The story about how I lost my passport in Argentina and was asked to lie in 3 police stations

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The story about how I lost my passport in Argentina and was asked to lie in 3 police stations


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Whoa, that is a scary and exciting and frustrating adventure.

Sometimes I think how odd it is that we need passports. I mean I though we were moving to a 'global' world, but I guess that just means for trade.

This is scary, indeed. When I'm abroad I'm always obsessively finding, holding, then replacing my passport. It'd be pretty scary to lose it, but at least you made it out fine in the end.

You got 100.00% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

Happen to me once as well in South Korea. But lucky I found it...happy you worked it out...never lie...but you gotta do what you gotta do...

Haha! Yes, if the police tells you to lie you lie! LOL! He must have seen my very puzzled look though :')

@soyrosa Incredible, I imagine your face, all confused, I am glad you didn´t end up in jail

Haha - me too! Yes, my face was confused for a few hours at least that day :')

What a bizzaire experience! Actully, it could have gone worse, they could have not believed you saying who you are and thrown you in jail. A young pretty girl from The Nertherlands, what drugs did she bring in with her 😎😄

It was crazy! Lol! And yes, all the assumptions they could have made if I didn't have a passport anymore and came from the Netherlands... ;-)

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ah man, I can totally feel you panicking here lol.. I am happy to read it all went well, but trust me the asking to lie isn't only there.. When we went to the immigration office here, we were quite "late" you have to be there within 2 months (I believe) but as we didn't have our own apartment from mid september-end of january, we were quite late ;)
So when we had to fill in all these forms, and state from what date we arrived here, my boyfriend was asked to change the date, and sign the document, so he could process it. He literally told him what date to write down and sign it. The shitty thing is I didnt remember what date it said, and sometimes they ask us to fill in the date of arrival, and then I am still scared that somewhere at the government the documents won't add up, and we get in trouble lol.. But I guess no one will ever see the other documents, as they can't access each others system, but still, it feels pretty weird that a government office tells you to lie,right? lol

Oh MY! Hahaha! To know that you have lied about a date on an important form and not remember what date! The first time your realized that you must have started sweating a bit :')

It's so weird if the official institutions ask you to lie - what more happens 'behind the scenes'? Truly truly interesting :-)

Isn't it dangerous there for westerners?

No, at least not back then, I honestly don't know how the country is right now. But I've felt safe for 10 weeks there and I was traveling with another young woman, so :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.94
ETH 2763.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70