Chronicles of a UK Actor - Introduction

in #actor7 years ago (edited)

 

This is my second account on steemit, lost my password for my first account (naughty naughty) so copied and paste this posts to this new account. 

The Idea

OK here goes! Got a whats app message from my sister today giving me the  idea to tell my stories and anecdotes about my experiences as an actor  in the UK -  'Very Interesting' was her words. I was telling her about a  commercial casting I had for a well know car brand - the process,  interaction with other actors, the nerves, preparation, the egos. So yep  I've decided to share with you some of my audition/casting and work  (when they happen) experiences giving you an insight into what goes on  with the process AND what actors go through to 'get that part'. Should  be interesting. 

About Me

Born in South London, Balham, I grew up in East London, Isle of Dogs. It  was at the early age of 14 that I was bitten by the acting bug after  watching Eddie Murphy in 'Beverly Hills Cop'. I soon developed an intense passion for acting and it was spotted by  his then Drama teacher and English teacher, who got their departments to  pay for me to go to a Performing Arts school (Part Time) - 'Sylvia  Young Theatre School' on weekends for a year. I later got into Seltec  College in the UK which is now Lewisham College, to study drama for 2  years. There, I learned a lot of Stanislavski, Brecht, and Shakespeare  among other and got hooked on 'The Method' -  I would call myself a hard  core method actor - I do not take it home with me!! At age 21, I got my first role as a professional actor with The Black  Theatre Co-op doing Theatre In Education with a play called "Just For  kicks" about drug awareness , which toured schools in the London  Boroughs. Soon I broke into television and got my first major role as  one of the main characters in 'Holding On', a BBC2 Drama Serial about  life in the London. The Serial won a BAFTA for Best Drama Serial. Since  then I've worked on various productions in TV, Film and Theatre, and  have been in some of the UK's best loved Drama series - 'Holby City' and  'Casualty'. In 2001 I was awarded the Barclays Theatre Awards (TMA) for  'best actor in a supporting role'. Fast forward to 2017, I finished filming (got a nie part) for the BBC in a light drame staring Samantha Bond,  Neil Morrissey and others  .

Why Steemit

Of course there is the obvious and it looks like there are no actors  sharing there knowledge and experience here, I think it's a great Idea  so here I am! 

Sort:  

Welcome! Sorry to hear you lost your password. Best of luck!

Thanks danielsaori.

Congratulations @freddieannobil! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steem @freddieannobil I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @freddieannobil :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Good to see you're back on it Freddie! Second time lucky!!

Good to be back! Oh yes.

Welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61