My Quest to Become a Sea Otter (Adopt a Minnow Application)

in #adoptaminnow7 years ago (edited)

On my way to dolphin status, I’m shooting for “sea otter.” Sure, there are dolphins, orcas and whales, but how ‘bout adding a smaller marine mammal for us minnows to aspire to? Sea Otters are cute and creative. They’re playful and smart. They’re family oriented, and even sleep holding paws so they don’t drift apart. All together now, awwwwww.


via giphy.com

The Adopt a Minnow idea (spawned by @whatsup and @brandyb) is spectacular for so many reasons! Yay for amazing people who want to uplift newbies in the Steemisphere and create new sea otters!!!

This application is for adoption by @topkpop, but...

I realize you will have a ton of amazing applications, so I’d like to state, for the record, that I’d be massively honoured to be adopted by @topkpop, @saffisara, or @enginewitty (I see all three of you on @brandyb’s list of phenomenal adopt-a-minnow supporters.) I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, y’all have made me feel like part of the family. Thank you!

Humility

Adopt Me!


Why adopt me?

Okay, to tell you the truth, I already feel like I’ve been adopted by a few bigger fish I’ve met (I’ve been on Steemit all of 10 days). @sykochica, @thekittygirl, @topkpop, @saffisara, pretty much everyone in #TheAlliance, and the Wonderful Wizard who named me Kat-Leia (@enginewitty) — y’all have made me feel so welcomed. I’m at home on Steemit already, but I know I still have tons to learn.


via giphy.com

I’d like to put a special shout out to @limabeing, the mastermind behind #teamgirlpowa, who has created a supportive environment for women, lgbt+, and those who support them. The chats have been so fun, hearing the voices of the group, and I'm thrilled to be able to participate in initiatives like #WomenSpeakOut.

I'm working towards having a heftier vote so I can be of more support to others.

I go all-out in my comments, partially to compensate for my itty-bitty vote, and partially because this is how I’m getting to know people and finding friends. That, and Discord. I can’t believe I didn’t know about Discord until I joined Steemit. This rabbit hole is the coolest!

I like to be supportive of others and add to the positive vibe of the Steemit community.

My posts include self-care reminders, yoga, music, things to make you smile, things to make you think. I recently spearheaded the #WomenSpeakOut tag as an ambassador for #TeamGirlPowa, and would love to be able to curate that conversation with a little more SP behind me. But first I’ve got to G-R-O-W.

I learn fast, I’m enthusiastic, I sincerely care about people and causes (too much, in some cases), I’m fun, and I’m intensely creative.

Creativity

How Creative Are You, Katrina?


I’m so glad you asked! : )

I won’t even talk about all the books I’ve written. Instead, let me show you my creative soul. Here’s an artsy, earthy, poetic short film that I created almost entirely myself, titled ELEMENTAL. This was a finalist in a film festival many years ago:


In the past week, along with many others, I’ve written the following posts:

MEDITATION: An Ocean of Peace — Contributing to the Power of Positivity This post includes a guided meditation video that I filmed on the edge of the Caribbean. It actually won third place in @topkpop’s last #popcontest, which is super humbling because there were so many worthy entries!

FLASH FICTION: “Give Me Moonlight,” inspired by Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata. This is a very short love story between two people and a piano that has a ton of tension because they only ever touch the piano, not each other. It’s a breathless read, driven by a piece of music that has always gone straight to my soul.

The posts I’m proudest of in the past few days are the ones I’ve written to spearhead #WomenSpeakOut, a movement to encourage positive stories of women’s empowerment on Steemit. I volunteered in #TeamGirlPowa to be an ambassador for this project, and wrote the first #WomenSpeakOut post, as well as a follow up post, Why #WomenSpeakOut is a Good Thing for Men.

I also post fun pics, like this one that was listed third in the recent #sportsphotography @photocontest:

triangle in the desert
photo: Nat Anfield | model: Katrina Ariel

So, yeah. I’m creative. Every once in a while I turn into zombie mommy and have to go to sleep at the same time as my kids, oops! But I try to be as consistent as possible, and keep showing up to support and post quality content.

I’m driven to be successful on Steemit, and to do so I want to be a genuine contribution to the community. Yes, I’d like to earn some money here, to boost to my family’s quality of life and be able to donate to causes I care about, but the most exciting thing about this platform is the way it’s encouraging people to be good to each other. Love, love, love this!


gif via giphy.com

Respect to all mentors.


Award-winning director Ava DuVernay says a true mentor gives love, care, concern, guidance, and information, and that this is priceless! She’s right.

Huge gratitude to everyone who is choosing to adopt a minnow, holding out your hand and helping us become sea otters.

Thanks for considering me. Much love!

Peace. @katrina-ariel
Katrina Ariel

Sort:  

You are officially...

adopted.png

YAY! 🎉 Congratulation you two! @katrina-ariel is a catch and @topkpop is a Steemit Queen! You two will make magic together. 👑

Thank you so much, @ameliabartlett! 🎉

And thank you @topkpop! I'm thrilled and super grateful. Yay for family helping each other out!!! :) #grateful

Your so lucky, haha ,congrats girl, your awesome and have a wonderful teacher

MAKERSwomen MAKERS tweeted @ 02 Jan 2018 - 06:02 UTC

“Mentorship is beautiful if it's true. And a mentor is someone who wants to help you specifically.” @Ava explains t… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Lol oh you mean another group quoted Ava Duvorney to? Shocking! :P bots are silly

I think it picked up on the link I used with her name. This is where I got the quote. :)

I like it! 👍

/me is just waiting for @katrina-ariel to pass her in rep and wallet value.🤷‍♀️🤣 u a damn force of cosmic love. Im tryna get my own #womenspeakout up. Hope you get your mentorship but im sure you will and do well with it.

Thank you so much! As for being a force of cosmic love, echo echo, sister! Can't wait to see your post when you've had a chance to get there. 💕

Excited to see this! I wish you and your future adoptive family the best!

Yay! Thank you!!! Y'all are so inspiring (and straight up fun)! :)

You are looking great. Keep smile up ;)

What a fabulous application!!!! Anyone would be lucky to adopt you!!

Thanks so much, @brandyb! And kudos for spearheading this whole thing in the first place. :)

Wicked awesome. Love your app!

I love this application @katrina-ariel, If I were @topkpop, I couldn't have asked for more creativity than this.

Good luck my friend ^_^
I think you're the right person for it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38