Camping with Bozz : Food Edition

in #adsactly6 years ago

A lot of times when people go camping they transition into "easy-mode" for meals.

This may consist of simply roasting hotdogs over an open fire and throwing it on the table with a bag of chips.

Now don't get me wrong, I don't think there is anything better in the world than a Koegel Vienna roasted over an open fire. In fact if they don't have that in heaven, I am not sure I want to go.

Truthfully, that has come to be a regular late night snack for me while we are sitting around the fire at night.

For our main meals though, my wife and I prefer to cook like we would normally eat at home. This may include grilled chicken and cheesy garlic orzo, or fajitas and Mexican rice.

Many of our camping meals start as you see above. I have a little Weber Smokey Joe grill that can handle just about anything I throw at it while camping.

I know many purists may scoff at the fact that we don't do all of our cooking over the fire. Trust me, I struggle with that fact internally myself. In my years of camping though I have watched too many other campers lose their whole meal in the fire due to an unstable setup.

I've also seen many other campers end up with severely overcooked or undercooked food because they can't control the temperature consistently.

One day I do hope to get a firepit cooking rig and master the skill of using it. Until then, I will stick to my grill.

A lot of the cooking I do on the grill is usually indirect. This two zone setup gives me lots of flexibility for how much direct flame whatever I am cooking gets.

Typically if I am cooking chicken breasts, steaks, or burgers I will start them on the side with the charcoal. I leave them there to get a good sear then flip them over so the other side can get a sear as well.

Then I move them over to the other side of the grill and let them "bake"(flipping occasionally) until they reach the desired "doneness".

This method has worked really well for me. If you haven't started using a two zone grilling system yet, I encourage you to do so. On a larger grill you can even expand it to three zones and "feather" out the coals to give you a kind of middle area.

I like to cook my brats indirectly. I have posted about this in the past. Many people prefer to boil their brats in beer and pre-cook them before they put them on the grill.

My preference is to put the brats on the grill raw and "smoke" them until they are done. I feel this leaves them juicier on the inside without getting mushy and still maintains the crisp snap of the casing.

IMG_20180719_170606.jpg

In the picture below the brats have been on the grill for about 15 minutes and I am getting ready to flip them for the first time.

IMG_20180719_172052.jpg

After another 15 minutes or so, I opened the grill to flip the brats again. You can see that below.

IMG_20180719_172108.jpg

Finally, after another fifteen minutes or so, the brats were ready to pull off the grill. I actually think I let them go a little too long. They started to split and lose some of their juices. Additionally, I should have pulled the chicken brat on the left a little farther from the coals.

IMG_20180719_173424.jpg

My wife had a chicken garlic Parmesan brat and I had a bacon cheddar brat that was made with pork.

We paired the brats with one of my favorite summer salads. The picture here shows my taco salad before I mixed it up.

It basically consists of ground turkey(or chicken) cooked with onions, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and oregano.

The meat is then mixed with lettuce, black olives, tomatoes, cheese, Doritos, red onions, and Catalina dressing.

To me, the end result is nothing short of amazing. I could seriously eat this stuff every single meal and not get sick of it.

Check out the post-mix version:

IMG_20180719_174203.jpg

This was our dinner on the first night of our camping trip and it was devoured completely with no mercy shown!

Another tool we have found invaluable while camping is our electric frying pan. I know, I know, those purists are frowning at me again for not cooking on the open fire... Here is my reasoning though:

The other nights we camped, it was raining. Being able to cook something up quickly in one pan without dirtying a bunch of dishes is so nice.

Meal number two consisted of Buffalo Chicken Sloppy Joes with coleslaw.

IMG_20180721_181046.jpg

This recipe is so simple. It starts with ground chicken or turkey again (my wife doesn't like beef so we eat a lot of this). To the ground chicken you add chopped celery, onion, and carrots. Once you get the meat cooked through and the vegetables softened, you add a small can of tomato sauce and a good pour of buffalo wing sauce(as much or little as you like).

That's it, you are halfway done!

IMG_20180721_181052.jpg

This is the coleslaw my wife made, we cheat and use the bagged mix that you can buy in the store. She added the mayonnaise, vinegar, and pepper (possibly sugar too) in the perfect ratio to make it awesome though. Unfortunately, I can't give you those ratios because she just kind of eyeballs it.

Finally, grab a bun and some cheese, and put it all together:

IMG_20180721_181104.jpg

We prefer to split the bun and do it as an open faced sandwich as opposed to a true sloppy-joe. Trust me, it is fantastic no matter which way you eat it!

All photos and food were taken and eaten by me unless otherwise noted.

See you next trip campers!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

It all look deliciously unhealthy to me :) I have yet to crack open our gas grill in the garage, though its hot here and I should.

Whenever I read about 'brats' I think..

I know I have said it before.. just makes me laugh.

Yeah, I should really start using the full term so that people don't get confused. It is hard to remember that I am reaching a global audience. The cool thing is, it is actually a lot healthier than it looks. Using ground chicken instead of beef keeps the fat content down. We also use reduced fat mayo. Everything else is just veggies for the most part. My bratwurst are probably the least healthy part of both of them. Thanks for the awesome comment and the chuckle!

lol spoiled brats :P

Camping food is the best. Cooked outdoors and just enjoying nature. Now you made me hungry lol. Last time we had camping was like 2 years ago on a beach. I hope we could do it again I miss camping and just huddling near the campfire with the family. Some hot coco, roasted marshmallows...... strolling at the beach lit with moon light. Arggg I'm dreaming right now lol.

Sounds wonderful! Thank you!

OH Koegel Viennas!!! YES! A perfect replacement when you can't find the Kowalski brand dogs!

When we used to go camping, we did a 50/50 cooking directly on the campfire versus the BBQ grill. SOme foods just taste better in the open fire (ie. corn-on-the-cob, baked potatoes with the crunchy skin, hot dogs)

Yeah like I said, I hope to one day get a sturdy setup and start to hone my skills. We saw a guy this past weekend that had a fancy rig with all kinds of counter weights and stuff. It was pretty cool. We mostly always do our corn on the grill, it is pretty rare that we ever boil it in a pot anymore. I can't remember the last time I cooked a hotdog on the grill though!

I have just eaten dinner and looking at those pictures still made me hungry, that's saying something ;-)

Thanks I appreciate it.

That looks really delicious, never though of indirect cooking on the weber. I have a big bowl weber... should try it next time, I think it will do well to the meat :) Thanks ..

I had a sloppy joe burger in Orlando, almost bite my fingers off.. it was so tasty...

My next grill is probably going to be a Weber kettle. You can do all kinds of stuff on the bigger ones. Using the indirect method you should be able to do a turkey breast or maybe even a full turkey. The small turkey breasts that my wife and I buy only take about an hour to grill/bake.

Yum , great post , I’m gonna try the half n Half bbq as I’m camping atm . Cheers

Awesome! Good luck! Reply with a picture!

Ummmm who botheted camping, when we have such great tastes all along😉 feeling hungry now at 3.35 am ist

Thank you!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-26T14:58:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 542.00/200.00
Total Photos: 76
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.11 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi, thank you for supporting steemkitchen and community. To continue to recieve an upvote from steemkitchen you will need to logon at www.steemkitchen.com and make your post on the community website. All posts are also mirrored on the steemit website.

This upvote bot will be shut down in a few days time.

www.steemkitchen.com is live in Beta. The first decentralized recipe and food centric blog site on the internet that rewards the contributors in a crypto currency called steem that can be traded for any Fiat Currency.
The users of Steemkitchen reward each other by means of upvoting to choose the size of the reward.

Please consider joining us at our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 209 (7/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44