How Do We Help Them Succeed? Znap Day 28

in #znap6 years ago (edited)

Clickable Image

It's that time of year we are looking at the past to see how we have bettered ourselves and those who are around us. while helping two of my Grand Georges with their Dtube videos. I found myself asking if I were doing enough to help them have the skills they needed to achieve their "dreams."

My Grand George the First wants to be a "YouTube" star and the Second wants to be famous by doing music. How am I going to encourage this and hope that they do things the right way? Thanks to @dreemsteem and her @spunkeemonkee project. I have the perfect opportunity.

My Grand George the First has made a couple of videos and he has been doing all of the thought processes and I have been helping with the video work until he is able to do it all himself. He has created the videos while I just used my know-how and taught him. If you get a chance, go visit his page @akacarl and see what he is capable of. next week he will be doing most of the work while I am there to answer his questions.

20181226_130046.jpg

Grand George the Second has the spark of creative talent, but she just doesn't understand how to stick with something even when it is hard. I am at a loss of how to encourage her to stick with it. She is @gg2 here and she and I will get her first video up soon. I am working with her the same was I am @akacarl so there is no favoritism.

Anyway, I figured you all might have some encouragement for me, some suggestions.

thanks so very much for your visit and I hope we can help to make our children and grands see how awesome they can be.

Thanks,
Ren

Sort:  

The feelings of a man who helped others was an amazing things that we had done great to our lives..

and i really appreciate your way of doing it my friend.

Thank you. I just want my grands to have a better life than I have and, unfortunately, that does not mean giving them things. It means teaching them the things that will encourage them to make the better choices and do what is right.
Ren

That was a nice one of you friend!

We can help them succeed by these great things I listed below

  1. Togetherness.
  2. One goal.
  3. Remove Pride.
  4. Say No to selfishness
  5. Say No to Greed
  6. Yes to consistency
  7. Yes to Unity
  8. Yes to Empowerment.

#zapp

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so very true @matthewthonyit. I have noticed a difference in the way the grands and I are interacting since we moved back. This has been a very good thing. But my question now is, how does one implement those things so they learn them. Obviously, there are the simple words "Yes" and "No" but that has proven over history to cause children to do the opposite. What do you do to encourage those things you listed above? #zapp

Ren

We all need to be charismatic persons providing models to follow. As the saying goes: "Leadership is not about being the best. Leadership is about making everyone else better".

Good post, anyway. Upvoted and resteemed.

I agree very much so. Having raised my children, I have found they do not only learn the good habits and skills we live but they learn the bad stuff that we hope they don't see. Thank you so much for sharing the quote. I really like it.

Oh, and thanks for the upvote and resteem. I do appreciate that.
Ren

Helping them find and follow their passions is such a wonderful thing for a grandparent to give! You are doing it exactly right!

I always question myself. I am trying very hard not to push them into what I think they want. I just want to help them do better than I did. Thank you so much for your encouragement, it is greatly appreciated.
Ren

All you can do is encourage and present different options and learning opportunities. Ultimately what they do with it and the choice is totally up to them.

you are making me do a lot of work to find this video again and answer you :D

My answer to your question can be found here

Thank you again!!

I know. I am so frustrated with the whole posting situation. @akacarl suggested we just do the work and uploading on the travel laptop (the one the kids use). I think that is how it is going to have to be. Who knew it could be so frustrating to put up a video! haha

I will head over and watch your answer!
Thank you!
Ren

Brilliant video, best way to nurture potentials, is to actually see them in the first place, I'm glad you're seeking feedback with a Znap video, and all I think you need to do is to embark on a journey to see them succeed not minding the obstacles really.

#zap

I think what you are doing now already will help them succeed. One step at a time as they are still young. Soon they will find out what they like and how to do it their way. I have not much experience though.

I don't let my children have an account on their own unless they show some sense of responsibility. So joint account with me. If he has any video he wants to upload then he will do it via me.

I have also created one account specifically for the @spunkeemonkee and told my eldest son it is a family account (which in the future I have in mind it will be his account). @jaysmasterpiece.

Well, I am learning. And all I can say is your are such a great inspiration to them already.

#zapp

I am hoping the skills I am trying to get them to learn will help them. I have been trying hard to teach them that they have to plan out what they want their videos to look like, make time management choices, and the such to help them in a career someday. Then, of course, there is the whole being appreciative of the viewers, those who are in his camera range, and so. I am hoping it helps him and GG to grow a respect for others.

As for the accounts, their parents and I have total control and they aren't allowed on them unless one of us are present. These are basically "family" accounts, but I wanted to invest in them and felt building the accounts and teaching them how to use them was a good thing. This is such a digital age and they need to learn how to use the space. I see too many just allowing their children to do whatever online and their attitudes are ugly. Not to mention the content they put out is horrid.

We are definitely all learning! I am a grandparent and I still get so many things wrong. I just hope they learn the good from me more than the bad! haha.

Thanks so much for your perspective. I do appreciate it.
Ren

Well its really nice of you that you care a lot about grandchildren and you are doing great to motivate them. Its all about motivation that pushes someone to do something..

In your reply i dont have kids yet but yes i keep on motivating myself that i can achieve it and i have to work for it

#znap+

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, thank you! I am trying to do what I can. I am not the greatest at doing the grandmotherly thing, but I can do what I am able. I believe the interaction is best. If I can motivate them to better themselves, then I am all for it.

Oh, just because you don't have children doesn't mean you can't motivate others. When you motivate yourself you are encouraging others because you are an example. Keep it up! I know your videos and comments help me out.
Ren

When you motivate yourself you are encouraging others because you are an example. Keep it up!

This line made my day ....

Thank you so much you are great :)

Well its really nice of you that you care a lot about grandchildren and you are doing great to motivate them. Its all about motivation that pushes someone to do something..
In your reply i dont have kids yet but yes i keep on motivating myself that i can achieve it and i have to work for it

#zap+

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'd say he needs to learn speed and consistency. The more you post, the more you learn. Don't worry about being perfect - just get it out there so you can improve as you go.

#zap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43