SteemData MongoDB Query to Find "SMT" Comments - Spam Don't Give A Damn

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

Wanted to provide this resource to my fellow abuse fighters to assist the investigation of the SMT rings.


The below is a MongoDB query I crafted which may be plugged into Robo3T to pull comments from the "SMT" scamming networks for action.

DBQuery.shellBatchSize = 1000;
db.getCollection('Comments').find({$and : 
    [{'body': {$regex: /smt /, $options: 'i' }},{$where: 'this.body.length <7'},{'created': {$gte: ISODate("2018-03-29T00:00:00.000Z")}}]})

Looks like SteemData is a bit behind. Not seeing comments past the 2nd. Perhaps, someone with a more up to date DB can get better use out of this. Maybe, @duplibot.

Anyways, this will pull comments that are less than 7 characters and have 'SMT ' in the body (case insensitive).

These accounts are using delegations from @steem but the accounts have a strange pattern. I believe this is only the tip of the iceberg.

Checked out that post which is using @postpromoter. I suspect this plagiarized from Facebook due to the similarity in formatting. I don't have the time to chase it down but definitely something off about it. It's tag misuse at the very least.


wth.gif

And what's up with the phone screenshot at the bottom? Just strange.

I've contacted @yabapmatt but nothing back yet. Appreciate anybody's thoughts on what the heck is going on here.

BOLO for a Steemflagrewards update tomorrow err... I mean today!

In other news, I need sleep. Night, afternoon, morning wherever you are!

Sort:  

It is dizzying the efforts that some people will go to, in order to farm a few pennies for their crap! I guess it adds up and probably pays off in the long con, but wow.

People like this are why we can't have nice things.

...my account was hacked last night and the bot created a phishing site link here in the comments from my account ... the link is now removed... Today I got my account back.. sorry about that :( :( :( thanks. please help me to regain my reputation and funds that is stolen by hackers please give your support 🙏🏻🙏🏻
https://steemit.com/steemit/@prashant/i-just-recovered-my-stolen-account

Comment spamming on a post about... comment spam. Oh, this is gonna be fun to watch.

Its A Bold Strategy Cotton, Lets See If It Pays Off For Em

@steemcleaners @steemflagrewards

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reporting this abuse,@anthonyadavisii categorized as comment spam. This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43