Home Improvement with Bozz

in #adsactly6 years ago

x10452vyf4.jpg

About a year ago, my wife and I noticed that our deck was getting a little worn. We had talked about resealing and painting the wood, but as I got looking at it, I noticed that a lot of the boards were starting to rot.

We decided that it might be in our best interest to replace the whole deck instead. Personally, we had neither the time nor the desire to do the work ourselves, so we decided that we were going to hire a contractor to do it.

Thinking I could save some money, I decided to do most of the demo on the old deck myself. I rented a dumpster and got to work tearing it all apart.

rihseg2kml.jpg

As you can see there was a small shed underneath the upper part of the deck. That shed proved to be the most difficult part of the whole demo process. The material it was made out of was very heavy and we basically had to remove one wall at a time.

The total area of the original deck was about 16' wide by 26' long. That included the stairs which went all the way across and were really wasted space. Who really needs a stairway that is 16 feet wide? The other problem with the stairs is they were very narrow. My wife and I like our ankles and prefer to keep them intact, so we knew we wanted to rethink those ankle-breaker stairs.

My wife and I also decided that we wanted to go with a composite material so that we wouldn't have to worry about upkeep in the future. Having no desire to reseal and repaint a deck is what got us into this situtation anyway right?

I talked to my friend who is a builder and he gave us a price to do the deck. I about fell over, it was twice the price I had been anticipating. In my preliminary figuring, I had grossly underestimated the total cost.

Meanwhile the busy season was starting up for my friend and I knew he would have other jobs to take on. I quickly started to draw up new plans and by the 7th try, I finally had a design I was happy with.

I contacted another contractor that I know and he came out to take a look. I had reduced the size of the new deck to 16' x 20' and I had also decided to have it just be one level. That would elimiate some of the awkwardness of the two level setup we previously had.

The contractor told me he could do the new design for half the cost of what my friend quoted. I quickly contacted my friend and he told me enthusiastically to let the other guy do it!

I contacted the contractor and he said he could begin work immediately. Then a couple days later he contacted me back and said he was having trouble finding a crew so it might be a little longer.

Finally about two months after the date he initially said he could start, we came home to find this in our back yard:

d0lypd1i3f.jpg

My wife and I were so excited that things were finally starting to get done. Our dog was also excited that soon she would be able to play in the back yard again, instead of having to go out in the front of the house.

Slowly over the course of a week or two, things started to take shape:

x6igjwrwvr.jpg

Before they did the framing, they pulled out the window that was under the old deck. They filled in the space from the window and put siding back over it.

After the framing was done, they started to lay the boards...

dunnjr20ew.jpg

It was exciting to come home each day and see how much they had accomplished. I think if the contractor had been able to get a full crew they probably could have been done much sooner. The two of them did a great job though.

The old electrical lines were proving to be a little difficult, so he moved those out of the way and the end result is much more aesthetically pleasing. He also fixed the vent to do the downstairs bathroom that the previous owners had sided over. I was happy to know that it would be venting properly now.

krndhx72wg.jpg

The next week we were greeted with rails! Still no steps though, but it was nice to look out and see the potential of the new deck.

Finally, my wife and I took our trip to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and when we came home, were pleasantly surprised:

6urcrkj5tp.jpg

jrptitp6uj.jpg

5l1fhrt7ji.jpg

It is taking a while to get used to the difference in size from the other deck, but we are both really happy with the final product. While a little more expensive than other materials, the Azek decking we picked is top notch.

You can see the contractor had to use a little bit different color siding in the areas where the old stuff was pulled off, but we really don't mind. We still have some clean up to do around the bottom and outside. We are also still trying to decide if we want to close in the under part of the deck or leave it open. My biggest concern is birds building nests under there.

Ultimately this is a project that I am glad I didn't try to tackle myself. I have no doubt I could have done a decent job at it, but I don't think it would have been anywhere near as nice as the final product.

My apologies if I missled you with the title of this post, just remember I did do the demo myself(with some help from my wife and in-laws).

Thanks for reading!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

A lot of work but worth it the new deck looks awesome

Thanks! I think we are really going to enjoy it. We just need the weather to cooperate now. It has either been too hot or too rainy to sit out on it.

@bozz Hope you get some good weather to make use of it,

IMG_20180831_183636.jpg

Just finished mowing the lawn!

@bozz And a good place to relax afterwards, been years since I have mowed lawns, I do kind of miss it some days but not to often LOL

Mine only takes about a half hour to push mow. You are more than welcome to come take care of it if you ever get the itch! 😁

@bozz LOL A push mower, I remember doing a lot of that when I was young, I would come and do yours but I would hate to take that pleasure away from you

That deck turned out really nice! It's obvious that the contractor knows what he's doing.

Thank you!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

The deck looks absolutely fantastic. We are in the same position and will be building a new deck next spring. We currently have only a small deck so we want to expand it and drop down to another level that will surround the hot tub I installed this summer. Exciting stuff. Is that composite decking? It looks great.

Yes, it is Azek composite decking! Good luck and thank you!

The final product looks. I am always concerned about price, but I would consider hiring someone if the quality is better and it reduces the total amount of time to complete the project.

Enjoy some time on that new back deck!

Thanks! Yes the extra cost to have someone professional do it was worth it. The structure is much more intricate and secure than I would have thought to make it. The guy I hired usually builds houses so I figured he would do a great job.

Wow that looks very nice. We replaced our gardenfence at the back with a composite one,can't tell the difference from real wood. But the only thing we do every year is just a quick clean and it is new again :)

Thanks! We are really happy with it! I am really impressed with the composite. It isn't as slippery as I was afraid it would be and it dissipates the heat better than I thought it would too. On a side note, I just donated two shares of SBI to you.

Any project that gets done around the house is done by me. I either did the work or wrote the check. Me. No misleading in the title at all! Ahahahahah.

My best ex and I decided we needed a little patio space outside a deck, and I wanted exposed aggregate concrete. I was an equipment mechanic, worked on concrete tools for contractors so I had a data base. I talked to 3 of them about our project. The cost just staggered me.

That's how I learned to lay patio block. I've done it several places since that one. :)

It's a really attractive deck. I really do like the look of that composite material. I've never used it.

Thanks! I appreciate it! I think we are going to enjoy it for many years to come! I did a post a while ago about the patio blocks I laid at our old house. What a mess that was! Another part of the reason we hired this out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59