#needleworkmonday :: Crocheted phone pouch with windows

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)
Happy #NeedleWorkMonday to all you amazing NeedleWork Artists!

Thanks to the Actifit mobile app, I have been tracking my steps and have been visiting the gym more often this year. Usually, I will wear my little sling pouch that will house my phone while brisk walking on the treadmill.

However, whenever I need to see the time or if I want to forward the song that is playing, I will need to pull out the phone from the pouch. Sometimes, this requires a balanced body and mind to be able to do this without losing balance and fall off the treadmill.

Last week, I asked myself to crochet a pouch for my phone, one that I will be able to see the time and be able to press forward if I feel like changing the song. And so, I crocheted a phone pouch with windows!

I pretty much crocheted as I go, not following any pattern, and you will see some parts are a little distorted. I also discovered that my slip stitch joints are quite bad 😅. I need more practice there!

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹

I used one of the cheapest acrylic yarns (USD 1 or less for a 100g skein), a 5/0 crochet needle and I started chaining 25, about 4cm wider than my phone's width.

I chained 1 and single crochet (sc) all along the back loops of the 25 chains.

When I reached the end of chain 25, I added 1 sc before continuing 1 sc, moving on to the front loops of the 25 chains.

The addition of 1 sc at the 25th chain creates a curved oval shape when I move on to crochet the front loops. I also added 1 sc at the beginning of the 25 chains.

I basically crocheted in a round to create a little base.

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹

After that, I continued to single crochets all around the base to build the pouch without adding anymore stitches and no joining either.

The little pouch will begin to grow in height.

After about 2 to 3 rounds, I started to join the rounds with a slip stich and chain 1 before continuing round 6 with sc all around. This is to start forming the height of the pouch without it growing into an oval shape upwards.

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹

Then, it was time to create my little windows for the clock view. I placed markers at where I wanted to create the window and single crochet back and forth, keeping that "window" open.

When I reached the height that I wanted, I joined the window back by chaining across the window and joined with the other side of the window. I gave it a test with the phone to see if I can view the clock.

And I moved on to the second window to be able to forward to the songs I like during gym.

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹

I continued all the way around until I reached the height of the phone and during the last 3 rounds, I created the side hooks placement for the strap hooks.

At the final round, it was time for slip stitching all around and in the middle, I chained 20 to create a button fastener.

Once finished with the slip stitches, I fastened off.

And stitched the button at the center of the pouch, aligned to the 20 chained fastener.

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹

Here is my phone pouch now, tested with one of my bag's strap:

I would like to still add a crocheted sling and a back strap for belt to put around my waist 😊.

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹

This is also my entry to @foxyspirit's Ultimate Crochet Contest.

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹

Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.

🔹🔷🔹👝📱👟🏃🏻‍♀️👟📱👝🔹🔷🔹


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


My Actifit Today: March 19 2019

A day of walking to the office and back, and then after dinner, we went looking for a particular soy drink that we like.


5391

Walking

Sort:  

You genius lady you! 😄 This is so clever and functional. We definitely don’t want you falling off the treadmill!

I agree with @muscara! The joy of crafting and learning the basics is so awesome because you can actually put your ideas forward and create amazing things!

Have you looked into @homesteaderscoop marketplace? If you have ever been interested in selling some of your creations I think you should look into this! I’ll be making a post next week about getting my shop together and inviting all of my needlework friends to look into this project and consider applying for a spot! I love this idea and think it would be a good seller! 😉

I’ll be back when my VP is higher. I gotta give my peeps the best of what I have! 😊

Hehe thank you @crosheille!! 😊 I agree.. with the basic skills, we can make anything really!

Yes, I have looked at the https://homesteaderscoop.com/ to admire the things there 😁 but I didn't think about setting a shop there. It sounds interestingly enticing! I am wondering about shipping costs though.. It would be very expensive I think. But it is really cool that we can transact with STEEM and SBD! I can't wait for your post next week. It is really a neat idea!

Yes I have decided to only ship in the US because it is expensive. You can decide on how you want to do that and set it up. You don’t have to ship internationally if you don’t want to.

Yes it’s such a wonderful project!

Great idea and so useful! That's what I love about learning and knowing crafts: you get an idea, you consider "How?" and you can start making it :)

Thank you @muscara! Yes I agree! It is trial and error but when you made something based on an idea, it feels really gratifying :)

I love this, such a good idea ... but I have a request, I want to see the belt attachment, this is what I'm looking for, I know you will have a brilliant idea about how to do it.

:) Thank you @shanibeer! OK.. Let me work it out first the idea I have and then show it to you. I am thinking to add a simple belt attachment (just a rectangle piece), sew it behind the pouch which will allow a belt to pass through.

Sounds great!

This is so clever!!! Why did nobody think of this before? A phone case with a window is perfect and makes the phone so much easier to use. And your slip stitches look perfectly fine to me.
WIth the belt I am not too sure if it would work. I don‘t now your figure, but with mine, belts don‘t work for running or faster walking as the belt either slips down or upwards with every step. My waist sits too high to wear something heavy (like a phone) comfortable.
THank you for sharing this cool idea 🌈👍🏻👍🏻

:D Thank you @neumannsalva! You made me blush!😊
Ahh.. belt does that huh... hmmm... I will need to experiment and see. I usually wear it sling across my body and when I jog or walk fast, the pouch will annoyingly move towards the front. I prefer to keep my pouch with my phone rested on my butt, thinking that my butt will have enough fats to lessen the radiation to my body 😆.

I have that problem with a sling .. and the same problem with the belt ... I was thinking the attachment could be two crossover straps?

Aahh.. you are right. We possibly need some kind of combination of both 🤔


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love the idea! With the windows for easy access to what you need and want to do is brilliant ^_^

Nice skills! And gratz for the 5k! :D

How long since you began to crochete?

Thanks @foxof! :D Ah I self learnt in school many moons ago, but stopped for many moons and last yr, I started again, thanks to #needleworkmonday. Why don’t you join us :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

It would be a pleasure, but I already do a lot of things, I can't add needle work to my schedule xD.

:)

So cute ! I need one of these, to be honest ! Sometimes I'd be out and about and you know how some women's clothes are ....... WITHOUT POCKETS! So it is very difficult to find a place to store phones, but I think with these pouches, this problem will be solved \o/!!!!

Awesome creation !!!! :D

Yes!!! And it is so inconvenient to hold your phone everywhere you go! Hehe.. thank you @veryspider :)

Congratulations @marblely! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great idea and project! Looks nice and is actually useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23