My Actifit Report Card: October 17 2018 {Plus a Yummy Green Smoothie Recipe!}

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181017_134100241.jpg

Hey guys! I figured I'd cover quite a few bases in my post today. It was one of the last training sessions of my corporate run groups before the 5k race next week, so I got in plenty of steps to share. My speedy buddy joined in again today so we got in a little preview of part of the course on our run. While waiting for the rest of the crew I got to hear about his recent journey to good health. I also got to dispel some myths about vegans getting enough protein.

As I always like to add some value to my step posts, I figure it was about time to incorporate some food into this one as well as support my fellow @steemusa member @tattoodjay on his Wednesday theme to get in a walk and take some photos of what you see. We'll work up an appetite first then I'll finish out with a tasty and nutritious recipe.

IMG_20181017_134036033.jpg

I know @tattoodjay likes buildings, so I also figured showing a view from the top of the deck I now park from when I teach in downtown Atlanta would be a nice addition to his #wednesdaywalk collection. The first few times I parked there I had trouble finding a spot, so I got a little frustrated and didn't really take the time to check out a slightly different view than I have experienced in Atlanta before. Today I had plenty of time to leisurely walk back to my spot and then actually take a look around when I got back to my car. It really was a stunning day, so it was fun to take an extra minute and get some extra shots. Parking on the 9th floor gets some extra steps for the day and great photos!

IMG_20181017_134044031.jpg

I suppose I should have done a little homework and figured out what some of the buildings were. Maybe next time. After the afternoon's activities I was ready for my smoothie. ;)

I don't do smoothies every day, but they are nice when I know I am going to be on the go and may not be able to eat a regular meal. They come in especially handy on days like today when I am training during normal lunch hours and I'm also getting my workout at the same time. With doing the corporate run groups I've been getting a little extra activity in on top of my regular workouts. A nutrient-packed smoothie is just the thing to add some extra fuel to keep me going on these busy days. My gal pal @vegan.niinja does a #greensmoothiewednesday initiative on Instagram, so this was my contribution for the day.

IMG_20181017_100825466.jpg

"Green" Apple & Kohlrabi Smoothie

  • 3 cups filtered water
  • 3 handfuls leafy greens
  • 1 small handful fresh mint
  • 1 bulb kohlrabi, peeled & chopped
  • 2 small apples, cored & chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1 frozen banana, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon each ground flax & hemp seeds
  • 1 teaspoon each maca, matcha & amla powders

IMG_20181017_102627511_HDR.jpg

Blend until smooth and enjoy!



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa



11026
Running, Walking

Sort:  

Those are cool buildings I do love the reflections in the second one, now thats a real green Smoothie

thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thanks @tattoodjay! Always happy to join in, especially when I can combine it with some food, haha! What's a walk without a little refreshment afterwards? ;)

OHh yes a good walkis a good excuse for good food,I skipped my morning walk today it was just to cold I have to adjust tot here temps LOL

Congratulations, you're a good exeple for us and we smoothie looks great!

Aww, thanks @erikah! I do my best to be a part of the moving movement. ;) Even I end up sometimes sitting too much, so just posting is good motivation for me to get up and get active just a bit more.

Keep up and steem on ;)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 58.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 11026 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 5.59% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

The smoothie looks and sounds delish. I always love a good green smoothie. (Pssst. Pssst.… what is kohlrabi? Am I the only one on the planet who doesn’t know what it is?) that was all obviously asked in a whisper because it’s written in parenthesis :)

I was a little worried this one might turn out a bit too "green" if you know what I mean, but apples really do brighten things up and add that nice natural sweetness to tone down the veggies. My world was rocked last year when I tried kohlrabi for the first time! I kept seeing it at the farmers market and was a little intimidated. One week I just decided to grab one and see what happened. Now I love it! Kohlrabi is fantastic in a warm or cold salad--it has a great bite to it. It kind of reminds me a little of jicama when it is raw, just with a slightly different flavor to it. I can now attest to it being a great addition to a smoothie, as well. Perhaps they aren't grown in your part of the country, but if you ever see one give it a try!

I will keep my eye out for it. @dandays is in to this new thing where he buys an exotic fruit to try and then writes about on @foodfightfriday. It’s pretty neat. Last week I believe he wrote about kiwano horned melons… such a trip. I love jicama so I’ll definitely keep my eyes peeled.

That's exactly the type of smoothie I'd love to have! And the kind of smoothie that would get a lot of "ewww"s from my family... They just don't understand the great things in life, haha!

Like @tattoodjay, I also love the reflections in the second photo! Nice #wednesdaywalk photos! :)

Haha, yeah I usually get made fun of for my smoothie combinations by my friends and co-workers. At least this one has a vibrant green versus my usual dirty brown! I did a similar version with ginger instead of mint a few days ago and that was excellent, as well. It had a little more kick to it, but I enjoyed both for a nice infusion of the good stuff into my day!

There's nothing wrong with dirty brown either, as long as the taste is nice, right? I could imagine I'd like the ginger version even more. I just love the taste, and the kick! :)

Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79