Don't Think, Just DO! [Day 2 of 30] I'm Moving to a Different State... Wait, WHAT?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #actionslouderthanthought6 years ago (edited)

Instead of being weighed down by the pressures that come with overthinking things, I'm throwing thought completely out the window for a whole month... Welcome to Day 2 of the experiment: Don't Think, Just DO!

c6bf128710a5db32f00a0aa5c1f24753-l.jpg
Pearltrees


The Experiment:

"For the next 30 days, I'm going to purposely not think! Rather, every time I catch myself thinking of something, I'll replace it with an action instead."

The goals I'm aiming to achieve by doing this are:

1- Auto-pilot myself to a level of mastery
2- Boost productivity by zoning out
3- Caring by not caring
4- Allow reality to properly manifest around me


Start of Something New

Mentioned in the comments of yesterday's post @celestal offered up a bit of wisdom in a suggestion that could help to tear down mental barriers that are responsible for inflicting fear by anticipation. To quote his brilliant comment;

"One way for me to practice this is cold showers. Every time I take a shower I crank the water as cold as it gets (and in my mother's place it's COLD, like literally brain-freezing). Sometimes just before doing it, a thought might arise: "gosh that'll be uncomfortable", but then I'm like "no monkey brain, you know nothing, I've done this numerous times, it's not like I'd suddenly die this time", and then just do it without hesitation."

shower-1502736_1920.jpg
Pixabay

> >Welcome to the cold shower bonus challenge!

It was one of the first thoughts things to come into my awareness this morning. I said I would do it. So what happened? I got into the bathroom, and... I wasn't even standing in the shower when I started reaching for the handle. I caught my reaction right before I turned the water on. Subconsciously this challenge already infiltrated my mind. I was amazed at how quickly a thought can take hold, eliciting a particular reaction.

I stood fully under the showerhead and turning the nob to TUNDRA, I embraced my first "just-do action". I lasted a couple of seconds and began screaming obscenities to myself. I swapped it to hot, and before I knew it, I was laughing my ass off. I'm gonna try to increase the duration... slowly though!


Url-2.jpg
Kamaji — Spirited Away Wiki

Breezing Through My Comments

It didn't take 5 whole days to properly reply all comments to my last post either, and already I saw this as a huge upside. Until now, I used to only reply comments in batches and not as I got them. Seeing that I get some really amazing comments and interactions to my posts by my awesome readers, I wanted to use my time online more effectively—caring for everyone who comes to my blog! I got into some great conversations, and it also makes it faster for me to navigate other's pages to comment and write more posts!

Before doing this I would go by commenting everyone at once, that wasn't the smartest move. I felt heavy that by the time I would reply, I wasn't sure what to say anymore... Or if I could put as much thought into my replies. Forget that!~ I am now replying as I go, and it's working! My fear of not knowing what to say was unfounded, but it wasn't until I gave myself the chance to go with the flow that I realized this.


Umaru_enjoys_her_snacks_and_some_anime.png
Umaru-chan Wiki

I Took A Lot of Breaks

To watch a funny video or to pay a bill online when I started to feel the thoughts creeping in. I was wondering where to eat for lunch, so I told my head to stop right there. I chose to cook something instead of trying to pick where to eat. I pulled a bunch of random things from my fridge. My lunch today was a pork stir fry with a bunch of mushrooms and tofu :3

Prior to this experiment, when I would be thinking about something for too long, it would make me anxious and lead to a negative mood. I took this time instead to focus a little more time on things that I enjoyed doing, and played a few video games too! It's not healthy to stay in a thought-loop without doing something about it. No lethargy for me!


beach-starry-night-sly-stars-stones-moon-sea-wallpaper-backgrounds-1920x1080.jpg
WpNature

Reality Manifestation: You Need To Be Specific When Asking the Universe to Manifest Something for You

And here everyone is my showstopper for today, and the meaning behind the title of this post. Some of my followers already know this; but one of my secret life goals (like in the end-game bucket list) is to open my own arcade. The thing is... I didn't specify where it would be.

I got an interesting message earlier today since I just reinstated my social media after a week of hiatus, and was greeted by a long time friend (from Hawaii)... Exclaiming they've been waiting for days to get a hold of me.

Their reason?

Him and another friend were going to be opening a business in L.A. (California) and were inquiring to see if I wanted in on it.

The business?

An arcade with a bar that also runs as a venue.

Well then.


12794349_1682203395361136_1703536022034930431_n.jpg
Self potrait

A Dream Staring Me in the Face

I can't say much more about the details of this life-changing gig, except this would mean I would have to bite the bullet on the one thing I was not willing to compromise—moving away. This I feel, is what the meant when saying; "be careful what you wish for". They had already put a lot of planning on the table, but since I shared the same dream with this friend, they wanted to share me a once in a lifetime opportunity with me.

NO THINKING ALLOWED, so what did I do? I contacted a trusted friend for advice on this. They straight up asked me if I was willing to move, and had a slew of questions that I needed confirmation on if I were to pick up this project and relocate for it. There will be a contract/ proposal with everything from room & board, pay, responsibilities, and any other required information. It's a year out, but it's still a lot to think about... After this experiment is over of course. I have informed them about this.

For now the consensus is to see where this leads, and to remember that no change is permanent. I would definitely regret it if I didn't give this a shot.


Aladdin-and-the-Magic-Lamp-short-stories-for-kids.jpg
Storyberries

The Universe Moves When You Aren't Looking

I hadn't thought about my dream in months, and here it came, in a way I didn't even think was possible. A lot of times, overthinking a goal or anything for that matter can swing doors open to overwhelming doubt. One of the widely known views of how manifestation works is of the genie moving to grant your wish.

If you can't release that energy back out and clinging tightly to it, then how will you pass the instructions on of "this is what I want?" Instead, overanalyzing can be seen as continuously making corrections to your desire and never forwarding it to a greater power to follow through on.


Verdict!

I could write this off as a coincidence, but it's all here in the blockchain. I like to believe that the energy we put out, is what comes back in the physical. That's it for today and we are looking okay so far. What could possibly come up next?

... and I'm asking you, I'm not thinking about it!~

Day 2/30




Thank you @bollutech for this art!

Sort:  

You can not be without guessing, but you can do something to change your mind like playing music, games watching news, or movie etc..

I agree. I do realize many things and activities do require thought. I will be using a lot of my time to enjoy those very things you listed! :D

That's how I'm operating lately, too. Or I try to. The fact is, we gotta think about shit. It's healthy to stay focused and productive, which gives different patterns for your brain to work on, but theres plenty under the surface that still needs to be dealt with.

Good luck with your California possibilities! That's so exciting, but I'm sure its scary too! Take some time to really consider, and try not to run away because of fears or insecurities. It's a good thing that there is still plenty of time before you might move. That gives you time to weigh the pros and cons.

<3

<3

"The fact is, we gotta think about shit."

Shhhhhh! Don't tell anybody.

Truth of the matter is that I am traversing between the line of productive thinking and thought loop spiral. So it's important for me to find a balance. Fortunately I do this by testing different extremes to find out what can work the best! With so much to do, there's no time to be entertaining negative thoughts longer than necessary 💙

Thank you! It should be fun, and perhaps this came at good timing. I haven't given the move enough thought to doubt it yet :3 Lots of time to weigh out all my options!~

well, negative thought spirals are best to leave behind. meanwhile the root cause of them must be addressed. simply trying to ignore them by staying busy can be dangerous, and doesn't work forever

You're telling me! I need to definitely find the right ratio between the two. I like to believe that I'm doing the final actions that these thoughts would lead up to, instead of mulling for unnecessary periods of time.

I had an eventful day planned out ahead of time. Should be a lot of fun for myself! Problems often don't need all the doubt to go with them.

I'll proceed carefully.

It truly is amazing what happens when we free ourselves from our negative dialogue. This story reminds me of the saying, if you can see it, it will be. I actually realised something similar this morning and I know excatly how you feel 😀.

Best of luck on making your decision and like you said yourself

no change is permanent.

If you don't give it a shot you might regret it later.

I know that I'm bound to run into hurdles—maybe not, if I don't worry about it c: I enjoy your saying, it shows that visualization is crucial in creating the type of life that we wish to have. There is a lot of untapped power in being able to experience something (through thought and emotion) before the physical takes place.

What makes this fun for me, is that literally anything can happen between now and then. But this time, it's something that doesn't happen everyday. Thank you for the blessing :D

Pleasure all the best 😀

Hmmmm, i think the best to keep the hope in us alive is by not letting those things that are probably heavy on our mind and got us bothered to weigh us down.... And the best way this can be achieved is by looking for an alternative means to minimize the way we think about them, not necessarily a distraction but something we can put into habit, that makes us happy and take us away from been down.
I really enjoyed the post. Well done

"Not necessarily a distraction but something we can put into habit, that makes us happy and take us away from been down."

Mhmm, redirecting our energies to build us up instead of breaking us down. Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate it! ^_^

Damn, day two, and already dreams come true <- dat rhyme tho

I stood fully under the showerhead and turning the nob to TUNDRA, I embraced my first "just-do action". I lasted a couple of seconds and began screaming obscenities to myself. I swapped it to hot, and before I knew it, I was laughing my ass off. I'm gonna try to increase the duration... slowly though!

Hahaa you did it! The shock will hits upon the first droplets on your skin but if you can keep at it, it will alleviate only in 10 seconds.

Ayeee, big ups on your freestylin' game~ c;

Hahaha, yeah but barely, it's already chilly in the morning, but I gotta persist. I'll try to see if I hit that 10 second mark—I have no clue how monks do this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43