To zap, or not to zap?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #zappl7 years ago

That is the question...

DQmSijz72i6uY6ib2YHsectqSv1V5CMdRs9TQeAygnk2Sf1_1680x8400.jpg

Everyone's talking about it. The new Twitter clone on the Steem Blockchain. A place where it's finally acceptable to earn money for that random one sentence thought you just had...

I'm conflicted on whether I should stick to my morals, and only take money for creating content that involves some thought and planning, or if I should just embrace what has always been considered shit posting on Steemit?

There's one thing I know for sure. I don't want @zappl posts in my feed on @steemit... They're just a different format, one that I've always avoided with Twitter. I know the solution has a lot more to do with Steemit and not Zappl, and there needs to be a way to filter out content posted from third parties, maybe an option in the profile settings. I have the same problem with @dtube. If I want to watch videos, I'll totally go check out their website, but I've always avoided Steemit posts that are little more than a video lacking an explanation or context.

I also realize there's nothing inherently wrong with these platforms, but the way they are and will be used does not, in my opinion, add much value to the Blockchain, they simply create an "alternative" way to earn money, and in Zappl's case, a way that requires much less effort.

I'm torn, guys, but I feel better to have gotten this off my chest. Please don't flag me for naysaying you, @zappl 😅



thatsweeneyguy.jpg

Follow @thatsweeneyguy to read about @steemparents, @thriveordie, @battleborn D&D, SteemGigs, and more!

Sort:  

I like this, I'm zappler :)

Hi @thatsweeneyguy, this is a really thoughtful post. I guess in some ways you can say the same thing about Steemit can't you? That it is just promoting/perpetuating the contents that are of not much value that we see on Facebook but creating an alternative way of making money? But to give people who create great content an equal opportunity, that's something I would support!

I disagree with rewarding the same ol content we see on other platforms. Steemit is supposed to be different.

I agree that Steemit is supposed to be different and that rewarding the same type of content we see on other platforms will just turn Steemit into the same thing. But given that most of the thumbnails images that go with the posts are generally copied from somewhere else, I would say that we already started off in the wrong track. Of course, many people do create original content and post about it, and I think there is no reason why Zappl can't be used to do the same.

All fair my man. Feedback, criticism and good things is what makes this world go around. All good. Talk to you soon! :)

Ideally Steem will allow more complex filtering based on tags.

Also, just noticed your sig... What the hell, man! Any other wicked awesome projects you're hiding behind other names?!

That's the extent of it. I've been a bit behind with all of it though. Internet will be turned on at my new place Thursday, so I'll be back to the grind next weekend!

well zappl is best but my main focus in steemit ..

I think I'll zap when the need be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59559.24
ETH 2523.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42