You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Connecting Steemit, scientific research and academia?

in #academia8 years ago

Hello Benjamin,

welcome to Steemit, and thanks for sharing your thoughts.

I'm not sure how you got the impression that monetary rewards would play a role in #pevo. In fact, the whitepaper even states that they won't.

The author of a post is rewarded by the Steem blockchain, proportional to the amount of votes she received from the public compared to all the other votes that were cast on Steem during a certain period of time. Because of the heterogeneity of the communities using Steem it cannot be expected to become a great source of income for single users, but it certainly will add to the incentives to use the platform.

It's all about reviews and peers. Think of it as a decentralized arXiv with review (comment) and versioning capabilities. Only accredited scientists will have a voice. The public can participate on Steemit, but the Pevo interface will filter "unknown" users.

I would be happy to talk with you directly, and maybe we can even get you interested in working on the remaining issues (with others)? The verification/accreditation procedure and the reputation algorithm need a lot of input from people actively involved in the process, our goal is to fund an advisory board consisting of different faculties.

Our dedicated chat is located at https://chat.pevo.science
Hope to see you there,

Michael

Sort:  

Hi Michael,

Thanks for the clarifications. My impression was wrong about the money. I read the white paper maybe a little bit too fast.

Concerning peer-reviewing and comments, it may be good to maintain these two separate. The reason is simple. I may have a couple of comments and questions on a paper and will thus write two-three lines as an answer to the post. Now, if I need to review a paper, I will most probably write several pages of comments (my longer review was 10-pages long... and was about a ~40 pages paper).

I will try to show myself on the chat and take part to live discussions. Note however that I am currently in vacation and not too connected (at least less than usually). Moreover, I am leaving in the GMT+1 zone.

Cheers,

Benjamin

Yes, reviews and comments will need to be handled differently of course.

The whitepaper is tightly packed, my main goal was to keep it short with a high information density. I start to get the feeling that I went a bit too far with that.

We're spread over several timezones, so discussions happen in slices anyway. I'm in Germany, so we shouldn't have problems to meet, just send me a direct message when you're there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53