100 Words. An Entry of My Own (Does not Qualify). Wilderness, Thank You Gene!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #100words8 years ago

img

Image: The Gazette Review

⌘⌘⌘⌘⌘

Comical, quizzical, whimsical, brave

This guy was a hoot

From the cot to the grave


He was known as Jerome

In his Milwaukee home.


But he took to the screen

(As The Young Frankenstein)


Then sadly he cried,

When poor mother died

Undertaker he played

In Bonnie and Clyde


Those comical quizzical whimsical looks

Then led him to work with his great friend Mel Brooks


Them spruikers, them spruikers

They made The Producers

It’s Springtime for Hitler

And cooking the books


He reached ever higher

With dear Richard Pryor


Willy Wonka, Amazing

And Saddles A’Blazing


Gene Wilder 1933-2016

⌘⌘⌘⌘⌘

Follow @ebryans for Content:

img

Sort:  

I miss Gene Wilder - end of an era really. Stir Crazy is my absolute favourite. There was such comedic chemistry between Pryor and Wilder.

It will be weird to watch Young Frankenstein, Willy Wonka etc and think that he is gone. 2016 was a nightmare year for celebrity deaths.

That era had some very clever actors who just looked like they were having fun - Feldman, Belushi, Pryor and Wilder - no doubt there are many more!
Thank you for the kind remarks!

In the 20th century, actors played soul, took everything to heart and outlived their role. So sometimes they had short lives. Now, in the age of digital technology, films hit the viewer more with special effects than with acting. After all, what for to strain, all will correct the computer and will depict an emotion on the actor's face ...

A guy I know in Sydney, Australia has a film post-production facility. After the making of Baz Luhrman's 'Australia' Nicole Kidman's face had to be reworked as it looked fake from all the botox and fillers!

Great job! I found your poem an amusing reminiscence of Wilder days.

Thank you my friend! However, if you ever hear me say, "in my day", you have full license to pull the nearest trigger!

It's very sad when the best people leave. I also know and love these actors. Sadness is that in their place no longer come to such bright personalities ((

I agree! It seems that everyone is going the way of the tennis players - where is McEnroe or Nastase or Gerulaitis - they are all like machines now and it is the same with many of the actors. There are a few exceptions ... the Aussies!! Celebrity is such a circus and celebrity/attention is the biggest currency in town.

I had no idea you were such a talented poet @ebryans

Exceptional job! Cheers

Thank you my friend, I just have to make everything look different, so wilderness became Gene Wilder-ness! And so it came to pass that on the second say, @ebryans wrote some verse!!

Be careful! I was at it for about 4 hours - and going at it !! I really appreciate the vote - thank you very much indeed. Have fun. Namaste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83