#breadbakers - bread pudding (includes recipe): January 18 2019

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

20190117_230034.jpg

I grew up in the time before food waste was invented. Every scrap of everything was used, and, if anything was left over, it was made into something else.

Butter papers were kept to grease and line cake tins, dripping was in a jar by the stove for frying (fabulous for chips) and stale, dry old heels of bread were kept until there was enough to make a bread pudding.

The rock hard lumps were sawn through with the bread knife to form fat uneven cubes, heaped in the mixing bowl and covered with water to soak until the bread was soft and falling apart.

Meanwhile, a little fat and sugar, a handful of raisins or sultanas, an egg if you had one, and half a teaspoon of mixed spice were gathered together and the oven put on a low heat.

The fat was always beef suet when I was a child, Atora suet in the stripy packet. Bread pudding was great for a large family: it was mainly bread with a little sweetening and some dried fruit here and there and a little fat to keep it moist. Very economical.

When the bread was well-soaked, the water was squeezed out and the other ingredients added, everything mixed with a very large wooden spoon or, possibly, your hands. When it was all combined, the mixture was poured into a large tin.

This is where the art comes in: the mixture was smoothed down to form an even layer and then you went back over the top creating deep furrows and grooves. During the long slow cooking the peaks and ridges became deliciously caramelised and crispy, asking to be torn off, and the valleys and troughs became the perfect receptacles for capturing the dredging of caster sugar.

Bread pudding smells delicious when its baking, helped along by the mixed spice. We would hang around, waiting for it to come out of the oven, crunchy and possibly even a little burnt around the edges, and a steaming hot, squidgy centre.

Mine tasted a little strange ... then I remembered I had included rye bread!

Bread Pudding

500g stale bread - best if you can include some wholemeal bread.
100g suet, margarine or butter (I've never tried vegetable oil).
100g granulated or demerara sugar.
100g dried fruit - raisins, sultanas.
1 egg.
1/2 teaspoon mixed spice.
Sugar for dredging.

Cut the bread into large (2cm x 2cm) dice, place in a large mixing bowl and cover with cold water. When the bread is soft and falling apart, strain into a colander and then squeeze the water out of handfuls before placing back in the mixing bowl. Add all the other ingredients and mix well, ensuring the bread lumps have broken down and combined with the other ingredients.

Place in a large tin (I usually line the tin with greaseproof paper - it makes it easier to lift the bread pudding out), smooth to an even layer and then rough the surface. If you are posh, make nice, even furrows, first one way and then cross ways the other, with the tines of a fork. If you are a little piglet, intent on lumpy bits of crunchy heaven interspersed with drifts of caster sugar, take a wooden spoon and mark deep troughs and ridges.

Place in the middle of a pre-heated oven at 160 degrees centigrade for about an hour, checking after 45 minutes. Depending on the thickness of your pudding and the temeperament of your oven, it may need an hour and a quarter. You'll know when it's done, when the top is brown and crunchy and the edges have shrunk away from the sides of the tin.

Leave in the tin for five minutes to firm, then lift out and place on a cooling rack. When cool, or at least cool enough to handle, dredge with sugar, cut into squares, make a cup of tea and enjoy. Some people serve bread pudding with custard as a dessert. I've never known it to last that long.

Sometimes I add left over under or over ripe fruit - bananas, apples and pears, plums - or the last bits and pieces of dried apricots or dates in the jar.



5348
Walking

Sort:  

Oh I like bread pudding @shanibeer, sometimes we get in too much bread and some bread's go hard so instead of throwing it away we make bread a pudding, if not it still goes out for the birds to eat.

gorgeous! i don't know many other people that cook with suet but I certainly do. It's great in dumplings and Savoury puddings. Never tried it in bread pudding though.

Suet pastry is something else 😊
Forgive me @timothyallen, but it's a little rude to boost a comment on a post you haven't voted for.

I loved the recipe - till I saw "raisins or sultanas" shudders I hate these ;) And I had to look up 'suet' - we don't have that here, only lard and tallow. Never used that for cooking, I sometimes use tallow for making food for the birds in winter.

I know similar casseroles from my childhood, too. I'm a late child, my eldest sibling was 18 when I was born, and dishes like this were still made. On the other hand it was the start of the age of convenience food with stuff out of cans or out of the freezer. My mother still made preserves and jam and apple sauce with fruits of our garden but the catalogues of the companies that brought frozen food to your door was always on the kitchen table. She loved not having to spend hours cooking anymore :)

There are two different types of bread casserole I know and make: sweet or savoury. The sweet one is done with white bread which is soaked in milk, topped with an egg/milk mixture and eaten with fresh fruit or preserves. The savory one is for darker breads, soaked in a light broth and cooked with onions and an aromatic cheese like gruyère or old gouda. I don't know a lot about cheese from the UK but the cheddars I know should work brillantly.

You might use dried barberries (Berberitze) or cranberries also (apart from the suggestions @shanibeer made).

Hehe - sultanas or raisins are not compulsory (although my folk memory tells me they are), there are all kinds of innovations like adding fresh fruit (quartered plums work very well) or chocolate chips or even a couple of spoonfuls of marmalade.
Here, tallow applies to rendered sheep's fat, although I see it can also apply to beef fat, which we call suet. I've only come across tallow for candle-making (it must have been very smelly).
I understand your mother's feelings completely, having to cook for a family is a different matter to cooking to please yourself. When I am responsible for others, I also have a few things in the freezer!
The egg/milk pudding you talk about sounds like our bread and butter pudding. I like the sound of the savoury bread dish ... I must investigate further!

It's interesting that you have a special word for fat from cattle also. My online dictionary just told me that suet plainly translates to the Rindertalg which is the German term I was about to refer to.
I never heard that sheep tallow could be used for baking too, I only roughly knew about suet.

@ shanibeer, excellent post! So well-written! I especially enjoyed the personal history. I had forgotten all about bread pudding. Now, I know what to do with all my stale bread.

Thankyou @kimmac, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't usually have so much bread left over, but since @akipponn inspired me with her @breadbakers, I have got a little more enthusiastic with my bread making! I may try making it with some vegetable suet, just for the old school experience!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh gorgeous, my Dad's favourite but interesting. We always call it bread and butter pudding. They both seem the same, somI will look forward to the recipe.
I can't believe you used that delicious rye bread though!

I went a bit crazy and made some cheese and onion bread before I had eaten all the rye bread, and then there was an earlier loaf using a different brand of yeast that hadn't turned out well. Something had to be done, and it's a long time since I've had enough bread to make a pudding, usually I just make breadcrumbs and put them in the freezer.

The scraps of cheese and onion bread I chopped into small dice and dried in the oven to make croutons. They would also be a really nice drinks snack - a bit like cheese straws. That loaf was a great success, taste wise, although it looked a bit strange :)

Bread and butter pudding is different and quite posh. It's nice white bread spread with butter, cut into triangles and neatly layered in a pudding dish. Two eggs beaten into half a pint of milk and maybe a drop of vanilla extract are poured over and the bread left to soak for a good half an hour. A handful of currants (not sultanas or raisins for this dish) are sprinkled over before the pudding is cooked in a moderate oven for 35-40 minutes until the custard is set. It is divine.

I agree! Bread pudding is totally different from bread and butter pudding. I love both. I think it might be geographical. We grew up on bread and butter pudding but i'd never tried bread pudding until I came to Wales.. it's a bit more like cake isn't it?

It is more like cake. Bread and butter pudding is much lighter - down south at any rate :).

Dear @shanibeer

I've noticed that you were delegating some SP to dstors as a way of supporting their project. Im not sure if you've aware but they shut it town.

Those guys from dstors didn't even bother to contact people who supported them. Such a shame. This project looked very promissing.

ps.
I was wondering if you would consider supporting my efforts in building a crypto community here on Steemit..

Since HF20 took place, myself, along with a few other active "Steemians" decided to put in extra effort into making our little community stronger. And community build mostly on mutual engagement and support instead of financial rewards.

I recently delegated over 3500 SP to a group of 80 active steemians who struggled with low RC levels (resource credit). And the results has been great so far. One of my latest posts reached over 800 comments, which I found insane

Those results are only proving that our efforts are worth something. The only thing is that I can only do "that much" with my current resources.

Perhaps you could consider supporting our efforts with some delegation? I would seriously appreciate your help.

Please let me know what do you think. I will appreciate every feedback, regardless of your decision.

Yours
Piotr

Hello @crypto.piotr, thank you for your comment. I already delegate to a number of communities that I support - @steemclubuk, @chops.support and @needlewokmonday - with the same intention of helping engagement and retention and supporting anyone with low rcs. Good luck with your endeavours, perhaps you'd like to approach @timothyallen.

Dear @shanibeer

Thank you for your kind reply. I appreciate it.

ps. steemclubuk and needlewokmonday seem not to work.

Yours,
Piotr

My apologies: @steemclub-uk and @needleworkmonday.
Best wishes.

Hi @shanibeer

Thanks for replying to my previous comment. I always appreciate people who engage back.

Will follow you closely.

Yours
Piotr

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 42.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5348 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 3.29% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84