You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The 31 Sentence Contest: Round 5

Here is my first entry to this contest. If my post is chosen to win SBI, I ask that my share be donated back to the contest or split up between the others as I skip SBI. I'm just entering for the fun. Here's my link:
https://steemit.com/hive-114105/@free-reign/family-life-the-31-sentence-contest-round-5

Sort:  

First Blood!!!

I shall respect your request and do as requested should you take a portion of the pot. I will give it to the other two.

I'm off to read what you wrote. If it is not already in your post, maybe you will share what the writing process was like for you. What did you like and what did you not like? This is mainly for my own curiousity.

Thanks for your entry!!!

I approached the writing from the perspective that I thought I'd be able to do this the usual way I write, which is what I did. For each sentence, I first checked for the number of words needed and then wrote my sentence, trying to roughly estimate as I wrote, but not so much I'd restrict myself on giving the sentence meaning.

My plan then was go back to edit and either add or remove words to get the number right.

I estimated pretty well on most sentences and the changes needed didn't have a detrimental effect on the meaning of the sentence. But I actually estimated five of the bigger sentences perfectly, which I thought was pretty amazing.

I found out about your contest from my friend @owasco, who had entered for round 4. The contest looked like fun and a challenge, so when I saw the post for round 5 I went at it. I entered and will continue entering because I enjoy the uniqueness of the challenge.

I think I find this contest idea interesting for the same reason you started the contest; the 31 sentence structure producing a supposed unique rhythmic quality to the story. There wasn't anything I didn't like about it. I think it's a great and very original contest idea. Thanks for running it!

I'm glad I asked because the way I have been doing it was much harder. I pull cards randomly so I don't know what is coming next. I wouldn't move on until I had the correct number of words in the sentence. This is hard because it does stop the flow of writing and takes a long time.

The way you are doing it is a little bit less restrictive because I have in mind to guestimate each sentence length and continue to move the story forward, later going back and fixing the number count.

So, yeah, thanks for getting back to me about your method. It is working for me much better as I work to complete this last weeks freewrite.

Thanks! I'm really glad describing my process has helped you. Hope you do well on the freewrite!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38