Steemfest lingers on in my imagination: November 14 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

20181114_172307.jpg

I was loitering at Edgeware Road, getting my bearings, when a man came by and picked up a thick gold ring from the ground at my feet.

He insisted I have it, "for luck, it will bring us both luck if you have it." He was from Poland, he said, Krakow (I know, fancy that), looking for work.

He sauntered off, then came back. He needed money, forty pounds, he said, he was undocumented, he said. I gave him a fiver I had loose in my coat and wondered if he had a pocketful of gold rings to drop at the feet of likely looking marks (daft English women).

Later, I wandered into Hatchard's at Kings Cross St Pancras, a proper bookshop with quotes by Jane Austen and James Joyce, displays of books other than travel trash and a whole secluded niche of non-fiction.

Poland has caught my attention, already I understand it has had a checkered history. Before that I had only heard of Lech Walesa and the Gdansk shipyards, Polish builders frightening in their efficiency. Now it lingers, proud, desolated, rich and ravaged in my imagination.

How ignorant we are in our British isles.

I found a history by Adam Zamoyski, a chapter called the Polish Question, much the same as Red Famine (Anne Applebaum) had one called the Ukraine Question (so troublesome these eastern border countries).

I love the maps, the tables of monarchic dynasties littered with Hapsburgs and Boleslaw the Curly, grainy black and white photographs and the index stuffed with fat, indented sections like plums in a plum pudding.

On the way to the cash desk with my treasure, I stumbled over London Belongs To Me, a Penguin Modern Classic. I'm transported to 1938, words printed on thinner paper with a silky sheen. Just as well, it's 738 pages long.

20181114_174245.jpg


1966
Daily Activity, Walking

Sort:  

I think I would have just given him the ring he dropped back and said go sell this!

Nice finds in the book store, London Belongs to Me looks really absorbing - and at 738 pages should last you a little while as well.

Thank you very much for the Witness Vote, very much appreciated. I was already following, so we must have crossed paths before or it was from when I followed everyone with "beer" in their account name! Did you manage to catch @derangevisions at SteemFest? You wouldn't miss him, beard that looks like it came straight out of a salon!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Oh, giving the ring back would have been a great idea! I'm too slow in these situations - like I said somewhere else, he saw me coming hehe. Oh well, such is life in the great metropolis, it was always like this and in a way I'm glad it is.
I think I was following you before, you posted a really good #marketfriday post at some stage, but I'm renewed from steemfest and sorting out who I'm following (and voting as witnesses) and trying to support more UK folks. I don't remember @derangedvisions ...
I'm looking forward at getting into London Belong to Me. It might be some time before I post again!

I was about to link @kaliju post with @derangedvisions and @gtg leading, photographed by the awesome @enginewitty - and then saw you had already found it and remembered Wes. But, I'm going to pop this photo back in again just because it embodies what the Steem Blockchain means to me....

D5zH9SyxCKdAqEK2oQkKWrixiP6DvPVi4d3EWumMrBNcCeCo8if9o8GkfHG6vcNryv8WnCKt73FFmoZgbBW7xbrFVMXysbshKP1psqM9hyQYikeUWmRG9h9ZpsTg6kudwXJRMx.jpeg

So many people from around the world working together, truly amazing.

Ah, thank you; @gtg was very interesting to meet, too, and an excellent steward in the salt mines ... none of us was left behind :)
I was just thinking before I saw this (and now that I have had a few days to process steemfest) how I have become re-engaged with steem, I'm enjoying it as I did when I first joined - meeting interesting people, finding out new things, fabulous :)

We gotta have you at the next big meet @c0ff33a.

Posted using Partiko Android

It sounds like a scam to me for sure!

Looks like a very interesting book. I need to get back to reading more. Gonna try and make Sunday a reading day.

Great meeting you at SF3!

Posted using Partiko Android

It was lovely going in a proper bookshop with something other than the bestsellers and the Dummies series. I was transported sitting in a cafe afterwards, turning the pages and getting that new book smell. There is something quite different about reading a material book. England Belongs to Me is a bit unwieldy, I think that might be an at home book.
I enjoyed meeting you, too, I was sorry we didn't get more time to chat, but great to connect nonetheless, we might not find each at SF4!

Congratulations @shanibeer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80