classes haven’t started. Forty minutes to go before we would arrive at our destination. There was now silence. Mountains and farmlands surrounded the vicinity. The air was becoming cooler. The weather was perfect. My thoughts drifted to what an amazing adventure it was for the past days. It was a cloudy day when I decided to visit the famous Kuang Si Waterfalls.

DSCF4264.JPG

DSCF4014.JPG

DSCF4017.JPG

The vehicle parked at an open space under the shade of a big tree. Small stores were lined up selling clothes, swim wears and refreshments. A wide gate marked as the entrance to the waterfalls. The fee was 20,000 kip. It was a short trek going up and the scenery was beautiful. A wide trail guided us with huge trees and plants surrounding the place. Then we passed by a bear sanctuary. Small black bears peacefully sleeping on the platforms. The other bears were wide awake and playing with each other. These bears were rescued from poachers and now happily taken care of inside the park.

DSCF4019.JPG

DSCF4030.JPG

DSCF4054.JPG

DSCF4032.JPG

DSCF4049.JPG

The first sight of the pristine blue water meant that there was more to see if I follow its course above. Putting into mind what my roommate told me the other night to make sure to reach the top of the waterfalls, I decided to part ways with my new found friends and agreed to meet with them at the entrance after two hours. And so I followed my own path going up.

DSCF4064.JPG

DSCF4071.JPG

DSCF4044.JPG

DSCF4083.JPG

The place was serene and relaxing. The water was inviting as well. There were shrubs and roots in the middle of the pools. A couple was swimming and enjoying the cool water oblivious to some of the visitors taking shots of the scenery. I, on the other hand, continued my way up excited to see the top.

DSCF4094.JPG

DSCF4133.JPG

DSCF4115.JPG

Nature itself was such a warming touch to my soul. There was an overwhelming energy flowing everywhere. Every step of the way my anticipation grew even more. Other tourists or travelers would smile at me as I walked past them. I smiled back. Faces of other visitors showed wonder to this piece of beauty Mother Nature holds. As always, words would run out on how to describe such an amazing place.

DSCF4138.JPG

DSCF4165.JPG

DSCF4175.JPG

DSCF4180.JPG

Traveling alone would be such a scary experience for some. But scary is a word that I never thought about. In fact, I was so confident and determined to embark on this journey. I knew I would be doing this at one point in my life. I’m glad that I did. I would never get the chance to visit places like this. I learned a lot about myself and enjoyed my own solitude. I learned to be happy by myself, with myself.

DSCF4195.JPG

DSCF4216.JPG

DSCF4226.JPG

The wooden pathway leads to a breathtaking image of the Kuangsi Waterfalls. Tranquil yet powerful on its own. The water cascades against a series of rocks and passes among a few shrubs. Lush vegetation surrounds the place. An empty platform on the left provides a place to sit and enjoy the view and the bridge gives an access for visitors to see its full beauty. I approached a lady and politely ask to take a photo of me. She did without hesitation.

DSCF4242.JPG

DSCF4255.JPG

DSCF4245.JPG

The view deserved a couple more minutes of admiration. As every moment counts, a swim in its cool waters was inevitable. The trail back was quick and upon arriving at the pool where the couple was swimming, others have joined in the fun. This part was convenient since there was a changing room nearby and benches where you can set your things. I quickly changed and charged into the water. The water was cold and refreshing.

DSCF4240.JPG

By the time I was satisfied; I dried myself off and followed my way back to the entrance gate. By this time, the place was swarming with Chinese group tours. Many buses were lined up outside and Chinese tourists heading inside. Coming early to this place was a good plan. I met with my new friends and we bid our goodbye to the place.

Thanks for reading fellow Steemians! Stay tuned, Steem on and Always remember...
2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

Amazing clicks and being solo traveller I can see you are enjoying to the max ;) best wishes

Thank you so much @steem0!
I enjoyed my solo travels so much.
Great way to see wonderful places and meeting new friends!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=indayclara
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=inday-clara-travels-solo-22-why-i-had-to-see-the-kuang-si-waterfalls


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

inday clara.. ka nice.. murag naa ka sa jungle sa last na picture...amazing kau.. nice pa jd ang cascading waterfalls...

ug hayahay kau cla : university students from the USA who were on a short trip while their classes haven’t started.

Hi @junebride! True...
Murag forest jud toh na part didto.

And true about the students... hayahay kaayo sila og life... and almost anywhere ra sila ka adto tungod sa ilang visa.. while kita....

korek.. kalami sa ilang life.. perks sa taga first world country

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Traveling alone would be such a scary experience for some. But scary is a word that I never thought about.

Waaa I can always do solo travels but I have a hard time sleeping in a room by myself! Hadlok kog momo. Joking aside, I love solo travels or travelling with a group (as long as they allow me to be me) but I noticed that one's travel decisions and instincts heighten when one is solo travelling.

Yeah... kay if solo travel... like ikaw man whole responsibility kung unsay mahitabo nimo... ever since confident naman sad jd ko laag2x na ako ra.. murag single forever njud ko ani. 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40