Jen's Travelogue - Scenic New Zealand Part #2 - Big Lakes, Mount Cook, More Lakes and Glowworm!

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

In this sequel article of my journey tNorth and South New Zealand, I decided to share the great sightseeing stops that I made. Naturally, New Zealand has a lot of scenic points where you can just stop by and enjoy its view. We could not just pass this stops, it would take us forever! I also included some of my nature adventures during my visit. How I wish to have more time in New Zealand.

Maybe I will come back! finger crossed!


Mirror Lakes

My favorite one. While I was driving to Milford Sound, in South Island, I came across this stop called Mirror Lake. This Lake is located on the South Island of New Zealand. As you can observe at the picture it mirrored the Earl Mountains beautifully at the water surface.


I have captured a video so you can see the breathtaking view

Lake Wakatipu

New Zealand's lakes are so big in size to the extent it somehow produces waves. I am so amazed on how they preserve these natural lakes. One of the beautiful lakes is Lake Wakatipu at Queenstown area.

Lake Wakatipu is an inland lake (finger lake) in the South Island of New Zealand. It is in the southwest corner of the Otago region, near its boundary with Southland. Lake Wakatipu comes from the original Māori word Whakatipu wai-māori.[ With a length of 80 kilometers (50 mi), it is New Zealand's longest lake, and, at 291 km2 (112 sq mi), its third largest. Source Wiki

photo6223977210923034665.jpg

photo6223977210923034666.jpg

Blue Lake at Tasman Valley, Mount Cook and Hooker Valley

Stop by at Mount Cook is one of my dream destinations. What I always want to do is to try the trekking path and explore around it. Unfortunately, the weather was very harsh. It was snowy, raining and super cold.

photo6223977210923034676.jpg

Small hike to the stairs will bring you to the Blue Lake

photo6223977210923034668.jpg

Blue Lake at Mount Cook

photo6223977210923034672.jpg

photo6223977210923034673.jpg

Hooker Valley: Uuuu I'm having fun in this cold weather

Lake Wanaka

We stopped by at Wanaka for a break before heading to Mount Cook. It was a quick break so that we arrived to Mount Cook before dark.

Lake Wanaka is located in the Otago region of New Zealand, at an altitude of 300 metres. Covering an area of 192 km2 (74 sq mi),[1] it is New Zealand's fourth largest lake,[2] and estimated to be more than 300 m (980 ft) deep. Its name is Māori, a corruption of Oanaka ('The place of Anaka', a local tribal chief). Source : Wiki

photo6223977210923034681.jpg
Behind me is Wanaka's famous willow tree

Thermal Spots at Rotorua

North Island also has its charms and naturally beautiful. Both Islands have different things to offer. At North, the weather is quite moderate and not rough. Particularly in Rotorua, it features unique geothermal and volcanic features. Steam and mudpool area were flocked by tourists. I went to local 'Maori' village to witness this geothermal steam.

photo6223977210923034685.jpg

photo6223977210923034686.jpg

photo6223977210923034684.jpg
Steam everywhere as it is common here

Waitomo Glow Worm Cave

I saved the best for last. As someone who loves nature, I know I have to witness glow worm in Waitomo.

The name "Waitomo" comes from the Māori words wai, water and tomo, hole or shaft -Source Wiki. I took the guided tour to view this majestic habitat of glowworm in this cave. Unfortunately, no camera allowed so I can't show you the inside of the cave. I found this on Google


Image Source

The guided tour is NZD50 for 45 minutes which you can go inside the cave and see for yourself the beautiful light from the glowworm tails.

photo6223977210923034687.jpg

The only shot I have there LOL

That is all for now, additionally, read my first post on this trip here:

Jen's Travelogue - Scenic New Zealand Part #1

I will update more on this trip as I have so many things to share.. Please bear with me hehehhe.

Love you guys

XOXO

Sort:  

I spent 6 weeks in New Zealand way back in 1987, it was a wonderful experience. Thanks for posting @cikaxijen upvoted and followed you.

Hey! Wow 6 weeks! . I wish I have that much annual leaves to spend in New Zealand. But I make the most out of that 12 days there. Thank you for stopping by!

Congratulations @cikxaijen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cikxaijen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.60 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @cikxaijen. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cikxaijen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31