A Captain Marvel review

in #aaa4 years ago

Celebrating the arrival of Disney+, I took the chance to watch one of the newest Marvel movies today, Captain Marvel. I never got to watch it in the cinema, but I wanted to watch it, so when it came at me included with my Disney+ subscription, I grabbed the chance and streamed it today. Is it worth the time?

I asked myself a question throughout the movie... what did the person feel who set a new Guinness World Record after he had watched this movie 105 or 106 times in the cinema? It might be that I liked to watch it once, but watching it more than 100 times? That sounds crazy... in fact, I don't think there is any movie ever that I would want to watch as often as that, especially in a short time period as we are speaking about in this case. But, let us return to the movie!

What's up with Captain Marvel?

Bree Larsson, a person I remember well from the movie Room, is the new superhero in the Marvel Universe. We don't know much about her at the start of the movie, but once it comes to an end, we have learned a whole lot about her. This movie does very well in bringing a new character into our hearts, and it comes with drips of information throughout the 120 minutes you sit in front of the screen.

At first, Captain Marvel doesn't really consider herself to be anyone special. She doesn't even call herself Captain Marvel. But, as the movie progresses, she discovers more about her true identity, and also about what her mission is and what she must do to help as many people as possible in the movie.

captain marvel.jpg

I watched Avengers: Endgame before I watched Captain Marvel, meaning that I first met this character in events that happened after this movie. My first thought there was... we really missed this character in the first movie. If she would have been there, they would have smashed Thanos at once. She simply seems to be so super strong and powerful, that I can hardly believe anyone will ever be able to stop her. And as she shows up on Avengers: Endgame, we see the same again... and we also see the same at the end of Captain Marvel.

I guess the writers can easily come up with a story in which they will be able to make her vulnerable but based on what I have seen in Captain Marvel and Avengers: Endgame, the bad guys will have a hard time whipping the but of Captain Marvel.

bree.jpg
Bree Larsson looks really good in her role as Captain Marvel

Is Captain Marvel worth watching?

I had a great time watching Captain Marvel. Not because it is a movie I will remember for a very long time and because it was superb. Not at all! I enjoyed it because it is a super-hero movie from Marvel, and those are normally easy to like and enjoy for me. I also love the presence of Samuel L. Jackson as I find his humor and character to be great, and that is also why I liked movies such as The Hitman's Bodyguard and lots of other movies starring the same guy.

Captain Marvel also felt like a taste of the Star Wars universe as I looked at the scenes out in space, and that also felt good and entertaining.

In other words, this might not be a super-special-fantastic movie, but it is pure and solid entertainment and a must-see for anyone who loves a good movie from the Marvel Universe.


Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very nice review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67