#needleworkmonday :: A not-so-successful zipper fix

in #actifit โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)


Hello!! It is Monday again! Happy #NeedleWorkMonday lovely NeedleWork Artists!


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~ ~ ~


Last week, I had the "pleasure" of fixing a zipper of the ankle part of a pair of track pants. It is one of my hub's favourites. He needed to use it in 4 hours and I thought it can't be that hard, right? wrong ๐Ÿ˜ณ...

image.png


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~ ~ ~


The problem was that the zipper head came off. I tried to insert it back into the zipper but to my horror, it broke apart ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

image.png

I thought, oh well, let the pants continue to be zipper-less until my smart self decided to take a look at the stitches. I probably should have tried to insert another zipper head but my fingers and eyes couldn't coordinate well enough to insert it properly.

image.png

The stitches looked fairly straightforward and so I drafted a plan, take out the stitches and sew a new one! I rummaged through my zipper stash and dang, I do not have a black one. The closest I could find was a brown zipper which I salvaged from a rotting PVC bag:

image.png

Okay, brown is pretty close to black right, shouldn't be that bad. I started picking out the stitches with my faithful stitch picker or seam ripper:

image.png

image.png

Then, as carefully as I could, pinned the brown zipper to the pants:

image.png

And, off to the sewing machine. I changed the foot to a zipper foot and confidently started sewing, just like how I watched some of the Youtubers did:

image.png

When I reached the bottom of the pants, I cut the excess and tucked the zipper in carefully and sewed it on:

image.png

Once I was done, I was so excited to zip it on:

image.png

Until I realized, one side was longer than the other! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ ๐Ÿ˜ฒ ๐Ÿ˜ณ

image.png


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~ ~ ~

There wasn't any time left to re-fix it and so I had to pass the pants back to my hubby.

He was really sweet and didn't mind the brown and uneven zipper. He was happy that there is a functional zipper now and that the pants won't be flapping around his ankles.
Maybe I will re-fix it later if my mood to fix zippers comes back ๐Ÿ˜

image.png


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~ ~ ~


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒผ~๐ŸŒผ~ ~ ~

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed ๐Ÿ‘ Daily Income ๐Ÿ’ต and Payout ๐Ÿ’ธ for Newbies (2.0) ๐ŸŸ ๐Ÿœ ๐Ÿ› in #ccc ๐Ÿ‘ฃ and Follow ๐Ÿ‘ฃ the Honor Code ๐Ÿ… - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


My Actifit Today: May 20 2019


Today I brought my phone with me in my pocket from the morning until the night and I proved to myself that I can get about 5k steps just by doing house chores. Just need to remember to bring my phone with me at all times.

Happy Monday peeps!



5234
House Chores,Walking

Sort: ย 

Wow I commend you for braving this zipper challenge. I have yet to insert mine. You were going so smoothly and confidently too. Bummer that it was uneven but hey itโ€™s functional! ๐Ÿ˜„ Iโ€™m glad he was okay with it. Hopefully youโ€™ll get in the mood again to refix it later. But honestly unless someone is really looking closely they might not notice it :)

Thank you @crosheille! ๐Ÿ˜˜ yah what a bummer ๐Ÿ˜‚. I was consoling myself that too, especially since it is right above the foot ๐Ÿ˜… I hope nobody notices.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is really interesting... Thank you for showing us this amazing work and thanks for using @actifit...I had no idea about this...

rulersig2.jpg@Actifit Moderator
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Delegate to Actifit 10SP| 20SP| 50SP| 100SP| 250SP| 500SP| 1000SP| 5000SP| 10000SP| 20000SP| Custom Amount
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app storeFAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank you @priyanarc!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I do alterations for a few clients and zipper replacement is a popular service. The most difficult part is removing the damaged zipper, I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yah. It takes quite some patience to remove the zipper. Not the most fun thing to do ๐Ÿ˜…

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 54.375 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5234 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.89% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank you @actifit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This could have ben me :-DDDD Or better even, I guess I would have sewn it in inside out. Sorry, but I really had to smile: you did everything so planned and clever and then this stup** zipper decided to misbehave at the very last step.
Nevertheless, you managed to sew it neatly into the cuff and I imagine this is not easy (zippers are still my angst item, as are buttonholes) and it's a gesture of love for your husband. <3

Righttt? It is the stup** zipperโ€™s fault. Haha. But my bad, I forgot to consider for the stretchy track pants fabric and was too excited executing my plan. Oh well, lesson learnt.. if I remember the next time ๐Ÿ˜‚ Thank you @neumannsalva ๐Ÿ˜˜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I may have written this in some answers to your other comments, but its not you, itโ€™s the zipper :-DD I suspect a conspiracy, mine are also doing unwanted things and never could I be responsible for this (your hear me laughing very loud while I rip out a zipper from a skirt I tried to sew)

You managed more than I ever would have! :)
Good job and you learned something too!

Thank you @jamethiel! Hehe yah. Learnt not to be overly confident with a plan that has not been tried and tested before.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you @helpiecake and @vibesforlife!! ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oooh! how offensive. you worked so much! Why was one edge longer? you have a wonderful husband :) this job really does not look complicated at all, but it turns out that everything is not so simple. I will keep this in mind when I need to do this kind of work :)

Thank you @tali72. Yah it was quite frustrating. Looks simple but darn, forgot one thing. Haha. I think one side became longer due to the stretch fabric. Will need to keep in mind when dealing with stretch fabric that it can expand as you sew.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oooooh! thank! I will take this into account

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74