How SOON Can Steemit Crush YouTube?!

in #youtube7 years ago

There is no doubt that Steemit is a better platform for creators when it’s being compared to Youtube. It’s not just better, it’s superior! It’s not even close. It’s the same as comparing Abraham Lincoln to Trump and Hillary, the same as comparing the Astros to the Padres and the same as comparing Messi to Ronaldo… ;)

What Makes Steemit Better Than YouTube

  • You can make money off of posting pictures, blogs, off of up-voting, off of resteeming. You can potentially make money with every action performed on this platform without even creating content! On YouTube, the only monetisable action is posting a video.
  • There is no useless middleman who takes half of your money for providing you with access to the sweatshop you are working in.
  • Steemit doesn’t force content down your throat, unless you have specifically picked for that content to be pushed onto you.
  • Trolls will never achieve any traction and are “taken care off” by the community because the community has the power to do so.
  • Steemit isn’t censored; the users will decide when you are taking it too far, not the moderators. Apparently that’s working because I have yet to find something repulsive on here. Unlike on YouTube where the system is failing and where they are censoring the stuff that SHOULDN’T be censored.
  • There are no ads to suffer through before getting to the content you wish to see.
  • There are no advertisers who effectively control what viewers get to see.

steemit-crush-youtube.jpg

I really could go on and on, you all know it’s true! For me personally, what is literally the only thing that YouTube has going for it, is that I have a sizable following there. Most Steemers don’t even have that advantage, so you all really have no business being on YouTube! ;) Why would you even waste your time?

That’s not entirely true of course because right now, YouTube still has, what is by far the largest database of videos on any website. It really does provide a little something for everyone. The problem is that it’s not easy to find that content and it’s REALLY easy to get distracted. Often times when you have found the content that you were looking for, you still get all sorts of other content pushed onto you REALLY HARD. How often do you not wonder: “what the fu*k, how did I get HERE?!”

how-did-I-get-here.jpg

That’s not a good thing, because most of the time, you are also left wondering: “What did I just watch and WHY did I watch that”? You almost always end up feeling a little (more) brain dead after every time you were on YouTube. YouTube actually promotes this phenomenon. When you get on a call with a YouTube rep, which I have been on plenty, they will actually tell you that “session duration” (or how long a user stays on their platform) is key. This explains why they’re using deception & tricks to shove all those clickbaity thumbnails (found on the sidebar and everywhere else) down your throat.

How to get out of a shitty marriage?

I was not aware that there even was a viable alternative to YouTube until a few days ago when @theywillkillyou introduced me to this platform. Since I have been on it I have also been made aware, by several helpful Steemers, that Steemit isn’t even the ONLY viable alternative.

I feel like my eyes have been opened and I am starting to realise how shitty the marriage that I am in is. It’s hard to convince yourself to get out of a shitty marriage, but I am sure that I will eventually, because my marriage is getting really dull, really fast!

How Long Will it Take?

On a personal level, I think I will be active on YouTube and putting up fresh content there for a few more months at least. It’s still what’s paying for my bills and my dogs' food after all (gotta feed the beast!). Hopefully after a few months I will only be using YouTube still, as a means of converting people over to Steemit. But if YouTube makes serious efforts to get their shit together and if it’s starts respecting their creators, then it will for sure be around forever, even though they are not worthy of their own creators, unlike Steemit. Believe it or not, even if I decide to abandon them, there might be some life left for YouTube… ;)



Steemit and other similar platforms have a great opportunity to lure over many creators, especially those who are not on YouTube full time, but even some that are. It’s all about awareness and momentum and it’s also important that Steemit finds more ways to help newbies grow a loyal following . After I joined, I had the MASSIVE advantage of Angelo promoting my first few blogs and I started reaping the rewards right away.

Having the support of someone who already has momentum is HUGE, and the same goes for Youtube. Nowadays, t’s impossible almost to get started on YouTube without being “supported” by an established larger channel. If Steemit can come up with creative ways to promote and award promising newbies similar to, and in line with the introduceyourself tag, then that would be a GIGANTIC edge that it would have over YouTube and over other similar platforms that are on the rise as well.

Sure, when the big Steemers help one another out, then they can do very well on this platform and potentially even make a living off of it, but they HAVE to realise that for the sky to become the limit, the platform has to grow as a whole. If everybody is able to come together on that, then we all might be able to stop fantasizing about outgrowing YouTube and start realizing it sometime soon!

Sort:  

Before we completely abandon YouTube, we need to finish a steemit live function and make it easier to share video. Look at @furion 's steemQ project and support that if you want to make steemit better than YouTube.

One person is the force behind that initiative...? Sorry, I've only joined a few days ago so I'm not really up to date on that project and how it's taking shape. I will of course read more about it too after reading your comment! Already followed that user actually because steemq sounds like a very interesting option for me personally!

As just a consumer I dont really know how time consuming it is to just post on both plattforms. ( I imagine you still want to interact with your followers on every platform and maybe other things I am unaware of)

But I think it will take a while tbh.
Crypto is still new or even unknow to most people and how it can be so valuable.
I think the first question you have to answer is : Who is paying me? How does this work without ads? How or why should I trust in this? How easy can I cash out? etc
Also I mean look where most of the videos going around here are stored.

As far as I know steem is also working on a video platform, when/if this gets out it is another story.

Yeah I thought they were too. And yes I think the earning model is very complicated and even reading the articles of people trying to explain it can be overwhelming! I still haven't gotten the hang of it.

Welcome to the club.

It won't be too long, once the word gets out.... but I think this just proves what is wrong with the system now and how discouraging it is!! This platform will bring us closer and creators can feel valued!! So happy to have you guys here !! :)) xxx

I wouldn't MIND if YouTube fixed their problems and got back on track but I'm also happy to see them suffer, despite having reaped the benefits for so long. It's totally awesome to be here, feels a lot warmer and more personal!

Yes for sure!! i guess it must be even more frustrating for you guys, since you did well on youtube and then its stopped, because i never felt it - i hate youtube more for it :) hahaha but hey!!! everything happens for a reason! steem on!!

Honestly I don't think Youtube is suffering

Well, fortunately, there's this thing called the Federal Trade Commission, and YouTube has felt their wrath finally.

well you know what I've been telling you guys already! there are also quite a few initiatives to do exactly this too:

Sure, when the big Steemers help one another out, then they can do very well on this platform and potentially even make a living off of it, but they HAVE to realize that for the sky to become the limit, the platform has to grow as a whole.

For example, you've got @randowhale and Whaleshares.

But even moreso, there's a bunch of communities around helping each other out, from steemit.chat, to facebook groups, to a bunch of discord groups, including @officialfuzzy's Whaleshares Discord where you can also "shmooze" with other fellow steemians.

If you're so inclined, you're all welcome to stop by and chat. The more the merrier! Every so often, one or the other even breaks out into some sort of all out "partyfest"! 😎 lol

I have been wondering about this random whale phenomenon. Do you think it could potentially drive the platform in the wrong direction. Thinking about writing about this, not so much because I already have an opinion but more so because I am wondering if other people too, see a potential drawback with it (if that makes sense).

come into the discord voice chat Rene, we're talking about this kind of stuff right now! Here's the "invite" link: https://discordapp.com/invite/HkrAspR

Alex, I used to coach poker for a few years and I was wondering if you would be willing to do the same thing for me for a session about Steemit. Not to learn about potential angle shooting but just to learn about how the blockhain works and how the platform is set up and all that good stuff. Is that allowed and would you be willing to do it? Of course I would pay a good hourly.

Appreciate the offer Rene, and I'd be happy to give both you and Angelo more pointers in discord once you get that voice/mic working! The more people we can "inform" about the potential of STEEMIT and blockchain technology (as I described in my post) the better, and I'm happy to help you accomplish that as well.

Just a thought, but as most people seem to inevitably have similar questions to yours... I dunno if you've tried doing any webcam interviews via YouTube LIVE, but perhaps we could "collab" (boy, it's been a while since I've said that! lol) on some sort live (or prerecorded, if it's easier) "YouTubers, Welcome to STEEMIT!" episode for your subscribers.

Regarding money, I'd rather set the precedent that STEEMIT opens possibilities beyond a mere "good hourly"! However, you're always welcome to throw a @randowhale vote my way here and there as a thank you! :) lol

Alex, are you on Skype at all. I can't keep up with all the forms of communication throughout my day. Between whatsapp, skype, youtube, fb messenger etc., I'm kinda overwhelmed enough as is, if you know what I mean :s. I'd be a lot more comfortable on discord too if I had more to contribute, which is what I am turning to you for :)

I know what you mean. Literally the past month I had to get familiar with discord, telegram, slack, gitter, and probably some more I can't recall! lol About the discord group, they're generally very welcoming to new members (and in helping them come up to speed), as you saw first hand. But I do get what you're saying. I'm also on skype as yourika.com

I agree with you. Steemit is a very useful platform. We get rewarded after putting up some sincere efforts no other platform do this.
I m new here and learning a lot of things from all the steemians. Happy to be a part of this wonderful community.
Upvoted and resteemed!
Following you, would love to be followed back. :)

True, i share your opininion!

Hey buddy, first off cute dog is he a boston or a french bulldog or a pug?

As far as the message of the post, I like it but at the same time I hate to see people trashing Youtube and I think it's kind of unfair.

Youtube isn't censoring anyone as so many creators say. I don't really like all the demonetization however Youtube isn't stopping anyone from creating content. It's the creators themselves who aren't willing to create content if they aren't being paid. Youtube isn't removing videos however to the best of my knowledge.

Many sites pay people nothing and they still spend a ton of time on there so I actually think it's pretty cool Youtube gives people the opportunity to make money. I say this as a Youtuber who was heavily affected by adpocalypse as well.

I've seen some people trashing Youtube and I don't think we can trash them while we are still having to use them to upload video to this site. I realize we could use vidme or vimeo or something but I think the majority of people use Youtube.

I also don't really like to have to choose one social network or platform and then have to hate on the others which were very good to a lot of us for a lot of years. Just because I like and will be using Steemit doesn't mean I have any ill will towards Youtube.

At the end of the day Youtube has to make money, it's really the advertisers we should be upset with and not Youtube though I do agree Youtube should come out with two advertising choices one family friendly and another NSFW for people with prank videos or more controversial content to monetize as I gurantee there's plenty of advertisers who would like to advertise on those very same channels some advertisers whine about being placed on.

I also think it's important to be realistic about the growth of new platforms or anything new for that matter. Even in the realm of cryptos I hear some people who are like rah rah Bitcoin, the USD will be gone within 15 months and it's like common get real. I love cryptos as much as the next guy but don't be nieve.

I see the same thing going on with Vidme vs Youtube. Some YOutube creators left me and are like Youtube is dying, vidme will take over within the next 6 months and it's like common, get serious, you think VidMe, a n admittedly glitchy platform with a huge lack of diversity in terms of types of content and no way for creators to make significant money is going to overtake the second largest search engine in the world.

I love this site, I plan on trying to bring over Youtubers myself as well boht creators and viewers and I want to try to be an ambassador to grow this site, cryptos, blockchain awareness. But I also have a lot of great friends and viewer and fellow creators on Youtube as well, YOutube has been good to me and I'll continue to have a presence on there as well.

Hey, she is a French Bulldog and let me start of by saying that I appreciate how much time you took to respond! My main frustration is that YouTube messed up by showing ads on videos that they shouldn't have. To try and tackle the problem that they created, the decided to come down on their creators/partners really hard and excessively.

After 4 years, I don't think it's fair to hold it against me that I am relying on YouTube as my main source of income and having a video about the 7 most heartwarming good deeds flagged by YouTube is super unfair and is a slap in the face after I have brought in so much money for them over the years. (an aspect that can't be forgotten, it's a 2 double edged sword!)

Content creators on YouTube need a union. And that union should be the one who decides whether or not anyone gets permanently banned from YouTube.

I got to Steemit cause of a youtuber telling me to get on Steemit. After so many tries I finally got in. I can see youtube coming here to Steemit like I've seen myspace coming on to facebook.

That's a great comparison, wish I had thought of that before posting that blog!

Congratulations @world5list! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I couldn't agree more, and also on here you get money if you comment on other's post an get upvotes there. Good thing about this site, no spam or sub for sub spam. I am sick or working my butt off on my channel only to get sub for sub spam in return. Another thing I had in mind is Steemit replacing crowd funding. Like Patreon. Why have a Patreon when people can FOR FREE upvote your posts and you get money? Won't cost anyone a penny!

One has to do a lot of writing to make it happen here on Steemit, but it is possible.

Ok, but lets be clear, just for sure - you are not talking about true Ronaldo.

true ronaldo.gif

No no! Wouldn't dare, he's in the same league for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33