Back After The Hack!

in #zappl7 years ago (edited)

I has taken blood, sweat and tears, but I'm back in control of my account. There's still a lot of work to do, but it's a start ;0)

Sort:  

Good to hear, and very lucky, man! Also good to have scrubbed your history.

Resteemed and upvoted by the MAP-AAKOM community.

Thanks. I’ll make sure to have my delegation back up again soon.
Could you maybe save me some time and redirect me to the post with the information about delegations again?
Thanks in advance!

Oh, that's very kind - was more concerned about the state of your account! Also good to see the recovery systems working.
The article with instructions is this one: https://chainbb.com/mapforum/@accelerator/introducing-the-new-map-rewarder-passive-income-for-delegators-doc-1-0
About half-way down.

Thanks. i just checked Steemworld. All delegations will have to be postponed until I get access to all my SP again (I made a mistake delegating from my old to my new account a couple of days ago, which makes most of my SP is ‘on hold’ until the undelegation period has expired)

Relax, take a breath and enjoy life, and welcome back.

Thanks. I need to remind myself not to upvote - they drained my VP to 53%, so I can’t afgord that for the next 2 days 🙃

Glad to see you're back! Hope they have not done to much damage to your account.

Except for the 14 SBD they stole and a few cracks in my reputation for posting phishing comments, the account is OK. The damage could have been a lot bigger... 😰

Booyah, will the real @simplymike please stand up, please stand up!!!

@kenistyles told me about your account being hacked. Don't feel bad, it can happen to any of us. All it takes is one lapse of concentration and poof! They swoop in. I had a similar thing when my passport got stolen while abroad and beat myself up for ages, but the thing is these people are professionals for a reason and they are in and out before you realise whats happening.

Point being, don't beat yourself up and I'm glad you get your account back. If there's anything to be gained from this I'm sure you'll be so hyper aware that this will never happen to you again...

Thanks, but it was actually my own fault. I did read the FAQ, but apparently I missed the part that says to not use your master password for daily logins.
If I had been using my private posting key to log in instead of my master password, at least my money would have been save.
Yet another lesson learned (the hard way).

I’m sure a lot of people don’t know about this, so I’ll be putting up a post about it soon.

I didn't know a lot of this either to be far. Will be following now because I want to read about that post...

Welcome back.

Thanks ! Glad to be back! 😁
Thanks for the support!

Glad to see your Rep back up. My votes did not help very much at all. Kind of frustrating, but as I we grow our power will grow.

True!
Now I’ve edited all comments posted by the hackers and made them harmless, Patrice removed all the flags so I could get my rep score back.

What happened even your rating drop to -1

Got hacked. The hackers used my account to spread phising comments. Guiltyparties and Steemcleaners nuked my account tonmake sure those posted comments wouldn’t be visible so they couldn’t make more damage.
I’ve regained control over my account, edited all the comments the hackers spread to make them harmless, and now all the flags have been removed, so my rep is back up. It was quite a thrilling day...

This is terrible, so sorry @simplymike, i am glad you are in control now. Welcome back.

Sorry for that and thank God you are fully in control now

Thanks. I’m very glad this is a story with a happy ending 😁

Good you've managed to recover it!

Thanks. I’m happy it worked out all for the best

SO HAPPY you got this handled! When I saw what happened to you I was upset- that's why I messaged you on Discord.

I’m very happy too. It would have been a disaster to see al my hard work go down the drain...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49