Jen's Travelogue - Scenic New Zealand Part #1

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

photo6215029097533384678.jpg

I have been away for 12 days to complete one of my bucket lists. I missed everyone here. I can't wait to blog my experience with my Steemit friends. How's everyone been?

I'm currently composing my blog in my flights as I can't sleep. I have a lot of photos to share and one of my biggest aims is to be a travel blogger in Steemit. I hope you all can support me to be one. wink wink ^_~


What kind of traveller am I?

Nature and adventure

I never can stress enough how I like nature. This is the ultimate trip for me going to New Zealand to cover North and South Island. If you follow my blog you would notice that I love adventure and nature. I hope you get it why I choose this destination.

I travel moderately

I am neither a luxurious traveller nor a person with the huge dollar to spend. I travelled with low-cost airlines and comfy accommodations that suit me. As long as I am comfortable, I'll be just fine. I also look for the deal to save and get VFM (value for money).


My Trip Statistic.

Overall, we were quite like Nomadic people-jumping off from one location to another and not sleeping more than 1 day at one location. Since New Zealand is big, I want to make the most of our time here. I sure think that 12 days is not enough the first place.


My Bucketlist - New Zealand North and South

The 'ultimate trip' I called it. The dedication towards planning this trip is awesome and same can be said on how it turns out. This trip has been planned 1 year ahead - now you should know how I am feeling at the end of this trip. T_T sad

'Good thing needs to end' I guess. I'll put it in my memory and hope to come again. If you are a 'Kiwi', I envy you so much. Spectacular scenery, great and fun people and lots of activities to offer.


Endless Driving, The Remarkables, Campervan, and Lady Drivers

  • Campervan
    We started our journey at South Island first where we arrived after 15 hours of connecting flights. We booked a campervan named 'Jucy'. It was not a 'Motorhome' or 'RV' which is quite cozy and big. Since it is just the 3 of us, we decided to take the smaller one where we have to change the interior setting to night from day.

It is one of my dreams to drive around with this campervan. It is not available in my country I think as I haven't seen one in the streets. Being the smallest one, I slept on the deck. It was like a super tiny loft.


I did not have a good shot at me sleeping on the deck

  • Endless Driving


This is our South Island journey looks like via driving

With the total of around 10 hours of driving, it was full of surprises and great memories. On our journey, we were stopped by a policeman because of driving too slow (enjoying the scenery too much) at 100 KM/H highway where we drove 80 KM/H. It was a very nervy moment not knowing what you did wrong! LOL.


This is the view that got us pulled over by the cop. How can you drive fast to that?

  • Crowns Range - Unforgettable Crazy Drive

This must be the most challenging drive I will ever do in my life. It is my turn to drive and we were not prepared to what's going to happen. It was climbing, zigzaggy, 25-85 degree turn, nerve-wracking, hearts pounding, brake smell, using lowest of gear with not-so-powerfull campervan for around 1/2 hour. I can't describe how terrifying experience it was and I was glad it is over. All of my passengers did not dare to open their phone and taking pictures (like they always do) as I saw how worried they are. I am glad we managed to pull it through.


Crowns Range


Stop by at the top to release our nerve LOL

The Crown Range lies between Queenstown and Wanaka. The road over the range, known as the Crown Range Road, is the highest main road in New Zealand. It reaches an altitude of 1121 meters, which does bring challenges. In winter, the road is often covered in snow and ice, making for very difficult driving conditions.

  • The Remarkables

The Remarkables is the beautiful mountain located in Queenstown. According to locals, this mountain situated directly from north to south thus was given the name. It is truly majestic to look at.


How remarkables is that?

The Remarkables is a mountain range and skifield in Otago in the South Island of New Zealand. Located on the southeastern shore of Lake Wakatipu, the range lives up to its name by rising sharply to create an impressive backdrop for the waters. The range is clearly visible from the nearby town of Queenstown.

Sheep

Yeah, sheep.

Sheep populations are more than people in New Zealand. They lived happily where the grass is greener in New Zealand. New Zealand is home to 3 million people and 60 million sheep. Amazing. Everywhere you go, sheep are there.

Once, I and my friends were driving and were enjoying the scenery, we were forced to an emergency brake. It was a shocking moment as the road was clear with only 3 cars in front of us. The reason for the stop is because hundreds of sheep were flocking the road as they fled from the fence. It was hilarious and awesome scene. The guard dog ( I guess it was a German Shepherd) that came to the rescue and organize the naughty sheep back to the farmland. It took the dog around 10 minutes and barking non-stop (I just admire the dog ^_^ works). I bet one naughty sheep decided to run over the fence and the rest joined the party. Sheep Prison Break

Breathtaking Views

photo6215029097533384675.jpg

photo6215029097533384674.jpg

photo6215029097533384671.jpg

photo6215029097533384673.jpg

photo6215029097533384672.jpg

photo6215029097533384676.jpg

photo6215029097533384677.jpg

That's the end of part one. I will slowly cover the rest. I have tons of things to share ^_~

Take care!

Sort:  

Woowww! 😃 You are really living the dream. I wish i am there 😭
I like your traveling style. Adventure and nature. That way you can get the most out of it. Ugh i am so jealous right now 😭
I cant wait for the next part!

Thank you dear!!! you can go too..... anyone can go. don't think, just go. ^_~

Hahaha im waiting for the right time. And the right travel buddy. One that are willing to go thru all those ups and downs with me 😂

You know, finding travel mate is like finding husband. You must get it right.

Hahaha that is so true! I've got some experiences where the travel buddy isnt quite as adventurous, i end up regretting the trip a looot. Now im very choosy in picking travel buddy

Wow, love it!
Now I'm sure we can be friend, you are right! :P

I love it that you loved it. haha..... nice to meet you sister!

Wah never tried going around on a camper van before. Only possible in some countries. Can't imagine doing that in Malaysia hahaha

facilities needed for campervan/motorhome make it unrealistic to certain countries. i.e powered site , camp sites and dumping station. Campervan is not that cosy by the way, but it save costs a lot -reason why I rent it heheh

Wow loved the pictures, it looks like each and every photo has something to say

Thanks! It does! It shows I had lot of fun hehe

Yes definitely, you would have a fun there. Bdw you have a very nice sunset photo out there, why not participate in #goldenhourphotography contest.

Thank you so much! I have post my submission real quick! Thanks again!

Wow! The mountains are gorgeous!! Thanks for sharing the pics. Too hilarious that those sheep jumped the fence. They were all just running after each other. No one knew where to go!! Thanks for sharing the journey. Really great.

Really right?. I can’t have a favorite mountains and lakes. They all really breathtaking. Thanks for reading mate! Glad u enjoyed it ~_^

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cikxaijen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Wow, what an adventure! You're right, nature & adventure is it! :) I would love to go on such a trip, but as mentioned by you & vaelriey, the right travelling partner is so important! Looking forward to your next installment... :) BTW I'm also following another person's trip in NZ (and more) - in case you're also interested to read and compare notes! :) Cheers!!

BTW you're right, how to drive fast with that view... sighhhh...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cikxaijen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 3.23 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cikxaijen.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29