My Actifit & Life Report Card: November 12 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

2aaa1e1bba45970aaa1e710745150d9205a0ca5c.jpg

Hip, Hip, Hooray!!!

Finally, an over 10,000 day!!!

I didn’t think today was the day for that. My intention was to write all day and pound out a bunch for NaNoWriMo.

I like to stay ahead of the game.

But things went differently. My friend needed more help moving.

IMG_5086.JPG

Instead of writing after feeding the animals, I hopped in the truck and we loaded it up.

Quite the Beverly Hillbilly style of moving!

IMG_5088.JPG

This is the picture that sent through the deep dream generator produced the first picture above. Pretty cool what that app will do. If only I were a painter - I also could turn ugly scenes into pieces of art.

IMG_5076.JPG

As you can see, my friend is a gardener and tubs of compost, plants, and pallets with wheels to move plants around were all part of the move.

After all the items were in, we filled the rest up with big bags of plastic water bottles to be recycled.

True to form, a bag with recycling fell off on the way. I was going slow and driving side streets so it wasn’t a big deal to collect it.

But losing something of the truck almost always belongs to the moving experience if done the hill billy style. I should have known better and reinforced the bag. It was a little old and it broke. (Just to be clear - usually, I don't have things falling off my truck - but have seen it happen plenty of times)

Since the recycle place was kind of on the way home - and open even though today was a Holiday in the US - I decided to stop and get it over with. Precious writing minutes filled with other activities but it seemed the most logical thing to do.

Back home, I parked the truck in the driveway and there it is still. With everything loaded. Most items were too heavy for me to unload them by myself and my friend had to go to work.

Also, today was a day of Santa Ana conditions. That means winds coming from the desert that are super dry. The plants were screaming for water.

They got some.

Finally, writing time!!!

I added 3048 words to my story. A bit short of the 5000 I was aiming for. And while the day is not over, it is not midnight yet, my brain has given up for today. No more writing for me unless Gibberish is needed. I might be able to do that...

A lady had dropped off some apple cake earlier - long story. Let's just keep it at random people dropping off cake. Don't you want to live in a world like that?

My inner German demanded whipping cream to go with the cake and the sauerkraut dinner really wanted to have potatoes to go with it.

I know, we have demanding food in our house. What can I do but obey? Especially that voice demanding whipping cream.

The truck was loaded and the store is just over a mile away. Really not that far but for the most part, not a pleasant walk. Today, the traffic was light due to the Holiday which made it much, much nicer to walk there.

I got my 5 lb bag of potatoes and the whipping cream - the larger size was on sale for pretty much the same price as the smaller size. Which one do you think I chose?

IMG_5092.JPG

Here is the cake with its crown. Of course, I needed a nice cup of coffee with it. No worries, it was decaf. I will be falling asleep easily - any minute now.

IMG_5093.JPG

The only disturbing thing was the table clothes. It gave me quite the psychedelic experience. I think I use a different one tomorrow.

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!



10064
Daily Activity,Shopping,Walking

Sort:  
Loading...

Good job! :D

You safe down there? Weather man said south California is basically a tinder box.

It is a tinderbox. So far, we have been okay in San Diego - just little fires that were easily contained. But that can change any time. We have Santa Ana conditions right now. that means dry, dry and more dry.

And people are so stupid!! A friend of mine just went camping and in the campgrounds, the firepits had a tape over it saying that the fire danger is too big and no fires are allowed.

what did some of the campers do? rip off the tape and start a fire! So stupid!!!

Yeah, probably not the best idea lol

So, in the wake of a fire, what are some ways that permaculture can move in and help? An obvious asset to me would be biochar, but there's got to be more answers that are less obvious. And just as important, how could permaculture help prevent so much property loss?

I think if everyone in the stricken areas had planted fire stopping plants around the perimeter of their houses and used all their grew water to keep things green might have helped.
Also, gardening the forest like the Indians did - probably a combination of a lot of factors - including allowing water to sink into the landscape instead of getting diverted to supply the huge cities with water.

A big problem is to build houses into areas that always had fires - a natural way nature is working here. If there aren't a bunch of people and property at stake, they could burn and then nature does its thing again.
Many plants here have seeds that need to be in a fire before they germinate. So, fire is not the problem, people living in areas that are supposed to burn ever so often are...

Gray water is a great idea. As is not living in places that thrive on fire. Unfortunately, I doubt anyone is going to think to implement these ideas, as they're pretty unconventional.

It sucks because people are going to keep putting themselves and their property in danger by living I a way that's out of tune with natural processes.

yes. Themselves and the people who come and rescue them...I think we need to get some sense into our heads soon...

Maybe we will. There's gotta be hope. I mean, if little old Nate can get into permaculture, anyone can. Might be a good opportunity for us as a community to start spreading the word and actually be heard by more people.

That orange fella seems to think government money is the answer, I think there's enough people that know better than that... Fires don't give a dam about money.

Well done, mate... 😜: congratulations! 🎉🎈

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :) Nothing compared to walking a marathon in flip flops :)

LOL 😂
I simply have an higher level of craziness! 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @mariannewest! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congrats on over 10k! love the hillbilly style moving ;) <333 and the ddg art is awesome! You gooo SiStar!!!!

Much Reiki Love,

💖🙌💖

~April

rulersig2.jpg
@Actifit Moderator
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Delegate to Actifit 10SP| 20SP| 50SP| 100SP| 250SP| 500SP|
1000SP| 5000SP| 10000SP| 20000SP| Custom Amount
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank you so much. You know, there are days when I do so much physical work and am not ending up with a lot of points. And others - like walking to the store is easy breezy, I end up with a lot. But it might also be my phone not counting...

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




Thank you so much!!!

I love that you don't just post your actifit update- I like that you actually share what you've been up to.

Thank you. I think just posting the report is boring LOL

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 77.875 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10064 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 10.85% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

This post has received a 5.00% upvote from Big Chuck Bot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82