Zappl Games: A 100 SBD Zappl Contest Entry

in #zappl7 years ago

I suggested this as a growth idea for Steemit but I’m going to try it again for Zappl:

What about a game section that rewards players with Steem?

Players could opt to play for free or upvote leaderboard posts to qualify for Steem rewards so that the whole thing can fund itself. The games could be clones of simple games like Snake, Pacman or Tetris initially and the whole thing could be expanded on further as it grows in popularity.

It serves two purposes: it gives more people a reason to use Zappl every day even if they’re not interested in microblogging regularly AND it helps people who aren't successful bloggers a chance to acquire Steem for their gaming prowess.


Thanks for reading. This is the original growth-idea post: https://steemit.com/growth-idea/@elementm/growth-idea-an-upvote-financed-game-section-or-site


photo credit: Gabludlow So addictive... 271/365 2013 via photopin (license)

Sort:  

Games are a great idea! If I may help with this idea let me know as I have decades of experience with games.

Thanks! I have no I clue where to start but I hope the idea gets picked up by people who do.

Think we may see ore when smart contracts are more possible. As such would allow for more "game functions" to be decentralized. Which in turn will to more possible decentralized gamification.

Online Gaming is a huge market out there and Bookie - A steemit family members is coming soon on PeerPlays Blockchain. https://steemit.com/peerplays/@peerplays/overview-and-expansion-on-tom-kerr-s-post-technology-that-could-revolutionize-gambling-and-change-the-world-in-the-racing-post

That sounds like it could be huge and I'm sure there's room in the casual gaming market for an app that could give players money instead of taking it away.

I play aq.com daily, so if I could earn Steem while playing a game like that, it would be doubly rewarding!

I was thinking about a MMORPG that uses Steem as the currency too, but that would probably take way longer to put together. I think people would really like it though!

Just take it easy with the commercials.

If the whole upvote-financing thing works, there might not need to be ads but if there are any, I hope they'll be tiny and rare lol

This is really a good suggest @elementm I know @thedengensloth loves games so great suggestion!

Thank you! I was thinking about the way Candy Crush prompts users to spam their friends, pay cash or wait to get past certain levels. Wouldn't a requested upvote be better (especially if it means you could win some Steem for your progress)?

We can do much better than snake
Upvoted

Thanks :) I hope better games can be included but I'd still play snake for the nostalgia

I really hope this takes. I'm itching to make games for steemit!

Even if it doesn't win, I hope you do. I'd play!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38